Strawberries

SCBGP State Contacts

The eligible entities that can apply directly to the USDA for grant funds through the Specialty Crop Block Grant Program are the agencies, commissions, or departments responsible for agriculture within the 50 States and the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

States

Alabama

Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries

Johnny Blackmon
(334) 240-7257
johnny.blackmon@agi.alabama.gov

Alaska

Alaska Division of Agriculture

Johanna Herron
Phone: 907-761-3870
johanna.herron@alaska.gov

Arizona

Arizona Department of Agriculture

Lisa James
Grants Program Coordinator
Phone: 602-542-3262
ljames@azda.gov

Arkansas

Arkansas Agriculture Department

Bob Midles
Marketing Manager
Phone: (501) 219-6377
bob.midles@agriculture.arkansas.gov

California

California Department of Food and Agriculture

Stephen Tachiera
SCBGP Manager, Office of Grants Administration
Phone: (916) 403-6525
Stephen.Tachiera@cdfa.ca.gov

Colorado

Colorado Department of Agriculture

Glenda Mostek
Phone: (303) 869-9173
glenda.mostek@state.co.us

Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Agriculture

Jaime Smith
Marketing Representative
Phone: 860-713-2559
jaime.smith@ct.gov

Delaware

Delaware Department of Agriculture

Jo-Ann Walston
Marketing Specialist
Phone: (302) 698-4523
JoAnn.Walston@state.de.us

Florida

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Josh Johnson
Grant Manager
Phone: (850) 617-7340
SpecialtyCrop@freshfromflorida.com

Georgia

Georgia Department of Agriculture

Jen Erdmann
Grants Specialist
Phone: (404)-586-1151
jen.erdmann@agr.georgia.gov

Hawaii

Hawaii Department of Agriculture

Sharon Hurd
Administrator
Phone: (808) 973-9465
sharon.k.hurd@hawaii.gov

Idaho 

Idaho State Department of Agriculture

Nichole Britt
Grants/Contracts Program Specialist
Phone: (208) 332-8537
Nichole.Britt@isda.idaho.gov

Illinois

Illinois Department of Agriculture

Nicole Moore
Phone: (217) 524-9129
Nicole.Moore@illinois.gov

Indiana

Indiana State Department of Agriculture

Karrie Cashdollar
Phone: (317) 910-4782
kcashdollar@isda.in.gov

Iowa

Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Tammy Stotts
Specialty Crop Block Grant Program Administrator
Phone: 515-281-7657
Email: tammy.stotts@iowaagriculture.gov

Kansas

Kansas Department of Agriculture

Peter Oppelt
Economist
Phone: (785) 564-6726  
peter.oppelt@ks.gov

Kentucky

Kentucky Department of Agriculture

Joshua Lindau
Phone: (502) 564-4936
joshua.lindau@ky.gov

Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry

Michelle Estay
Director
Phone: (985) 345-9483
estay@ldaf.state.la.us

Maine

Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry

Leigh Hallett
Director of Market Development
Phone: (207) 287-3494
Leigh.Hallett@maine.gov

Maryland

Maryland Department of Agriculture

Karen Fedor
Senior Agricultural Marketing Specialist
Phone: (410) 841-5773
Karen.Fedor@maryland.gov

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources

Alexander Gill
Grants Manager
Phone: (617) 626-1765
alexander.gill@state.ma.us

Leah Luong
Grant Accountant
(617) 626 – 1780
Leah.Luong@state.ma.us

Michigan

Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development

Heather Throne
Market Development Specialist
Phone: (517) 712 – 0841
throneh@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Ann Kuzj
Grants Administrator
Phone: 651-201-6028
ann.kuzj@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce

Paige Manning
Communications and Policy Advisor
Phone: (601) 359-1163
paige@mdac.state.ms.us

Susan Head
Marketing Specialist
Phone: (601) 359-1196
susan@mdac.ms.gov

Missouri

Missouri Department of Agriculture

Susan Bennett
Grant Specialist
Phone: (573) 526-9548
Susan.Bennett@mda.mo.gov

Montana

Montana Department of Agriculture

Jim Auer
Phone: (406) 444-5424
JAuer@mt.gov

Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Agriculture

Casey Foster
Ag Promotion Coordinator – Value Added
Phone: (402) 471-4876
casey.foster@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Nevada Department of Agriculture

Ashley Jeppson
Program Coordinator/Agriculturist
Phone: (775) 353-3675
ajeppson@agri.nv.gov

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food

Gail McWilliam-Jellie
Director, Division of Agricultural Development
Phone: (603) 271-3788
gail.mcwilliam.jellie@agr.nh.gov

New Jersey

New Jersey Department of Agriculture

Joe Atchison
Coordinator of Agricultural Development
Phone: (609) 984-2223
Joe.Atchison@ag.nj.gov

New Mexico

New Mexico Department of Agriculture

David Lucero
Marketing and Development Division Director
Phone: (575) 646-4929
DLucero@nmda.nmsu.edu

Felicia Frost
Marketing Specialist
Phone: (575) 646-4929
FFrost@nmda.nmsu.edu

New York

New York Department of Agriculture & Markets

William Shattuck
Phone: 518-485-7306
william.shattuck@agriculture.ny.gov

North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Nick Augostini
Assistant Director

Sarah Pearce
Grant Administrator
Phone: (919) 707-3158
Sarah.Pearce@ncagr.gov

North Dakota

North Dakota Department of Agriculture

Deanna Gierszewski
701.328.2191
degierszewski@nd.gov

Ohio

Ohio Department of Agriculture

Ashley McDonald
Program Manager
Phone:  614.466.8798
Ashley.McDonald@agri.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food & Forestry

Jason Harvey
Agriculture Marketing Coordinator
Phone: (405) 606-1477
Jason.Harvey@ag.ok.gov

Oregon

Oregon Department of Agriculture

Gabrielle Redhead
503-986-6473
gredhead@oda.state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture

Morgan Sheffield
Specialty Crop Grant Coordinator
Phone: (717) 787-3568
msheffield@pa.gov

Samantha Snyder
Specialty Crop Grant Coordinator
Phone: (717) 772-1429
samasnyder@pa.gov

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

Peter Susi
Agricultural Marketing Specialist
Phone: (401) 222-2781
peter.susi@dem.ri.gov

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Agriculture

Betsy Dorton
Grants Coordinator 
Phone: (803) 734-0467
bdorton@scda.sc.gov

South Dakota

South Dakota Department of Agriculture

Kimberly Strum
Grant and Loan Specialist
Phone: (605) 773-4516
Kimberly.Sturm@state.sd.us

Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Agriculture

Debbie Ball
Marketing Director
Phone: (615) 837-5194
Debbie.Ball@tn.gov

Greer Gill
Marketing Specialist
(615) 837 – 5163
Greer.Gill@tn.gov

Texas

Texas Department of Agriculture

Kat Neilson 
Grants Coordinator
Phone: (512) 463-6695
grants@texasagriculture.gov

Utah

Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

Andy Pierucci
Phone: (801) 538-4913
apierucci@utah.gov

Vermont

Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets

Kathryn Donovan
Agriculture Development Coordinator
Phone: (802) 585-4571
Kathryn.donovan@vermont.gov

Virginia

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Melissa Ball
Special Projects Manager
Phone: (804) 786-5448
melissa.ball@vdacs.virginia.gov

Washington

Washington State Department of Agriculture

Leisa Schumaker
Grant Administrator
Phone: (360) 902-2091
lschumaker@agr.wa.gov

Tricia Bertsch
Grant Agreement Manager
Phone: (360) 902-2177
pbertsch@agr.wa.gov

Lindsey Erickson
Grant Assistant
Phone: (360) 902-1949
lerickson@agr.wa.gov

West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Agriculture

Cindy Martel
Marketing Specialist
Phone: (304) 541-9756
cmartel@ag.state.wv.us

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Juli Speck
Grants Coordinator
Phone: (608) 224-5134
juli.speck@wi.gov

Wyoming

Wyoming Department of Agriculture

Ted Craig
Agriculture Program Coordinator
Phone: (307) 777-6651
ted.craig@wyo.gov

Territory & District Contacts  

American Samoa

American Samoa Department of Agriculture

Michael Fuiava
Director
Phone: 684-699-1497
filifaatali.fuiava@doa.as.gov 

District of Columbia

District of Columbia Agriculture Experiment Station

Dr. Mamatha Hanumappa
Project Specialist, Ethnic and Specialty Crops
Phone: (202) 274-5499
mamatha.hanumappa@udc.edu

Guam

Guam Department of Agriculture

John Borja
Division Chief
Phone: (671) 300-7973
borjajohn@hotmail.com

Northern Mariana Islands
Northern Mariana Islands Division of Agriculture

Jack Ogumoro
Phone: (670) 287-9482
jtogumoro@gmail.com

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico Department of Agriculture

Maria Del Mar Aponte Perez
Phone: (787) 723-9090 ext. 2419
maponte@agricultura.pr.gov

U.S. Virgin Islands

U.S. Virgin Islands Department of Agriculture

Billy Abraham
Director of Marketing Services
Phone: (340) 778-0997 ext. 256
Billy.abraham@doa.vi.gov