USDA Announces Popcorn Board Appointments

April 28, 2022

The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of three members to serve on the Popcorn Board. The appointees will serve three-year terms, immediately, to Dec. 31, 2024.

Members newly appointed to serve are:

  • Eric J. Sieg, Ramsey, Indiana
  • Tracy Boever, Sioux City, Iowa
  • Sam Krug, Chapman, Nebraska

The Popcorn Board currently has five processor members. Board members are nominated by their industry and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture. Members can serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) Popcorn Board webpage and on the board’s website,

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the development of industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight of 22 boards, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

AMS policy is that diversity of the board should reflect the diversity of its industries in terms of the experience of members, methods of production and distribution, marketing strategies, and other distinguishing factors that will bring different perspectives and ideas to the table. Throughout the full nomination process, the industry must consider the diversity of the population served and the knowledge, skills, and abilities of the members to serve a diverse population.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender