cattle in a field on the left and a chicken on the right

Livestock and Poultry Program

The AMS Livestock & Poultry (L&P) Program is a team of Federal employees along with State employees who operate under Federal oversight through cooperative agreements with all 50 States. L&P administers a wide range of programs related to many different commodities including livestock, meat, poultry, egg, fish and grain industries. This work is carried out through five different L&P Divisions.

Services and programs include commodity standards for meat and poultry products, quality grading, domestic and export auditing verification, mandatory and voluntary market news reporting, economic and statistical analysis, research and promotion program oversight, and food product specification development for Federal food and nutrition assistance programs including the National School Lunch Program.

Contact Information

Livestock and Poultry Program
1400 Independence Avenue, SW STOP 0249
Washington, DC 20250-0249

Have a question for the Livestock and Poultry Program?

Check out our Frequently Asked Questions or Email AskLPS@ams.usda.gov

Have a question about a Market News Report?

Email Websupport.lpgmn@ams.usda.gov

Office of the Deputy Administrator

Acting Deputy Administrator – Melissa R. Bailey, Ph.D.
AskLPS@ams.usda.gov
Room 2092 - So. Bldg
(202) 720-5705

Associate Deputy Administrator – Angie Snyder
Angie.Snyder@ams.usda.gov
Room 2096 - So. Bldg.
(202) 720-5705

Chief of Staff - Betsy Flores
ElizabethR.Flores@ams.usda.gov
Room 2096 - So. Bldg.
(202) 720-5705

Resource Management Office

Administrative Officer - Sang Lineback - Sang.Lineback@ams.usda.gov
Room 3959 - So. Bldg.
202-720-9957 

Agricultural Analytics Division

Director – Michael Sheats - Michael.Sheats@ams.usda.gov
Room 2607 – So. Bldg.
(202) 690-3145

Food Safety and Commodity Specification Division 

Director - Carl Schroeder - Carl.Schroeder@ams.usda.gov
Room 2608 – So. Bldg.
(202)-692-0342

Livestock, Poultry and Grain Market News Division

Director – Michael Lynch – Michael.Lynch@ams.usda.gov
Room 2619 - So. Bldg.
(202) 720-6231

Quality Assessment Division 

Director – Jennifer Porter - Jennifer.Porter@ams.usda.gov
Room 3944 - So. Bldg
(202) 690-3147

Research and Promotion Division

Director – Kenneth Payne - Kenneth.Payne@ams.usda.gov
Room 2608 - So. Bldg.
(202) 720-5705