Solicitation of Nominations for Members of the USDA Grain Inspection Advisory Committee

February 10, 2020

The U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS), seeks nominees to serve on the USDA Grain Inspection Advisory Committee.

The committee meets twice annually to counsel AMS on programs and services it delivers under the U.S. Grain Standards Act (USGSA).

The committee is composed of 15 members, appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture, who represent the interests of grain producers, processors, handlers, merchandisers, consumers, exporters, and scientists with expertise in research related to the policies in section 2 of the USGSA (7 U.S.C. 74).  Appointments last three years and no member may serve successive terms.

Submit nominations on form AD-755 available on the AMS Website to Forms may also be sent by FAX: (202) 690-2333.  For additional information contact Kendra Kline, (202) 690-2410, or by e-mail.

Nominations are open to all individuals without regard to race, color, religion, gender, national origin, age, mental or physical disability, marital status, or sexual orientation. To ensure that recommendations of the Advisory Committee take into account the needs of the diverse groups served by the USDA, membership shall include, to the extent practicable, individuals with demonstrated ability to represent minorities, women, and persons with disabilities.

While members of the Advisory Committee serve without compensation, USDA provides reimbursement for travel expenses, including per diem in lieu of subsistence, for travel away from home or regular place of business in performance of Advisory Committee service (see 5 U.S.C. 5703).