USDA Names Alternate Member for Georgia to the National Peanut Board

Friday, December 28, 2018 - 10:45am
Contact Info: 

Release No.: 160-18

WASHINGTON, Dec. 27, 2018 -- Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of Casey Cox, Camilla, Ga., to fill a vacant seat as an alternate on the National Peanut Board. The three-year term will begin Jan. 1, 2019. 

The board is made up of 12 producer members and their alternates. Eleven members and alternates are from the primary peanut producing states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas and Virginia. An at-large member and alternate represent other peanut producing states.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

More information about the National Peanut Board, including a roster of members, is available on AMS’ National Peanut Board webpage and at the board’s website,



For Firefox users, please download Adobe Flash player from
In order to see a caption of each photo, please follow the steps below:
1. Click play button.
2. Click expand button on the lower right corner.
3. Click 'Show Info' link on the upper right corner.