101 Beans.

Beans shall be dry threshed field and garden beans, whole, broken, and split, commonly used for edible purposes.

102 Classes.

Beans shall be divided into classes as follows, each of which, except Mixed beans, may contain not more than 2.0 percent of beans of contrasting classes and not more than 15.0 percent of beans of other classes that blend:

  • Pea beans (the type as grown in the Great Lakes region known also as Navy beans).
  • Blackeye beans (cowpeas of the Blackeye variety).
  • Cranberry beans (known also as Speckled Cranberry and Horticultural Pole).
  • Yellow beans.
  • Pinto beans (including the Mexican Pinto type but not the type known as Spotted Red Mexican).
  • Marrow beans (not including Red Marrow).
  • Great Northern beans.
  • Small White beans (the type as grown on the Pacific coast, not including Tepary beans).
  • Flat Small White beans (the type as grown in northern Idaho).
  • White Kidney beans.
  • Light Red Kidney beans.
  • Dark Red Kidney beans.
  • Small Red beans (known also as Red Mexican, California Red, and Idaho Red).
  • Pink beans.
  • Black beans.
  • Mung beans.
  • Miscellaneous beans: Beans that are not otherwise classified in these standards shall be classified and designated according to the commonly accepted commercial name of such beans.
  • Large Lima beans (characteristic of the Large White Pole and Burpee Bush Lima type).
  • Baby Lima beans (characteristic of Small White Lima beans of the Henderson Bush and similar types).
  • Miscellaneous Lima beans: Lima beans that do not come within the classes Large Lima or Baby Lima shall be classified and designated according to their commonly accepted commercial name.
  • Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans)
  • Mixed beans: Mixed beans shall be any mixture of beans not provided for in the classes listed above.

Detailed standards, Inspection Instructions & Other Resources: