USDA Announces Sorghum Board Appointments

Friday, December 1, 2017 - 4:30pm

WASHINGTON, Dec. 1, 2017 - Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of five members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board. The producers appointed to serve three year terms are:

  • Klint G. Stewart Columbus, Neb. 
  • Carlton Bridgeforth, Decatur, Ala.
  • Verity Ulibarri, Melrose, N.M.
  • Shayne C. Suppes, Scott City, Kan.  
  • Charles Ray Huddleston, Celina, Texas

“The United Sorghum Checkoff Program helps sorghum producers maintain and expand sorghum markets through their efforts with research, promotion, and information sharing,” said Perdue. “Their work is important as sorghum production is critical to the U.S. farm sector and the American economy as a whole."

The United Sorghum Checkoff Program is comprised of 13 U.S. sorghum farmers.  Membership includes five seats for the largest production state (Kansas), three seats for the second largest production state (Texas) and one seat for the third largest production state (Oklahoma). 

The board is authorized by the Commodity Promotion, Research, and Information Act of 1996. Since 1966, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards.  They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity for participating stakeholders. 

A list of Sorghum Board members is available on the AMS website, or visit the

National Sorghum Board’s Web Site for more information. 

Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender