Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Latest Releases / Secretary Vilsack Announces American Egg Board Appointments
News Release

Printable version

Secretary Vilsack Announces American Egg Board Appointments

Release No.: 021-14

Sam Jones-Ellard (202) 660-2268

WASHINGTON, Jan. 29, 2014 – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed nine members and nine alternates to the American Egg Board for the 2014-2015 term. All appointees will serve 2-year terms.

Appointed Egg Board members and alternates, by region, are:

North Atlantic states – Paul D. Sauder, Hershey, Pa., member; Karyn M. Kreher, Clarence Center, N.Y., alternate.

South Atlantic states – Kevin J. “Jacques” Klempf, Ponte Vedra, Fla., member; Tim E. Floyd, Hartwell, Ga., alternate; C. Jeffrey Hardin, La Grange, Texas, member; Alex R. Simpson, Monroe, N.C., alternate.

East North Central states – Richard A. Patmos, Hudsonville, Mich., member; Thomas A. Stoller, Ohio City, Ohio, alternate.

West North Central states – Scott T. Ramsdell, Flondreau, S.D., member; Amos Baer, Lake Park, Minn., alternate.

South Central states – Diane M. Sparish, Plymouth, Minn., member; Steven L. George, Grinnell, Iowa, alternate; Brian V. Joyer, Litchfield, Minn., member; Brent G. Nelson, Manhattan, Kan., alternate.

Western states – Clint L. Hickman, Goodyear, Ariz., member; Jill I. Benson, Modesto, Calif., alternate; Mark G. Oldenkamp, Canby, Ore., member; Roger D. Deffner, Mill Creek, Wash., alternate.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, were authorized by Congress and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 21 research and promotion boards. They empower agricultural industries by establishing a framework for them to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, helping to ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

Composed of 18 members and 18 alternates representing six regions, the board administers an egg research and promotion program authorized by the Egg Research and Consumer Information Act of 1974. Terms on the board are staggered so that half of the membership is appointed each year in order to provide continuity in policy. The Secretary of Agriculture selects appointees from egg producers nominated by organizations representing the egg industry.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).

  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 01/29/2014