USDA Seeks Nominees for the United Soybean Board

March 8, 2018

The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) is seeking nominations for positions on the United Soybean Board to fill 16 member vacancies and one alternate vacancy.

Vacancies for producer member positions will occur in Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, and Virginia. There is an alternate vacancy in Georgia.

The deadline for nominations is May 16, 2018. Any soybean producer within the United States who owns or shares the ownership and risk of loss of soybean production is eligible for nomination. A soybean producer must be nominated by a Qualified State Soybean Board and submit a completed application. The USDA will select appointees from the nominated producers.

For more information, a list of Qualified State Soybean Boards in your state or region, and the nomination form, visit the United Soybean Board page on the AMS website.

Composed of 73 members representing 29 states and two regions, the board administers a research and promotion program authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act. Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

For more information, contact Agricultural Marketing Specialist Kevin Studer at (202) 253-2380 or or fax (202) 720-1125. You may also mail him at Research and Promotion Division, Livestock, Poultry, and Seed Program; AMS, USDA, Room 2610-S, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW., Washington, D.C. 20250.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender