USDA Announces National Honey Board Appointments

Friday, December 28, 2018 - 10:45am
Contact Info: 

Release No: 147-18

WASHINGTON, Dec. 27, 2018--U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of seven individuals to serve on the National Honey Board.

Members and alternates newly appointed to serve three-year terms are: 

  • Jeffrey Z. Dong, Oceanside, Calif.
  • Tom Sargeantson, Denver, Colo.
  • Arlen D. Penner, Hillsboro, Kan.
  • John A. Olney, Tecumseh, Mich.
  • Patricia J. Sundberg, Columbus, Mont.
  • Kevin Jensen, Flasher, N.D.

Denise Willi, Sleepy Hollow, N.Y., is appointed to serve as an alternate for one year to fill a vacancy.

The 20-member National Honey Board is made up of three first handler representatives, two importer representatives, one importer-handler representative, three producer representatives, and one marketing cooperative representative and their alternates. 

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity. 

More information about the board is available on AMS’ National Honey Board page and on the board’s website,


For Firefox users, please download Adobe Flash player from
In order to see a caption of each photo, please follow the steps below:
1. Click play button.
2. Click expand button on the lower right corner.
3. Click 'Show Info' link on the upper right corner.