USDA Announces United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board Appointments

September 24, 2020

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) today announced the appointment of five members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board. All five appointees will serve three-year terms starting December 2020 and ending December 2023.

Newly appointed members are:

  • Klint G. Stewart, Columbus, Nebraska, At-Large Member

  • Ethan J. Miller, Columbia, Missouri, At-Large Member
  • James Jay Haase, Eads, Colorado, At-Large Member
  • Shayne C. Suppes, Scott City, Kansas, Kansas Member
  • Charles Ray Huddleston, Celina, Texas, Texas Member

The 13-member United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board is composed of nine sorghum farmers who represent the three states with the largest sorghum production – Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas – and four at-large national representatives. More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) United Sorghum Checkoff Program webpage and on the board’s website,

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the development of industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight of 21 boards, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender