USDA Announces Appointments to the National Mango Board

August 28, 2019

The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of six members to serve on the National Mango Board.

Members newly appointed to serve three-year terms are:

  • Marsela McGrane-Vogel, San Pedro, Calif.
  • Dr. Richard J. Campbell, Homestead, Fla.
  • James S. Watson, Edinburg, Texas
  • Ing. Eddy René Martinez Morán, Guatemala
  • Norberto Galvan Gonzalez, Chiapas, Mexico
  • Joaquin Balarezo Valdez, Piura, Peru

The National Mango Board has 18 members, including eight importers, two domestic producers, one first handler and seven foreign producers. Board members are nominated by their industry peers and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture. Members can serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) National Mango Board page and on the board’s website,

Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender