SCBGP State Contacts

The eligible entities that can apply directly to the USDA for grant funds through the Specialty Crop Block Grant Program are the agencies, commissions, or departments responsible for agriculture within the 50 States and the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

States

Alabama

Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries

Johnny Blackmon
(334) 240-7257
johnny.blackmon@agi.alabama.gov

Alaska

Alaska Division of Agriculture

Mary Rowland
Grants Administrator II
Phone: 907-761-3851
mary.rowland@alaska.gov

Arizona

Arizona Department of Agriculture

Lisa James
Grant Program Manager
Phone: 602-542-3262
ljames@azda.gov

Arkansas

Arkansas Agriculture Department

Kimberley Bentley
Grants Coordinator
Phone: (501) 219-6304
kimberley.bentley@agriculture.arkansas.gov

California

California Department of Food and Agriculture

Kristi Duprey
SCBGP Coordinator
(916) 296-8612
Kristi.Duprey@cdfa.ca.gov

Colorado

Colorado Department of Agriculture

Joanne Hernandez
Grants Specialist
Phone: (303) 869-9086
joanne.hernandez@state.co.us

Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Agriculture

Rebecca Eddy Murphy
Agriculture Marketing & Inspection Rep 2
Phone: 860-573-0323
Rebecca.Eddy@ct.gov

Delaware

Delaware Department of Agriculture

Ese Jessa
Marketing Specialist II
Phone: (302) 698-4592
Email: Ese.Jessa@delaware.gov

Florida

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Kimberly Murphy
Grant Specialist
Phone: (850) 617-7397
kimberly.murphy@fdacs.gov

Georgia

Georgia Department of Agriculture

J. Erdmann
Director of Grants/SCBGP Coordinator
Phone: (404)-586-1151
grants@agr.georgia.gov

Hawaii

Hawaii Department of Agriculture

Brendan Akamu
Business Development Program Manager
(808) 973-9465
Brendan.R.Akamu@hawaii.gov

Idaho 

Idaho State Department of Agriculture

Laura Johnson
Title:  Bureau Chief
Phone:  208-332-8530
Email:  Laura.Johnson@isda.idaho.gov

Kathy Snyder
Title:  Grants Management, Supervisor
Phone: 208-332-8559
Email:  Kathy.Snyder@isda.idaho.gov

Illinois

Illinois Department of Agriculture

Hannah McGee
Phone: 217-785-5710
Hannah.McGee@illinois.gov

Indiana

Indiana State Department of Agriculture

David Coates
Economic Development Director
Phone: (317) 695-8132
DCoates@isda.IN.gov 

Iowa

Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Tammy Stotts
Specialty Crop Block Grant Program Coordinator
Phone: 515-281-7657
Email: tammy.stotts@iowaagriculture.gov

Kansas

Kansas Department of Agriculture

Brittney Grother
Grants Coordinator
Phone: 785-564-6797
kda.scbg@ks.gov

Kentucky

Kentucky Department of Agriculture

Brett S. McQueary
Program Coordinator
Phone   502 - 782 - 4114
Brett.McQueary@ky.gov

Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry

Michelle Estay
Director
Phone: (985) 345-9483
estay@ldaf.state.la.us

Maine

Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry

Michelle Webb
Director of Agricultural Resource Development
Phone: (207) 287-3494
Michelle.T.Webb@maine.gov

Maryland

Maryland Department of Agriculture

Karen Fedor
Senior Agricultural Marketing Specialist
Phone: (410) 841-5773
Karen.Fedor@maryland.gov

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources

Keri Cornman
Grants and Procurement Manager
Office Phone: 617-626-1777
Work Cell: 617-620-0200
Email: Keri.Cornman@mass.gov

Michigan

Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development

Amy Bearss
Grants Analyst
Phone: (517) 388-5199
BearssA@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Ian Kushner
Senior Grants Specialist          
Agricultural Marketing & Development Division 
Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Phone: 651-201-6652
Ian.Kushner@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce

Susan Head Lawrence
Grants Management and Marketing Specialist
Phone: (601) 359-1196
susan@mdac.ms.gov

Missouri

Missouri Department of Agriculture

Susan Bennett
Grant Specialist
Phone: (573) 526-9548
Susan.Bennett@mda.mo.gov

Montana

Montana Department of Agriculture

Aly Townsend
Phone: (406) 444-5424
A.Townsend@mt.gov

Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Agriculture

Casey Foster
Ag Program Manager
Phone: (402) 471-6857
casey.foster@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Nevada Department of Agriculture

Jozo Vujeva
Project Investigator
Phone: 775-353-3744
jvujeva@agri.nv.gov

Ashley Jeppson
Administrator | Division of Plant Health and Compliance 
Phone: 775-353-3729
ajeppson@agri.nv.gov

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food

Josh Marshall
Director, Division of Agricultural Development
Phone: (603) 271-3688
Joshua.K.Marshall@agr.nh.gov

New Jersey

New Jersey Department of Agriculture

Deelip Mhaske
Grants Administrator
Phone: 609-292-3976
Deelip.Mhaske@ag.nj.gov

New Mexico

New Mexico Department of Agriculture

Felicia Frost
Marketing Specialist
Phone: (575) 646-4929
FFrost@nmda.nmsu.edu

New York

New York Department of Agriculture & Markets

Andra Spencer
Economic Development Program Specialist
Phone: (518) 457-1721
Andra.Spencer@agriculture.ny.gov

North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Jenni Keith
Specialty Crop Block Grant Administrator
Phone:  (919)707-3158
Jenni.Keith@ncagr.gov

North Dakota

North Dakota Department of Agriculture

Deanna Gierszewski
701.328.2191
degierszewski@nd.gov

Ohio

Ohio Department of Agriculture

Sarah Swartzwelder, EHSIT
Food Safety Program Coordinator
Phone: (614) 995-0435 
sarah.swartzwelder@agri.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food & Forestry

Jason Harvey
Agriculture Marketing Coordinator
Phone: (405) 606-1477
Jason.Harvey@ag.ok.gov

Oregon

Oregon Department of Agriculture

Gabrielle Ugalde
503-986-6473
gugalde@oda.state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture

Lauren Stackhouse
Specialty Crop Block Grant Coordinator
Phone:  717-614-5730
lastackhou@pa.gov

Morgan Sheffield
Specialty Crop Grant Coordinator
Phone: (717) 787-3568
msheffield@pa.gov

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

Ananda Fraser
Phone: (401) 222-2781
Ananda.Fraser@dem.ri.gov

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Agriculture

Brittany Jeffcoat
Specialty Crop Block Grant Coordinator
(803)939-5756
bjeffcoat@scda.sc.gov

South Dakota

South Dakota Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Timothy Schoonhoven
Phone: 605-773-6690
Timothy.Schoonhoven@state.sd.us

Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Agriculture

Debbie Ball
Business Consultant
Phone: (615) 837-5384
Debbie.Ball@tn.gov

Texas

Texas Department of Agriculture

Kat Neilson 
Lead Grants Coordinator
Phone: (512) 463-6695
grants@texasagriculture.gov

Utah

Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

Allison Ross
Phone: 385-549-7987
aross@utah.gov

Vermont

Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets

Madison Berry
Specialty Crop Block Program Coordinator
Phone: (802) 622-4626
madison.berry@vermont.gov

Virginia

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Melissa Ball
Special Projects Manager
Phone: (804) 786-5448
melissa.ball@vdacs.virginia.gov

Washington

Washington State Department of Agriculture

Leisa Schumaker
Grant Administrator
Phone: (360) 742-7194
lschumaker@agr.wa.gov

Tricia Bertsch
Grant Agreement Manager
Phone: (360) 902-2177
pbertsch@agr.wa.gov

West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Agriculture

Leslie Boggess
Assistant Director of Programs
Phone: 304-558-2210
lboggess@wvda.us

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Brian Williams
Grants Specialist Advanced
Phone: (608) 590-7239
brianp.williams@wisconsin.gov

Wyoming

Wyoming Department of Agriculture

Michelle MacDonald
2219 Carey Ave.
Phone: (307) 777-7323
Email: michelle.macdonald@wyo.gov

Territory & District Contacts  

American Samoa

American Samoa Department of Agriculture

Solialeaalofiotagaloa Mutini
Director
Phone: (684) 699-9272
Email: director@doa.as.gov

Sinafoa Tavai
Grants Coordinator
Phone: (684) 258-7539
Email: sinafoa@gmail.com

District of Columbia

District of Columbia Agriculture Experiment Station

William Hare
Associate Dean, Land-grant Programs College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability And Environmental Sciences (CAUSES)
Phone: (202) 274-7133
whare@udc.edu

Guam

Guam Department of Agriculture

John Borja
Division Chief
Phone: (671) 300-7973
borjajohn@hotmail.com or john.borja@doag.guam.gov

Northern Mariana Islands
Northern Mariana Islands Division of Agriculture

CNMI Department of Land and Natural Resources

Jack Ogumoro
Phone: (670) 287-9482
jtogumoro@gmail.com

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico Department of Agriculture

Maria Del Mar Aponte Perez
Phone: (787) 723-9090 ext. 2412
maponte@agricultura.pr.gov

U.S. Virgin Islands

U.S. Virgin Islands Department of Agriculture

Shantel Douglas
Acting Director, Marketing Division
Phone: (340) 778-0997 ext. 3327
shantel.douglas@doa.vi.gov