PLAN TO REGULATE HEMP PRODUCTION
IN THE
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

7 CFR 990.3(a)(1) PRACTICE AND PROCEDURES FOR COLLECTING, MAINTAINING,
AND REPORTING INFORMATION TO THE SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE OF THE
UNITED STATES

State plan must include a practice to collect, maintain, and report to the Secretary of
Agriculture of the United States relevant, real-time information for each hemp producer
authorized in the state to produce hemp, including contact information described in 7 CFR
990.70(a)(1), a legal description of the land on which a producer will produce hemp, and
the status of authorized producers and authorization numbers of producers.

Contact information described in 7 CFR 990.70(a)(1)(1) includes for each producer who is
an individual: (1) full name, authorization identifier, Employee Identif.ication Number of
the business entity, business address, telephone number, and email address (if available).
Contact information described in 7 CFR 990.70(a)(1)(ii1) includes for each producer who is
an entity, the full name of the entity; address of the principal business location;
authorization identifier; and full name, title, and email address (if available) of each
employee for whom the entity is required to submit a criminal history report.

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN

1.

Section 3.2-4115 of the Virginia Industrial Hemp Law (Law) authorizes the Commissioner
of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Commissioner) to establish a registration program
to allow a person to grow industrial hemp in the Commonwealth and requires that anyone
seeking to grow industrial hemp in the Commonwealth apply to the Commissioner for a
registration to do so. Section 3.2-4115 of the Law establishes the minimum information
that an applicant for this registration must provide to the Commissioner, including the
applicant’s name and mailing address and a legal description and geographic data sufficient
for locating the land on which the applicant intends to grow hemp.

The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) will maintain
and report to USDA the contact information for Registered Industrial Hemp Growers, the
coordinates of the land on which a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower intends to produce
hemp, the status of Registered Industrial Hemp Grower and changes thereto, and
registration numbers of Registered Industrial Hemp Growers as required by 7 CFR Part
990.

3. See Appendix One for the draft application for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration.

7 CFR 990.3(a)(2) PROCEDURE FOR ACCURATE AND EFFECTIVE SAMPLING

State plan must include a procedure for accurate and effective sampling of hemp produced.
Samples must be collected by a sampling agent within 30 days prior to the anticipated
harvest
"Sampling agent" is not defined; however the rule provides that a hemp producer
may not collect samples from their own growing facility.

Samples must be obtained from the flowering tops of cannabis and shall be approximately
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five to eight inches in length from the main stem, terminal bud, or central cola.
Method used for sampling must be sufficient at a confidence level of 95 percent that no
more than one percent of the plants in the lot would exceed the acceptable hemp THC level
and that the sample represents a homogenous composition of the lot.
Alternatively, a state may adopt a performance-based method that (i) is part of the
state hemp plan and subject to USDA approval and (ii) has the potential to ensure, at
a confidence level of 95 percent, that the cannabis that will be subject to the
alternative method will not test above the acceptable hemp THC level.
Procedure to require the producer or an authorized representative of the producer to be
present at the growing site during sample collection, if possible.
Procedure to allow sampling agent to have complete and unrestricted access during
business hours to all hemp and other cannabis plants and to all land, buildings, and other
structures used for cultivation, handling, and storage of all hemp and other cannabis plants
and all locations listed in the producer license.
Procedure to ensure that a producer does not harvest cannabis crop prior to samples being
taken.
Procedure to ensure sampling agents are trained using USDA or state training procedures.
State must maintain information, available to producers, about trained sampling agents.

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN

1.

N

Section 3.2-4114.2 of the Law authorizes the Commissioner to monitor and randomly test
industrial hemp, at the cost of the grower, for compliance with tetrahydrocannabinol limits.
This section also authorizes the Commissioner to inspect and sample industrial hemp at any
production field during normal business hours without advance notice if the Commissioner
has reason to believe a violation of the Law is occurring or has occurred.

VDACS’s 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines instruct the individual collecting a sample from
an industrial hemp lot (hereinafter, “sampling agent”) on collecting a sample that is
comprised of the inflorescence of the plants sampled and that is representative of a
homogenous composition of the lot.

VDACS will direct individuals who wish to become a sampling agent to complete USDA's
training for sampling agents and submit documentation of completion to VDACS.
VDACS's nursery inspection staff will also complete USDA's training for sampling agents
in order to collect regulatory samples from Registered Industrial Hemp Growers in certain
situations. Such sample collection services by VDACS will be subject to staff availability.
VDACS will maintain a list of sampling agents on the agency's website.

VDACS will remove from the list of sampling agents on the agency’s website an individual
who VDACS determines fails to sample in accordance with the 2022 Field Sampling
Guidelines, including the requirement to collect a sample that is approximately five to eight
inches in length from the main stem, terminal bud, or central cola.

VDACS will direct Registered Industrial Hemp Growers to obtain the services of a
sampling agent to collect a sample that represents a homogenous composition of each of the
grower's lots within the 30 days prior to the grower's anticipated harvest date and to allow a
sampling agent to have complete and unrestricted access during business hours to all
industrial hemp and other cannabis plants and to all land, buildings, and other structures
used for cultivation, handling, and storage of all hemp and other cannabis plants and all
locations listed on the grower registration.
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8. A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower will be responsible for the cost of any required

9.

sample collection.

VDACS will request that Registered Industrial Hemp Growers submit an Industrial Hemp
Planting and Propagation Report and an Industrial Hemp Harvest Report, both of which
VDACS will use to ensure that sampling is conducted within the 30 days prior to the
grower’s anticipated harvest date. By initialing and signing the application for an Industrial
Hemp Grower Registration, the applicant agrees to submit these reports.

10. VDACS’s 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines provide that a grower or his agent shall

11.

12.

accompany the sampling agent throughout the lot sampling process, if possible.
The Industrial Hemp Planting and Propagation Report will alert a Registered Industrial
Hemp Grower that he shall not harvest his industrial hemp lot until a sampling agent
collects a sample from the lot.
VDACS may determine that Registered Industrial Hemp Growers (i) who are researchers at
institutions of higher education and whose industrial hemp is not entering commerce or (ii)
who grow certain industrial hemp lots produced for the purpose of fiber may not be subject
to the sampling requirements above. For such growers, VDACS will use alternative
sampling methods that the agency believes has the potential to ensure, at a confidence level
of 95 percent, that the cannabis plant species Cannabis sativa L. that will be subject to this
alternative method will not test above the acceptable hemp THC level. Specifically,
VDACS will determine which lots may be subject to an alternative sampling method upon
the request of a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who believes his lot may meet the
criteria established in this subsection. A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower must request
this determination within 14 days of planting the industrial hemp lot that may meet this
criteria. VDACS will provide written documentation to a Registered Industrial Hemp
Grower that the grower does not need to sample as required above. Instead, such growers
must meet the appropriate alternative sampling requirements below:
» A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who is a researcher at an institute of higher
education and whose industrial hemp is not entering commerce shall:
» Adopt a protocol to ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that the Cannabis
sativa subject to this protocol will not test above the acceptable industrial hemp
THC level.
= Ensure the disposal of all plants that exceed the acceptable industrial hemp THC
level by burning, plowing under, mulching, or disking the plants.
»  Submit to VDACS a report on the disposal of the plants.
= A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who (i) is producing an industrial hemp lot for
the purpose of fiber and (ii) is a named party to a production contract with an industrial
hemp fiber processing facility shall:
= Be subject to random sampling and testing, as determined by VDACS, in order to
ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that the Cannabis sativa subject to this
performance-based alternative to sampling will not test above the acceptable
industrial hemp THC level.
* Ensure the disposal of all plants that exceed the acceptable industrial hemp THC
level by burning, plowing under, mulching, or disking the plants.
» Submit to VDACS a report on the disposal of the plants.

13. See Appendix Two for the draft 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines.
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7 CFR 990.3(a)(3) PROCEDURE FOR TESTING

State shall have a procedure for testing that is able to accurately identify whether the sample
contains a total delta-9 THC concentration that exceeds the acceptable hemp THC level.
Testing methods must be validated and use postdecarboxylation or other similarly reliable
method; must consider the potential conversion of delta-9 THCA into THC and the test
result must report the total available THC (THC + THCA); and must determine and report
total THC concentration on a dry weight basis.
Any test of a representative sample resulting in higher than the acceptable hemp THC level
shall be conclusive evidence that the lot represented by the sample is not in compliance
with 7 CFR Part 990. Procedure to ensure that such lot is disposed of or remediated in
accordance with § 990.27.
Procedure to ensure samples of hemp plant material from one lot shall not be commingled
with hemp plant material from other lots.
Procedures to require hemp testing laboratories:
Shall have quality assurance that ensures the validity and reliability of test results;
Shall have analytical method selection, validation, and verification that ensures that
the testing method used is appropriate (fit for purpose), and that the laboratory can
successfully perform the testing;
Shall demonstrate that testing validity ensures consistent, accurate analytical
performance;
Shall have method performance specifications that ensure analytical tests are
sufficiently sensitive for the purposes of the detectability requirements of 7 CFR
Part 990;
Shall have effective disposal procedures for non-compliant samples that do not meet
the requirements of 7 CFR Part 990;
Shall estimate and report measurement of uncertainty with test results;
Shall use appropriate, validated methods and procedures for all testing activities and
evaluate measurement of uncertainty;
Shall grind pre- or post-harvest samples to ensure homogeneity of plant material
prior to testing;
After December 31, 2022, shall be registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement
Administration.

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN

1.

2.

Section 3.2-4114.2 of the Law authorizes the Commissioner to monitor and randomly test

industrial hemp, at the cost of the grower, for compliance with tetrahydrocannabinol limits.

VDACS will assess compliance and negligence based on a sample's total available delta-9

THC, which will consider the conversion of delta-9 THCA into delta-9 THC.

VDACS will assess compliance and negligence using the measured total delta-9 THC

concentration stated on the testing laboratory’s Report of Analysis (ROA) and the

measurement of uncertainty stated on the testing laboratory's ROA.

= An acceptable industrial hemp THC level is when the application of the measurement of
uncertainty to the reported delta-9 THC content concentration level on a dry weight
basis produces a distribution or range that includes 0.30 percent or less (hereinafter,
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“acceptable industrial hemp THC level”).

4. VDACS’s 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines include procedures to ensure samples of hemp
plant material from one lot shall not be commingled with hemp plant material from other
lots.

5. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2 authorizes the Commissioner to require a Registered Industrial
Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC
concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. Va. Code § 3.2-4116 requires a
Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and
found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law, if required by
the Commissioner. VDACS will use this authority to prevent the processing or entering into
the stream of commerce of any hemp grown in a lot where the acceptable hemp THC level
is noncompliant and is not remediated.

6. VDACS will offer a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that
has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable
industrial hemp THC level the opportunity to remediate the lot by (i) removing and
destroying all flower material, while retaining stalk, stems, leaf material, or seeds or (ii)
shredding the entire industrial hemp lot. A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who elects
to remediate an industrial hemp lot must obtain the services of a sampling agent to sample
the remediated industrial hemp lot and must obtain the services of a testing laboratory to
test the THC concentration of the sample of the remediated industrial hemp lot. The
Commissioner will require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy all of the
remaining material included in a remediated industrial hemp lot that has a THC
concentration that exceeds the acceptable industrial hemp THC level.

7. VDACS's 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines include procedures for sampling a shredded
industrial hemp lot.

8. VDACS will identify laboratories that meet the requirements established in §
990.3(a)(3)(ii1)(A) through (G). Laboratories will have validated THC concentration
testing methods and use gas or liquid chromatography with detection; must consider the
potential conversion of delta-9 THCA into THC and produce a test result that reports the
total available THC (THC + THCA) and the laboratory's measurement of uncertainty for a
THC concentration test; and must determine and report total THC concentration on a dry
weight basis. After December 31, 2022, when testing laboratories must be registered with
the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, VDACS will identify laboratories that meet the
requirements established in § 990.3(a)(3)(iii)(A) through (H).

9. VDACS will direct Registered Industrial Hemp Growers (i) to use only those laboratories
identified as meeting the requirements when obtaining the required pre-harvest testing and,
if applicable, the required post-harvest retesting or (ii) to provide documentation that the
laboratory, if not previously identified by VDACS, from which the grower obtains the
required testing meets the requirements established in § 990.3(a)(3)(iii)(A) through (H). A
Registered Industrial Hemp Grower will be responsible for the cost of any required testing.

10. See Appendix Two for draft 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines.

7 CFR 990.3(a)(4) PROCEDURE FOR NOTIFICATION AND DISPOSAL OF PLANTS OR
PLANT MATERIAL THAT DO NOT MEET THE DEFINITION OF HEMP

State shall require testing laboratories to comply with USDA reporting requirements in

Subpart F of 7 CFR Part 990. For tests conducted to determine compliance, laboratories
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shall report the following to USDA:
- Producer's license or authorization identifier;
Name of producer;
Business address of producer;
Lot identification number for the sample;
Name of laboratory and, no later than December 31, 2022, the DEA registration
number of laboratory;
Date of test and report;
Identification of pre-harvest or post-harvest retest;
Test result.

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN

1.

VDACS will identify laboratories that will meet the reporting requirements established in §
990.70(d). Successful laboratories will indicate the ability to report the following to
USDA: (i) producer's license or authorization identifier; (i) name of producer; (iii) business
address of producer; (iv) lot identification number for the sample; (v) name of laboratory;
(v) date of test and report; (vi) identification of pre-harvest or post-harvest retest; and (vii)
test result.

VDACS will direct Registered Industrial Hemp Growers to use only those laboratories
identified as able to meet the reporting requirements. By initialing and signing the
application for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration, the applicant agrees to use such
laboratories.

7 CFR 990.3(a)(5) PROCEDURE FOR ENFORCEMENT

State plan must include a procedure to comply with the enforcement procedures in 7 CFR
990.6.

Producer violations of USDA-approved state plans shall be subject to enforcement in
accordance with the term of 7 CFR 990.6

7 CFR 990.6(b) establishes that negligent violations shall include (i) failure to provide legal
description of land; (ii) failure to obtain an authorization to produce; and (iii) production of
cannabis with THC exceeding the acceptable hemp THC level. A producer does not commit
a negligent violation if they make reasonable efforts to grow hemp and the cannabis does
not have a total delta-9 THC concentration of more than 1.0 percent on a dry weight basis.
A producer shall not receive more than one negligent violation per growing season
("growing season" is not defined).

7 CFR 990.6(c) establishes that corrective action plans for negligent violations shall include
(1) a reasonable date to correct the violation; (ii) reporting requirements for not less than
two years from date of the negligent violation; (iii) violations are not subject to federal,
state, tribal, or local government criminal enforcement action; (iv) that a producer who
negligently violates a USDA-approved state plan three times within a five-year period is
ineligible to produce hemp for a period of five years from the date of the third violation;
and (v) state or tribal government shall conduct inspections to determine if corrective action
plan has been implemented.

7 CFR 990.6(d) establishes that, when a producer’s violation is made with a culpable
mental state greater than negligence, the state shall immediately report the producer to the
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U.S. Attorney General and the chief law enforcement officer of the state.

7 CFR 990.6(e) establishes that states shall (i) provide for a ten-year ineligibility restriction
for persons with a state or federal felony conviction relating to a controlled substance and
provide for controlled substance felony conviction exception for participants in a state
hemp pilot program authorized under section 7606 of the Agricultural Act of 2014 before
December 20, 2018 and whose conviction occurred before that date; (i1) define who is
participating and is subject to the felony conviction restriction and, to determine whether a
person is subject to the felony conviction restriction, obtain a criminal history report for that
person; and (iii) for each authorization issued, identify at least one individual as
participating in the plan and for whom it will obtain a criminal history report.

7 CFR 990.6(f) establishes that a state shall state that any person who materially falsifies
any information in his application is ineligible to participate in the program.

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN

1.

2.

Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2(I) authorizes the Commissioner to establish a corrective action plan
to address negligent violations of the Industrial Hemp Law.

Va. Code § 3.2-4118(C) requires a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who negligently (i)
fails to provide a description and geographic data sufficient for locating his production field
or (i1) grows Cannabis sativa with a tetrahydrocannabinol concentration greater than that
allowed by federal law to comply with any corrective action plan established by the
Commissioner. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(C) prohibits the Commissioner from deeming a
Registered Industrial Hemp Grower negligent if the grower makes reasonable efforts to
grow industrial hemp and grows Cannabis sativa with a THC concentration that does not
exceed the total delta-9 THC concentration percentage established in 7 CFR 990.6(b)(3).

. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(D) requires a person who grows industrial hemp and who negligently

fails to register pursuant to subsection A of § 3.2-4115 to comply with any corrective action
plan established by the Commissioner.

Va. Code § 3.2-4118(E) requires that a corrective action plan established by the
Commissioner in response to a negligent violation of a provision of the Industrial Hemp
Law identify a reasonable date by which the person who is the subject of the plan shall
correct the negligent violation and shall require such person to report periodically for not
less than two calendar years to the Commissioner on the person's compliance with the
provisions of the Industrial Hemp Law.

. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(F) provides that no person who negligently violates the provisions of

the Industrial Hemp Law three times in a five-year period shall be eligible to grow
industrial hemp for a period of five years beginning on the date of the third violation.

When a person growing industrial hemp negligently violates the Industrial Hemp Law, the
Commissioner will establish a corrective action plan for that person that shall include (i) a
reasonable date to correct the violation and (i1) reporting requirements for not less than two
years from date of the negligent violation. VDACS will conduct inspections to determine if
the corrective action plan has been implemented.

. VDACS will not refer negligent violations of the Industrial Hemp Law to federal, state,

tribal, or local government criminal enforcement authorities for action.
Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2(G) requires the Commissioner to advise the Superintendent of State
Police or the chief law-enforcement officer of the appropriate county or city when, with a
culpable mental state greater than negligence, a grower grows any cannabis with a THC
concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. VDACS will advise the U.S.
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10.

11.

Attorney General and the Superintendent of State Police when, with a culpable mental state
greater than negligence, a grower grows any cannabis with a THC concentration greater
than that allowed by federal law.

. Va. Code § 3.2-4115(B)(3) provides that a person with a prior felony drug conviction

within 10 years of applying for a registration under the Industrial Hemp Law shall not be
eligible to be registered. As the Virginia Drug Control Act provides that a "controlled
substance" is, in part, a drug, VDACS will interpret Section 3.2-4115(B)(3) of the Industrial
Hemp Law to provide that a person with a prior felony controlled substance conviction
within 10 years of applying for a registration under the Industrial Hemp Law shall not be
eligible to be registered. However, VDACS will not find a person who was lawfully
growing hemp under section 7606 of the Agricultural Act of 2014 before December 20,
2018, and whose prior felony controlled substance conviction occurred before that date
ineligible for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration.

VDACS will require that applicants for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration submit a
state and federal criminal history report at the time of application. If the applicant for an
Industrial Hemp Grower Registration is a business entity, VDACS will require that all key
participants (i.e., a sole proprietor, a partner in a partnership, or a person with executive
managerial control in a corporation) in the business submit a state and federal criminal
history report at the time of application.

Va. Code § 3.2-4115 establishes the information that must be included in an application for
an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration. Failure to provide this information via a false
statement violates the requirements in Va. Code § 3.2-4115, and Va. Code § 3.2-4118(A)
requires the Commissioner to deny the application of a person who, with a culpable mental
state greater than negligence, violates a provision of the Industrial Hemp Law.

7 CFR 990.3(a)(6) DISPOSAL OR REMEDIATION

State plan must include a procedure for the disposal or remediation of cannabis plants if the
sample representing that plant tests above the acceptable hemp THC level.

Disposal must be conducted by DEA-registered reverse distributor or law enforcement or at
the farm or production facility.

State plan must include procedure to verify the disposal or remediation of the cannabis.

If remediation is performed, the post-remediated crop must be sampled and tested to
determine its THC concentration.

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN

1.

Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2 authorizes the Commissioner to require a Registered Industrial
Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC
concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. Va. Code § 3.2-4116 requires a
Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and
found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. VDACS will
use this authority to prevent the processing or entering into the stream of commerce of any
hemp grown in a lot where the acceptable hemp THC level is noncompliant and is not
remediated.

VDACS will offer a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that
has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable

8



industrial hemp THC level the opportunity to remediate the lot by (i) removing and
destroying all flower material, while retaining stalk, stems, leaf material, or seeds or (ii)
shredding the entire industrial hemp lot. A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who elects
to remediate an industrial hemp lot must obtain the services of a sampling agent to sample
the remediated industrial hemp lot and must obtain the services of a testing laboratory to
test the THC concentration of the sample of the remediated industrial hemp lot. The
Commissioner will require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy all of the
material included in a remediated industrial hemp lot that has a THC concentration that
exceeds the acceptable industrial hemp THC level.

. VDACS's 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines include procedures for sampling a shredded

industrial hemp lot.

VDACS will verify remediation by reviewing the test result of the sample collected from
the remediated industrial hemp lot.

The Commissioner will require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial
hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the
acceptable industrial hemp THC level who declines the opportunity to remediate the
industrial hemp lot to destroy all plant material in the lot. A Registered Industrial Hemp
Grower shall complete this destruction by burning, plowing under, mulching, or disking the
lot.

VDACS will verify destruction of a noncompliant lot by directing a Registered Industrial
Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC
concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level to submit to VDACS
(1) a photograph of the lot before the destruction and (ii) a photograph of the lot after the
destruction.

VDACS will submit a monthly report notifying USDA of any occurrence of non-
conforming plants or plant material and providing a disposal or remediation record of those
plants and materials, as required by 7 CFR 990.70(b).

7 CFR 990.3(a)(7) ANNUAL INSPECTION

Procedure for conducting annual inspections of, at a minimum, a random group of
producers to verify that hemp is not produced in violation of 7 CFR Part 990.

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN

1.

Section 3.2-4114.2 of the Law authorizes the Commissioner to monitor and randomly
sample and test industrial hemp, at the cost of the grower, for compliance with
tetrahydrocannabinol limits. This section also authorizes the Commissioner to inspect and
sample industrial hemp at any production field during normal business hours without
advance notice if the Commissioner has reason to believe a violation of the Law is
occurring or has occurred.

2. VDACS will conduct random inspections of Registered Industrial Hemp Growers annually.

7 CFR 990.3(a)(8) PROCEDURE FOR SUBMITTING INFORMATION TO USDA

Procedure for submitting the information described in 7 CFR 990.70 to the Secretary by the
first of the month in a format compatible with USDA's information sharing system.
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7 CFR 990.70(a) requires a state to submit by the first of each month a report providing the
contact information and status of the authorization to grow for each producer.

7 CFR 990.70(b) requires a state to submit by the first of each month a report notifying
USDA of any occurrence of non-conforming plants or plant material and providing a
disposal or remediation record of those plants and materials.

7 CFR 990.70(c) requires a state to submit an annual report by December 15 regarding total
planted, harvested, and disposed of and remediated acreage.

7 CFR 990.70(d) requires producers to ensure that test results are submitted to USDA.

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN
1. VDACS will submit all required reports required by 7 CFR 990.70 by the first of each
month or by December 15, as required by 7 CFR 990.70.
2. VDACS will direct producers to ensure that their testing laboratory submits their test results
to USDA.

7 CFR 990.3(a)(9) CERTIFICATION REGARDING RESOURCES

Certification that the state has resources and personnel to carry out the practices and
procedures described in 7 CFR 990.3(a)(1) through 7 CFR 990.3(a)(9).

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN

1. VDACS currently has one filled full-time equivalent (FTE) designated to support the
industrial hemp registration program and two vacant FTEs designated to support the
industrial hemp registration program. In an effort to transition the industrial hemp
registration program to a self-supporting program, in 2020, the Virginia General Assembly
increased the industrial hemp registration application fees and decreased to $32,735 the
general fund appropriation that VDACS receives to support the industrial hemp registration
program. In fiscal year 2021, VDACS collected approximately $220,000 in revenue from
application fees for Industrial Hemp Grower, Processor, and Dealer Registrations.

2. VDACS plans to utilize existing resources to administer the industrial hemp registration
program, including the registration of industrial hemp growers as outlined in this Plan, and
to perform the necessary enforcement activities and reporting requirements prescribed in
USDA's Domestic Hemp Production Program regulation.

3. Registered Industrial Hemp Growers will be responsible for the cost of required sampling,
testing, and destruction.

7 CFR 990.3(a)(10) PROCEDURE TO SHARE INFORMATION WITH USDA
State plan must include a procedure to require producers to share hemp lot acreage with
USDA’s Farm Service Agency; a procedure to assign producers an authorization identifier
that is in a format prescribed by USDA; and a procedure to require producers to report to
the state the total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed of or remediated and by
which the state will collect and report this data to USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service.

VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN
1. VDACS’s Industrial Hemp Grower Registration application materials will direct growers to
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report their hemp lot acreage to FSA. By initialing and signing the application for an
Industrial Hemp Grower Registration, the applicant agrees to submit this report.

. VDACS will format Industrial Hemp Grower Registration numbers in accordance with the
format prescribed by USDA.

. VDACS will submit all required reports required by 7 CFR 990.70, including the total
acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed of or remediated.
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Registration issued on:

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES

OFFICE OF POLICY, PLANNING, AND RESEARCH
P.O. Box 526 - Richmond, VA 23218
804-786-1241 - www.vdacs.virginia.gov

INDUSTRIAL HEMP GROWER REGISTRATION APPLICATION

OPPR-200 (Rev. xx/2022)

The annual Industrial Hemp Grower Registration application fee is $150. Please make a check
for $150 payable to Treasurer of Virginia and mail your check and application materials to
the address above.

SECTION ONE - APPLICANT IDENTIFICATION
Do you currently have an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration? Yes [ No

If yes, please provide your registration number and its expiration date:

Registration Number Expiration Date

Do not complete both Section 1-A and Section 1-B.

SECTION 1-A. Please complete Section 1-A if you are applying as an individual.

Applicant Name:

Physical Address
Where Applicant
Resides:

Mailing Address:

Telephone Number:

Email Address:



http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/

SECTION 1-B. Please complete Section 1-B if you are applying on behalf of a business.

NOTE: The business will be the registered grower and the registration will be issued in the
name of the business entity. A “key participant” is a sole proprietor, a partner in a partnership,
or a person with executive managerial control in a corporation, including the chief executive
officer, the chief operating officer, or the chief financial officer. Please attach an additional sheet
if the business has more than four key participants.

Business Name:

Federal EIN Number:

Physical Address of
Principal Place of
Business:

Mailing Address:

Name and Title of Key
Participant:

Name and Title of Key
Participant (if
applicable):

Name and Title of Key
Participant (if
applicable):

Name and Title of Key
Participant (if
applicable):

Telephone Number:

Email Address:

SECTION TWO - CRIMINAL HISTORY

A Virginia State Police criminal history record check and an FBI Identity History Summary must be
completed and attached to the Industrial Hemp Grower Registration Application upon submission. If
applying on behalf of a business entity, a Virginia State Police criminal history record check and an
FBI Identity History Summary must be completed and attached for all key participants. The applicant
is solely responsible for all associated criminal background check fees.

Grower Registration Application Industrial Hemp
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NOTE: An individual with a felony controlled substance conviction within 10 years of the application
date is not eligible for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration.

[ I have attached a Virginia State Police criminal history record check and an FBI Identity
History Summary for myself.

[] I am applying on behalf of a business entity and have attached a Virginia State Police criminal
history record check and an FBI Identity History Summary for all key participants.

SECTION THREE - INDUSTRIAL HEMP LOT(S)

“Lot” means a contiguous area in a field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure containing the same
variety or strain of cannabis throughout the area.

Please identify the lot(s) on which you plan to grow industrial hemp. Please attach an additional sheet
if you plan to grow industrial hemp on more than two lots.

NOTE: Failure to submit an application with completed lot information will result in delay of
processing. If you are unsure how to obtain the coordinates for your lot(s) or storage site(s), please
visit our website and access the “Coordinate [ocation Guide.”

Lot1
Acres/Square Feet | Coordinates (for center of field, in Decimal Degrees) (Ex.37.123456, -77.123456)

Physical Address/Location

Lot 2
Acres/Square Feet | Coordinates (for center of field, in Decimal Degrees) (Ex.37.123456, -77.123456)

Physical Address/Location

If you plan to store raw hemp material, please identify the location of the storage site. Please attach an
additional sheet if you plan to store industrial hemp at more than two storage sites.

Storage Site 1
Square Feet Coordinates (storage site location, in Decimal Degrees) (Ex.37.123456, -77.123456)

Physical Address/Location

Grower Registration Application Industrial Hemp
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Storage Site 2
Square Feet Coordinates (storage site location, in Decimal Degrees) (Ex.37.123456, -77.123456)

Physical Address/Location

Please indicate your anticipated planting date(s).

Please indicate your anticipated harvest date(s).

SECTION FOUR - AGENTS

The Virginia Industrial Hemp Law provides that it is lawful for a grower or his agent to grow industrial
hemp in the Commonwealth for any lawful purpose and that no grower or his agent shall be prosecuted
under Chapter 11 (§ 4.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia or §§ 18.2-247, 18.2-248,
18.2-248.01, 18.2-248.1, or 18.2-250 for the possession or growing of industrial hemp.

Please provide the names of the individuals you expect will be your agents for the purpose of growing
hemp under the Virginia Industrial Hemp Law on the lot(s) listed in this application.

Full Name of Potential Agents

NOTE: Registered growers may wish to provide the “Agent Documentation” form available on the
VDACS website to each person they intend to serve as their agent for the limited purpose of growing
industrial hemp. You do not need to submit this form to VDACS.
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SECTION FIVE - NOTICES AND AFFIRMATIONS

By initialing and signing below, the applicant acknowledges that the applicant has read and agrees to
the following:

Initials

Initials

Initials

Initials

Initials

Initials

Initials

Initials

Initials

Initials

VDACS will forward a record of each Industrial Hemp Grower Registration issued
by the Commissioner to the chief law enforcement officer of the locality in which the
registered grower will grow industrial hemp.

VDACS will notify the Superintendent of State Police of the locations of all
industrial hemp lots.

All records, data, and information filed in support of a registration application shall
be considered proprietary and excluded from the provisions of the Virginia Freedom
of Information Act.

Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall submit an Industrial Hemp Planting Report
(1) within 14 calendar days following the first day of each planting or (ii) by July 31
for registered lots upon which industrial hemp will not be planted.

Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall submit an Industrial Hemp Harvest Report
within five calendar days following the harvest of an industrial hemp lot.

Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall report the following to the USDA Farm
Service Agency (FSA).

e Hemp crop acreage

e Reporting total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed or
remediated

Registration number

Street address

Geospatial location(s) of each lot or greenhouse where hemp will be produced
Acreage of greenhouse or indoor square footage dedicated to the production of
hemp

Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall not harvest or place into the stream of
commerce any industrial hemp grown that has not been tested and determined to
have an acceptable industrial hemp THC level.

Registered Industrial Hemp Growers must obtain the services of a sampling agent
who will collect a representative sample from each industrial hemp lot.

Registered Industrial Hemp Growers must allow a sampling agent to have complete
and unrestricted access during business hours to all industrial hemp and other
cannabis plants and to all land, buildings, and other structures used for cultivation,
handling, and storage of all industrial hemp and other cannabis plants and all
locations listed on the grower registration.

Registered Industrial Hemp Growers must obtain the services of a testing laboratory
that will (i) analyze the Total THC concentration of each representative sample
collected by the sampling agent and (ii) submit its test results directly to USDA.

Grower Registration Application Industrial Hemp
OPPR-200 Rev. xx/2022 Amount to Remit: $150

Page 5 of 6

Finance Code: 871 — 09060



I hereby affirm that, to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief, I have made no
misrepresentation on this application or failed to disclose any information requested on this
application.

I affirm that I am authorized to give consent to enter the above-described lots(s) and I hereby consent
to the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, local law enforcement officials, or
the Virginia Department of State Police entering the above-described lot(s) and storage site(s) to
conduct physical inspections of the industrial hemp to ensure compliance with the requirements of the
Virginia Industrial Hemp Law (Va. Code § 3.2-4112 ef seq.).

Signature Date

Print Name
Grower Registration Application Industrial Hemp
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Appendix Two
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT

\ OF AGRICULTURE AND

[\ /A CONSUMER SERVICES

2022 Guidelines for Field Sampling of Industrial Hemp
Summary

These guidelines establish the procedure for entering an industrial hemp lot and collecting a plant
sample that is representative of the industrial hemp lot. The guidelines also establish the procedure
for collecting a representative sample of remediated biomass.

The goal of this sampling protocol is to ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that no more than
one percent of the plants in each lot will exceed the acceptable industrial hemp tetrahydrocannabinol

level and ensure that a sample is collected that represents a homogeneous composition of the lot.

This practice does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use.
The user of this standard shall exercise caution and follow applicable safety and health practices.

Terminology

“Department” means the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

“Grower” means a person registered pursuant to subsection A of Va. Code § 3.2-4115 to grow
industrial hemp.

“Lot” means a contiguous area in a field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure containing the
same variety or strain of cannabis throughout the area.

“Remediated biomass” means the flowers, buds, trichomes, leaves, stalks, seed, and all plant parts of
noncompliant hemp plants from the same lot that have been shredded.

“Sample” means the combined total number of specimens taken from industrial hemp plants in the
lot.

“Sample specimen” or “specimen” means the inflorescence of the industrial hemp plant.
“Sampling agent” means a person (i) who has completed the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s
sampling agent training and submitted documentation of completion of this training to the
department and (ii) who is listed on the department-maintained list of sampling agents available on
the department’s website.

“Stand” means a group or growth of industrial hemp.

“THC” means total delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol.



Recommended equipment and supplies for sampling
a. Garden pruners
Paper sample bags
Staples or security tape to seal the bags
Permanent markers
Sample collection forms that include a chain of custody form
GPS unit or other tool to determine GPS location
Disinfectant for tools
Disposable gloves

S moe e o

Procedure to Sample an Industrial Hemp Lot

A sampling agent will enter a lot, strategically examine it, establish an approach for navigating the lot,
and collect individual specimens from plants in order to obtain a representative sample of industrial hemp
in the lot. Because test methodology requires small aliquots of material, care must be taken to provide
samples that accurately reflect the entirety of the growing area.

1. The grower or his agent shall accompany the sampling agent throughout the sampling process, if
possible.

2. The sampling agent shall verify the GPS coordinates of the lot as compared with the GPS coordinates
on the grower’s registration. Record GPS coordinates of the lot on the sample collection form.

3. The sampling agent shall visually establish the homogeneity of the stand to establish that the lot is of
like variety.

4. The sample must be collected within the 30 days prior to the anticipated date of harvest.

5. Each variety or cultivar must be sampled separately.

6. To sample a grower engaged in clone production, sample the mother plants, when in flower.

7. For lots of four acres or less, select four plants for cuttings to form a composite sample.

8. For lots larger than 10 acres, the number of plants that will be selected to form a composite sample is

based upon the Codex Alimentarius Recommended Methods of Sampling for the Determination of
Pesticide Residues for Compliance with MRLS CAC/GL 33-1999.

Table 1. Total samples to be taken per number of acres



N - Lot, acres :rot'a :
Clippings
1 4
2 4
3 4
4 4
5 5
6 6
7 7
8 8
9 9
10 10
15 15
20 18
25 24
30 28
35 32
40 36
45 40
50 43
75 60
100 75

9. When collecting samples from each lot, if possible, walk through the plants to randomly sample
throughout the lot. If the stand is so dense that walking through it is not possible, walk access roads,
drainage ditches, or other accessible paths that allow penetration into the stand for sampling away from
the edge and for detection of plant growth differences.

10. While walking through the lot, the sampling agent shall cut inflorescences at random but convenient
distances. Avoid collecting sample specimens from the borders of the lot. When sampling floral
varieties of hemp, sample from female plants only.
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11. The cut shall be made so as to collect approximately five to eight inches in length from the main stem,
terminal bud, or central cola.

12. Record the sample number. The samples shall be identified using the following system for assigning
sample numbering:

The sample number consists of:

Industrial Hemp Grower Registration number (51-2022-xxx), sample number (xx) (starts with “01”
and increases sequentially by one for each sample).

Example of Sample Number:

Grower Registration# Sequential Sample#

51 2022-001 01

Record as: 51 2022-001-01

13. Each sample bag must state the following information:
Grower name and registration number
Sample Number
Date
Sampling agent name



14. Seal sample bag with labels, tape, or staples or security tape.

15. Complete Industrial Hemp Sample Collection Form provided by or approved by the department.
Obtain signatures of the grower or responsible authority or agent.

16. Samples must be stored in an area that is locked and secure. Freeze samples if holding them for a day
or more before delivering to the testing laboratory.

17. Clean tools between samples. Wear disposable gloves or clean hands between samples.
SAMPLE QUANTITY

The volume of plant material selected should reflect the size and volume of material being grown.

For very small plantings where individual or very limited numbers of plants of a variety are present, a
minimum of two ounces (0z.) of plant material is required. The two-o0z. sample may be used in cases where
breeding projects are being inspected.

Procedure to Sample Remediated Biomass

1. The grower or his agent shall accompany the sampling agent throughout the sampling process, if
possible.

2. The sampling agent shall collect a representative sample of the remediated biomass. The sampling
agent should collect biomass material from various depths, locations, and containers in the labeled and
demarcated area to collect a representative sample of the material.

3. The sampling agent shall collect, at a minimum, three standard measuring cups of biomass material.
A sampling agent may collect more biomass material based on the requirements of the testing
laboratory. If three standard measuring cups of biomass is not available, the sampling agent should
collect enough biomass for a representative sample.

4. Record the sample number on the Industrial Hemp Sample Collection Form. The samples shall be
identified using the following system for assigning sample numbering:

The sample number consists of:
‘REMED,’ Industrial Hemp Grower Registration number (51 2022-xxx), sample number (xx)
(starts with “01” and increases sequentially by one for each sample).

Example of Sample Number:
Remediation Indicator Grower Registration# Sequential Sample#

REMED 51 2022-001 01

Record as: REMED-51 2022-001-01



5. Each sample bag must state the following information:
Grower name and registration number
Sample Number
Date
Sampling agent name

6. Seal sample bag with labels, tape, or staples or security tape.

7. Complete Industrial Hemp Sample Collection Form provided by or approved by the department. Obtain
signatures of the grower or responsible authority or designee.

8. Samples must be stored in an area that is locked and secure. Freeze samples if holding them for a day or
more before delivering to the testing laboratory.

9. Clean tools between samples. Wear disposable gloves or clean hands between samples.



Registration
Number:

Sample Number:

Collection Date:
Approximate
Area: (ACor
Square Feet)
Sample Weight
(Lab only):
Grower Name:
Print Name
Grower
Signature:

INDUSTRIAL HEMP SAMPLE COLLECTION AND CHAIN OF CUSTODY FORM
One form per sample

Grower
Name:

Mailing
Address:

Crop
Address:

Grower
Phone:

Date:

Variety Sampled:

Development Stage: Not flowering/Flowering/ Seed head

Grown for: Fiber or Grain or Floral

Sample Location
GPS Coordinates

From
Permit:

From
Inspection:

Additional
Comments:

Sample Collected By:

Print Name:

Sampling
Agent
Signature:

SUBMITTER DESCRIPTION

Include the number of containers and a physical description of each sample submitted for testing

Example: 1 paper bag with 4 tips




LABORATORY CHAIN OF CUSTODY FORM

Chain of Custody: Persons relinquishing and receiving evidence must provide their signature, organization, and date/time to
document evidence transfers. Submitter, start with box number 1.

Relinquished By (Submitter) | Organization | Date/Time Received by Organization | Date/Time
Signature: Signature:
Print Name: Print Name:

Sealed: []Yes []No
Relinquished By (Submitter) | Organization | Date/Time Received by Organization | Date/Time
Signature: Signature:
Print Name: Print Name:

Sealed: []Yes []No
Relinquished By (Submitter) | Organization | Date/Time Received by Organization | Date/Time
Signature: Signature:
Print Name: Print Name:

Sealed: []Yes []No
Relinquished By (Submitter) | Organization | Date/Time Received by Organization | Date/Time
Signature: Signature:
Print Name: Print Name:

Sealed: []Yes []No
Relinquished By (Submitter) | Organization | Date/Time Received by Organization | Date/Time
Signature: Signature:

Print Name:

Print Name:
Sealed: []Yes []No

LABORATORY USE ONLY

Laboratory Description of Sample

Include the number of containers, identification number(s) and a physical description of each sample submitted for testing

Signature:

Date:

Evidence Disposal

To be completed by Laboratory Evidence Custodian

Disposition Site:

Disposition No:

Method of Disposition:

Performed By:

Date:

Witnessed By:

Date:
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	 A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who is a researcher at an institute of higher education and whose industrial hemp is not entering commerce shall: 
	 A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who is a researcher at an institute of higher education and whose industrial hemp is not entering commerce shall: 
	 Adopt a protocol to ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that the Cannabis sativa subject to this protocol will not test above the acceptable industrial hemp THC level.  
	 Adopt a protocol to ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that the Cannabis sativa subject to this protocol will not test above the acceptable industrial hemp THC level.  
	 Adopt a protocol to ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that the Cannabis sativa subject to this protocol will not test above the acceptable industrial hemp THC level.  

	 Ensure the disposal of all plants that exceed the acceptable industrial hemp THC level by burning, plowing under, mulching, or disking the plants. 
	 Ensure the disposal of all plants that exceed the acceptable industrial hemp THC level by burning, plowing under, mulching, or disking the plants. 

	 Submit to VDACS a report on the disposal of the plants. 
	 Submit to VDACS a report on the disposal of the plants. 




	 A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who (i) is producing an industrial hemp lot for the purpose of fiber and (ii) is a named party to a production contract with an industrial hemp fiber processing facility shall: 
	 A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who (i) is producing an industrial hemp lot for the purpose of fiber and (ii) is a named party to a production contract with an industrial hemp fiber processing facility shall: 
	 Be subject to random sampling and testing, as determined by VDACS, in order to ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that the Cannabis sativa subject to this performance-based alternative to sampling will not test above the acceptable industrial hemp THC level. 
	 Be subject to random sampling and testing, as determined by VDACS, in order to ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that the Cannabis sativa subject to this performance-based alternative to sampling will not test above the acceptable industrial hemp THC level. 
	 Be subject to random sampling and testing, as determined by VDACS, in order to ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that the Cannabis sativa subject to this performance-based alternative to sampling will not test above the acceptable industrial hemp THC level. 

	 Ensure the disposal of all plants that exceed the acceptable industrial hemp THC level by burning, plowing under, mulching, or disking the plants. 
	 Ensure the disposal of all plants that exceed the acceptable industrial hemp THC level by burning, plowing under, mulching, or disking the plants. 

	 Submit to VDACS a report on the disposal of the plants. 
	 Submit to VDACS a report on the disposal of the plants. 







	13. See Appendix Two for the draft 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines.  
	13. See Appendix Two for the draft 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines.  


	 
	 
	7 CFR 990.3(a)(3) PROCEDURE FOR TESTING 
	⋅ State shall have a procedure for testing that is able to accurately identify whether the sample contains a total delta-9 THC concentration that exceeds the acceptable hemp THC level. Testing methods must be validated and use postdecarboxylation or other similarly reliable method; must consider the potential conversion of delta-9 THCA into THC and the test result must report the total available THC (THC + THCA); and must determine and report total THC concentration on a dry weight basis. 
	⋅ State shall have a procedure for testing that is able to accurately identify whether the sample contains a total delta-9 THC concentration that exceeds the acceptable hemp THC level. Testing methods must be validated and use postdecarboxylation or other similarly reliable method; must consider the potential conversion of delta-9 THCA into THC and the test result must report the total available THC (THC + THCA); and must determine and report total THC concentration on a dry weight basis. 
	⋅ State shall have a procedure for testing that is able to accurately identify whether the sample contains a total delta-9 THC concentration that exceeds the acceptable hemp THC level. Testing methods must be validated and use postdecarboxylation or other similarly reliable method; must consider the potential conversion of delta-9 THCA into THC and the test result must report the total available THC (THC + THCA); and must determine and report total THC concentration on a dry weight basis. 

	⋅ Any test of a representative sample resulting in higher than the acceptable hemp THC level shall be conclusive evidence that the lot represented by the sample is not in compliance with 7 CFR Part 990.  Procedure to ensure that such lot is disposed of or remediated in accordance with § 990.27. 
	⋅ Any test of a representative sample resulting in higher than the acceptable hemp THC level shall be conclusive evidence that the lot represented by the sample is not in compliance with 7 CFR Part 990.  Procedure to ensure that such lot is disposed of or remediated in accordance with § 990.27. 

	⋅ Procedure to ensure samples of hemp plant material from one lot shall not be commingled with hemp plant material from other lots. 
	⋅ Procedure to ensure samples of hemp plant material from one lot shall not be commingled with hemp plant material from other lots. 

	⋅ Procedures to require hemp testing laboratories: 
	⋅ Procedures to require hemp testing laboratories: 
	⋅ Shall have quality assurance that ensures the validity and reliability of test results; 
	⋅ Shall have quality assurance that ensures the validity and reliability of test results; 
	⋅ Shall have quality assurance that ensures the validity and reliability of test results; 

	⋅ Shall have analytical method selection, validation, and verification that ensures that the testing method used is appropriate (fit for purpose), and that the laboratory can successfully perform the testing; 
	⋅ Shall have analytical method selection, validation, and verification that ensures that the testing method used is appropriate (fit for purpose), and that the laboratory can successfully perform the testing; 

	⋅ Shall demonstrate that testing validity ensures consistent, accurate analytical performance; 
	⋅ Shall demonstrate that testing validity ensures consistent, accurate analytical performance; 

	⋅ Shall have method performance specifications that ensure analytical tests are sufficiently sensitive for the purposes of the detectability requirements of 7 CFR Part 990; 
	⋅ Shall have method performance specifications that ensure analytical tests are sufficiently sensitive for the purposes of the detectability requirements of 7 CFR Part 990; 

	⋅ Shall have effective disposal procedures for non-compliant samples that do not meet the requirements of 7 CFR Part 990; 
	⋅ Shall have effective disposal procedures for non-compliant samples that do not meet the requirements of 7 CFR Part 990; 

	⋅ Shall estimate and report measurement of uncertainty with test results; 
	⋅ Shall estimate and report measurement of uncertainty with test results; 

	⋅ Shall use appropriate, validated methods and procedures for all testing activities and evaluate measurement of uncertainty; 
	⋅ Shall use appropriate, validated methods and procedures for all testing activities and evaluate measurement of uncertainty; 

	⋅ Shall grind pre- or post-harvest samples to ensure homogeneity of plant material prior to testing; 
	⋅ Shall grind pre- or post-harvest samples to ensure homogeneity of plant material prior to testing; 

	⋅ After December 31, 2022, shall be registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration. 
	⋅ After December 31, 2022, shall be registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration. 





	 
	VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN 
	1. Section 3.2-4114.2 of the Law authorizes the Commissioner to monitor and randomly test industrial hemp, at the cost of the grower, for compliance with tetrahydrocannabinol limits.  
	1. Section 3.2-4114.2 of the Law authorizes the Commissioner to monitor and randomly test industrial hemp, at the cost of the grower, for compliance with tetrahydrocannabinol limits.  
	1. Section 3.2-4114.2 of the Law authorizes the Commissioner to monitor and randomly test industrial hemp, at the cost of the grower, for compliance with tetrahydrocannabinol limits.  

	2. VDACS will assess compliance and negligence based on a sample's total available delta-9 THC, which will consider the conversion of delta-9 THCA into delta-9 THC.  
	2. VDACS will assess compliance and negligence based on a sample's total available delta-9 THC, which will consider the conversion of delta-9 THCA into delta-9 THC.  

	3. VDACS will assess compliance and negligence using the measured total delta-9 THC concentration stated on the testing laboratory’s Report of Analysis (ROA) and the measurement of uncertainty stated on the testing laboratory's ROA. 
	3. VDACS will assess compliance and negligence using the measured total delta-9 THC concentration stated on the testing laboratory’s Report of Analysis (ROA) and the measurement of uncertainty stated on the testing laboratory's ROA. 

	 An acceptable industrial hemp THC level is when the application of the measurement of uncertainty to the reported delta-9 THC content concentration level on a dry weight basis produces a distribution or range that includes 0.30 percent or less (hereinafter, “acceptable industrial hemp THC level”).  4. VDACS’s 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines include procedures to ensure samples of hemp plant material from one lot shall not be commingled with hemp plant material from other lots. 
	 An acceptable industrial hemp THC level is when the application of the measurement of uncertainty to the reported delta-9 THC content concentration level on a dry weight basis produces a distribution or range that includes 0.30 percent or less (hereinafter, “acceptable industrial hemp THC level”).  4. VDACS’s 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines include procedures to ensure samples of hemp plant material from one lot shall not be commingled with hemp plant material from other lots. 

	5. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2 authorizes the Commissioner to require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. Va. Code § 3.2-4116 requires a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law, if required by the Commissioner. VDACS will use this authority to prevent the proce
	5. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2 authorizes the Commissioner to require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. Va. Code § 3.2-4116 requires a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law, if required by the Commissioner. VDACS will use this authority to prevent the proce

	6. VDACS will offer a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level the opportunity to remediate the lot by (i) removing and destroying all flower material, while retaining stalk, stems, leaf material, or seeds or (ii) shredding the entire industrial hemp lot.  A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who elects to remediate an industrial hemp lot must obtain the services of a sampling
	6. VDACS will offer a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level the opportunity to remediate the lot by (i) removing and destroying all flower material, while retaining stalk, stems, leaf material, or seeds or (ii) shredding the entire industrial hemp lot.  A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who elects to remediate an industrial hemp lot must obtain the services of a sampling

	7. VDACS's 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines include procedures for sampling a shredded industrial hemp lot.  
	7. VDACS's 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines include procedures for sampling a shredded industrial hemp lot.  

	8. VDACS will identify laboratories that meet the requirements established in § 990.3(a)(3)(iii)(A) through (G).  Laboratories will have validated THC concentration testing methods and use gas or liquid chromatography with detection; must consider the potential conversion of delta-9 THCA into THC and produce a test result that reports the total available THC (THC + THCA) and the laboratory's measurement of uncertainty for a THC concentration test; and must determine and report total THC concentration on a d
	8. VDACS will identify laboratories that meet the requirements established in § 990.3(a)(3)(iii)(A) through (G).  Laboratories will have validated THC concentration testing methods and use gas or liquid chromatography with detection; must consider the potential conversion of delta-9 THCA into THC and produce a test result that reports the total available THC (THC + THCA) and the laboratory's measurement of uncertainty for a THC concentration test; and must determine and report total THC concentration on a d

	9. VDACS will direct Registered Industrial Hemp Growers (i) to use only those laboratories identified as meeting the requirements when obtaining the required pre-harvest testing and, if applicable, the required post-harvest retesting or (ii) to provide documentation that the laboratory, if not previously identified by VDACS, from which the grower obtains the required testing meets the requirements established in § 990.3(a)(3)(iii)(A) through (H). A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower will be responsible for t
	9. VDACS will direct Registered Industrial Hemp Growers (i) to use only those laboratories identified as meeting the requirements when obtaining the required pre-harvest testing and, if applicable, the required post-harvest retesting or (ii) to provide documentation that the laboratory, if not previously identified by VDACS, from which the grower obtains the required testing meets the requirements established in § 990.3(a)(3)(iii)(A) through (H). A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower will be responsible for t

	10. See Appendix Two for draft 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines. 
	10. See Appendix Two for draft 2022 Field Sampling Guidelines. 


	 
	 
	7 CFR 990.3(a)(4) PROCEDURE FOR NOTIFICATION AND DISPOSAL OF PLANTS OR PLANT MATERIAL THAT DO NOT MEET THE DEFINITION OF HEMP 
	⋅ State shall require testing laboratories to comply with USDA reporting requirements in Subpart F of 7 CFR Part 990.  For tests conducted to determine compliance, laboratories ⋅ Producer's license or authorization identifier; shall report the following to USDA: shall report the following to USDA: 
	⋅ State shall require testing laboratories to comply with USDA reporting requirements in Subpart F of 7 CFR Part 990.  For tests conducted to determine compliance, laboratories ⋅ Producer's license or authorization identifier; shall report the following to USDA: shall report the following to USDA: 
	⋅ State shall require testing laboratories to comply with USDA reporting requirements in Subpart F of 7 CFR Part 990.  For tests conducted to determine compliance, laboratories ⋅ Producer's license or authorization identifier; shall report the following to USDA: shall report the following to USDA: 


	 
	VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN 
	1. VDACS will identify laboratories that will meet the reporting requirements established in § 990.70(d).  Successful laboratories will indicate the ability to report the following to USDA: (i) producer's license or authorization identifier; (ii) name of producer; (iii) business address of producer; (iv) lot identification number for the sample; (v) name of laboratory; (v) date of test and report; (vi) identification of pre-harvest or post-harvest retest; and (vii) test result. 
	1. VDACS will identify laboratories that will meet the reporting requirements established in § 990.70(d).  Successful laboratories will indicate the ability to report the following to USDA: (i) producer's license or authorization identifier; (ii) name of producer; (iii) business address of producer; (iv) lot identification number for the sample; (v) name of laboratory; (v) date of test and report; (vi) identification of pre-harvest or post-harvest retest; and (vii) test result. 
	1. VDACS will identify laboratories that will meet the reporting requirements established in § 990.70(d).  Successful laboratories will indicate the ability to report the following to USDA: (i) producer's license or authorization identifier; (ii) name of producer; (iii) business address of producer; (iv) lot identification number for the sample; (v) name of laboratory; (v) date of test and report; (vi) identification of pre-harvest or post-harvest retest; and (vii) test result. 

	2. VDACS will direct Registered Industrial Hemp Growers to use only those laboratories identified as able to meet the reporting requirements.  By initialing and signing the application for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration, the applicant agrees to use such laboratories. 
	2. VDACS will direct Registered Industrial Hemp Growers to use only those laboratories identified as able to meet the reporting requirements.  By initialing and signing the application for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration, the applicant agrees to use such laboratories. 


	  
	 
	7 CFR 990.3(a)(5) PROCEDURE FOR ENFORCEMENT  
	⋅ State plan must include a procedure to comply with the enforcement procedures in 7 CFR 990.6. 
	⋅ State plan must include a procedure to comply with the enforcement procedures in 7 CFR 990.6. 
	⋅ State plan must include a procedure to comply with the enforcement procedures in 7 CFR 990.6. 

	⋅ Producer violations of USDA-approved state plans shall be subject to enforcement in accordance with the term of 7 CFR 990.6  
	⋅ Producer violations of USDA-approved state plans shall be subject to enforcement in accordance with the term of 7 CFR 990.6  

	⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(b) establishes that negligent violations shall include (i) failure to provide legal description of land; (ii) failure to obtain an authorization to produce; and (iii) production of cannabis with THC exceeding the acceptable hemp THC level. A producer does not commit a negligent violation if they make reasonable efforts to grow hemp and the cannabis does not have a total delta-9 THC concentration of more than 1.0 percent on a dry weight basis. A producer shall not receive more than one negligen
	⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(b) establishes that negligent violations shall include (i) failure to provide legal description of land; (ii) failure to obtain an authorization to produce; and (iii) production of cannabis with THC exceeding the acceptable hemp THC level. A producer does not commit a negligent violation if they make reasonable efforts to grow hemp and the cannabis does not have a total delta-9 THC concentration of more than 1.0 percent on a dry weight basis. A producer shall not receive more than one negligen

	⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(c) establishes that corrective action plans for negligent violations shall include (i) a reasonable date to correct the violation; (ii) reporting requirements for not less than two years from date of the negligent violation; (iii) violations are not subject to federal, state, tribal, or local government criminal enforcement action; (iv) that a producer who negligently violates a USDA-approved state plan three times within a five-year period is ineligible to produce hemp for a period of five ye
	⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(c) establishes that corrective action plans for negligent violations shall include (i) a reasonable date to correct the violation; (ii) reporting requirements for not less than two years from date of the negligent violation; (iii) violations are not subject to federal, state, tribal, or local government criminal enforcement action; (iv) that a producer who negligently violates a USDA-approved state plan three times within a five-year period is ineligible to produce hemp for a period of five ye

	⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(d) establishes that, when a producer’s violation is made with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, the state shall immediately report the producer to the U.S. Attorney General and the chief law enforcement officer of the state. ⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(e) establishes that states shall (i) provide for a ten-year ineligibility restriction for persons with a state or federal felony conviction relating to a controlled substance and  provide for controlled substance felony conviction exception for
	⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(d) establishes that, when a producer’s violation is made with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, the state shall immediately report the producer to the U.S. Attorney General and the chief law enforcement officer of the state. ⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(e) establishes that states shall (i) provide for a ten-year ineligibility restriction for persons with a state or federal felony conviction relating to a controlled substance and  provide for controlled substance felony conviction exception for

	⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(f) establishes that a state shall state that any person who materially falsifies any information in his application is ineligible to participate in the program. 
	⋅ 7 CFR 990.6(f) establishes that a state shall state that any person who materially falsifies any information in his application is ineligible to participate in the program. 


	 
	VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN 
	1. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2(I) authorizes the Commissioner to establish a corrective action plan to address negligent violations of the Industrial Hemp Law.   
	1. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2(I) authorizes the Commissioner to establish a corrective action plan to address negligent violations of the Industrial Hemp Law.   
	1. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2(I) authorizes the Commissioner to establish a corrective action plan to address negligent violations of the Industrial Hemp Law.   

	2. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(C) requires a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who negligently (i) fails to provide a description and geographic data sufficient for locating his production field or (ii) grows Cannabis sativa with a tetrahydrocannabinol concentration greater than that allowed by federal law to comply with any corrective action plan established by the Commissioner. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(C) prohibits the Commissioner from deeming a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower negligent if the grower makes reasonab
	2. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(C) requires a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who negligently (i) fails to provide a description and geographic data sufficient for locating his production field or (ii) grows Cannabis sativa with a tetrahydrocannabinol concentration greater than that allowed by federal law to comply with any corrective action plan established by the Commissioner. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(C) prohibits the Commissioner from deeming a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower negligent if the grower makes reasonab

	3. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(D) requires a person who grows industrial hemp and who negligently fails to register pursuant to subsection A of § 3.2-4115 to comply with any corrective action plan established by the Commissioner.  
	3. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(D) requires a person who grows industrial hemp and who negligently fails to register pursuant to subsection A of § 3.2-4115 to comply with any corrective action plan established by the Commissioner.  

	4. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(E) requires that a corrective action plan established by the Commissioner in response to a negligent violation of a provision of the Industrial Hemp Law identify a reasonable date by which the person who is the subject of the plan shall correct the negligent violation and shall require such person to report periodically for not less than two calendar years to the Commissioner on the person's compliance with the provisions of the Industrial Hemp Law. 
	4. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(E) requires that a corrective action plan established by the Commissioner in response to a negligent violation of a provision of the Industrial Hemp Law identify a reasonable date by which the person who is the subject of the plan shall correct the negligent violation and shall require such person to report periodically for not less than two calendar years to the Commissioner on the person's compliance with the provisions of the Industrial Hemp Law. 

	5. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(F) provides that no person who negligently violates the provisions of the Industrial Hemp Law three times in a five-year period shall be eligible to grow industrial hemp for a period of five years beginning on the date of the third violation. 
	5. Va. Code § 3.2-4118(F) provides that no person who negligently violates the provisions of the Industrial Hemp Law three times in a five-year period shall be eligible to grow industrial hemp for a period of five years beginning on the date of the third violation. 

	6. When a person growing industrial hemp negligently violates the Industrial Hemp Law, the Commissioner will establish a corrective action plan for that person that shall include (i) a reasonable date to correct the violation and (ii) reporting requirements for not less than two years from date of the negligent violation. VDACS will conduct inspections to determine if the corrective action plan has been implemented. 
	6. When a person growing industrial hemp negligently violates the Industrial Hemp Law, the Commissioner will establish a corrective action plan for that person that shall include (i) a reasonable date to correct the violation and (ii) reporting requirements for not less than two years from date of the negligent violation. VDACS will conduct inspections to determine if the corrective action plan has been implemented. 

	7. VDACS will not refer negligent violations of the Industrial Hemp Law to federal, state, tribal, or local government criminal enforcement authorities for action. 
	7. VDACS will not refer negligent violations of the Industrial Hemp Law to federal, state, tribal, or local government criminal enforcement authorities for action. 

	8. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2(G) requires the Commissioner to advise the Superintendent of State Police or the chief law-enforcement officer of the appropriate county or city when, with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, a grower grows any cannabis with a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. VDACS will advise the U.S. Attorney General and the Superintendent of State Police when, with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, a grower grows any cannabis with a THC conce
	8. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2(G) requires the Commissioner to advise the Superintendent of State Police or the chief law-enforcement officer of the appropriate county or city when, with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, a grower grows any cannabis with a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. VDACS will advise the U.S. Attorney General and the Superintendent of State Police when, with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, a grower grows any cannabis with a THC conce

	10. VDACS will require that applicants for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration submit a state and federal criminal history report at the time of application. If the applicant for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration is a business entity, VDACS will require that all key participants (i.e., a sole proprietor, a partner in a partnership, or a person with executive managerial control in a corporation) in the business submit a state and federal criminal history report at the time of application.  
	10. VDACS will require that applicants for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration submit a state and federal criminal history report at the time of application. If the applicant for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration is a business entity, VDACS will require that all key participants (i.e., a sole proprietor, a partner in a partnership, or a person with executive managerial control in a corporation) in the business submit a state and federal criminal history report at the time of application.  

	11. Va. Code § 3.2-4115 establishes the information that must be included in an application for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration.  Failure to provide this information via a false statement violates the requirements in Va. Code § 3.2-4115, and Va. Code § 3.2-4118(A) requires the Commissioner to deny the application of a person who, with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, violates a provision of the Industrial Hemp Law.  
	11. Va. Code § 3.2-4115 establishes the information that must be included in an application for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration.  Failure to provide this information via a false statement violates the requirements in Va. Code § 3.2-4115, and Va. Code § 3.2-4118(A) requires the Commissioner to deny the application of a person who, with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, violates a provision of the Industrial Hemp Law.  


	 
	 
	7 CFR 990.3(a)(6) DISPOSAL OR REMEDIATION 
	⋅ State plan must include a procedure for the disposal or remediation of cannabis plants if the sample representing that plant tests above the acceptable hemp THC level. 
	⋅ State plan must include a procedure for the disposal or remediation of cannabis plants if the sample representing that plant tests above the acceptable hemp THC level. 
	⋅ State plan must include a procedure for the disposal or remediation of cannabis plants if the sample representing that plant tests above the acceptable hemp THC level. 

	⋅ Disposal must be conducted by DEA-registered reverse distributor or law enforcement or at the farm or production facility. 
	⋅ Disposal must be conducted by DEA-registered reverse distributor or law enforcement or at the farm or production facility. 

	⋅ State plan must include procedure to verify the disposal or remediation of the cannabis. 
	⋅ State plan must include procedure to verify the disposal or remediation of the cannabis. 

	⋅ If remediation is performed, the post-remediated crop must be sampled and tested to determine its THC concentration. 
	⋅ If remediation is performed, the post-remediated crop must be sampled and tested to determine its THC concentration. 


	 
	VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN 
	1. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2 authorizes the Commissioner to require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. Va. Code § 3.2-4116 requires a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. VDACS will use this authority to prevent the processing or entering into the stream
	1. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2 authorizes the Commissioner to require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. Va. Code § 3.2-4116 requires a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. VDACS will use this authority to prevent the processing or entering into the stream
	1. Va. Code § 3.2-4114.2 authorizes the Commissioner to require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. Va. Code § 3.2-4116 requires a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower to destroy any Cannabis sativa that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than that allowed by federal law. VDACS will use this authority to prevent the processing or entering into the stream

	2. VDACS will offer a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level the opportunity to remediate the lot by (i) removing and destroying all flower material, while retaining stalk, stems, leaf material, or seeds or (ii) shredding the entire industrial hemp lot.  A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who elects to remediate an industrial hemp lot must obtain the services of a sampling
	2. VDACS will offer a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level the opportunity to remediate the lot by (i) removing and destroying all flower material, while retaining stalk, stems, leaf material, or seeds or (ii) shredding the entire industrial hemp lot.  A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower who elects to remediate an industrial hemp lot must obtain the services of a sampling

	4. VDACS will verify remediation by reviewing the test result of the sample collected from the remediated industrial hemp lot. 
	4. VDACS will verify remediation by reviewing the test result of the sample collected from the remediated industrial hemp lot. 

	5. The Commissioner will require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level who declines the opportunity to remediate the industrial hemp lot to destroy all plant material in the lot. A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower shall complete this destruction by burning, plowing under, mulching, or disking the lot.  
	5. The Commissioner will require a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level who declines the opportunity to remediate the industrial hemp lot to destroy all plant material in the lot. A Registered Industrial Hemp Grower shall complete this destruction by burning, plowing under, mulching, or disking the lot.  

	6. VDACS will verify destruction of a noncompliant lot by directing a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level to submit to VDACS (i) a photograph of the lot before the destruction and (ii) a photograph of the lot after the destruction.   
	6. VDACS will verify destruction of a noncompliant lot by directing a Registered Industrial Hemp Grower with an industrial hemp lot that has been tested and found to have a THC concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level to submit to VDACS (i) a photograph of the lot before the destruction and (ii) a photograph of the lot after the destruction.   

	7. VDACS will submit a monthly report notifying USDA of any occurrence of non-conforming plants or plant material and providing a disposal or remediation record of those plants and materials, as required by 7 CFR 990.70(b). 
	7. VDACS will submit a monthly report notifying USDA of any occurrence of non-conforming plants or plant material and providing a disposal or remediation record of those plants and materials, as required by 7 CFR 990.70(b). 


	 
	 
	7 CFR 990.3(a)(7) ANNUAL INSPECTION 
	⋅ Procedure for conducting annual inspections of, at a minimum, a random group of producers to verify that hemp is not produced in violation of 7 CFR Part 990. 
	⋅ Procedure for conducting annual inspections of, at a minimum, a random group of producers to verify that hemp is not produced in violation of 7 CFR Part 990. 
	⋅ Procedure for conducting annual inspections of, at a minimum, a random group of producers to verify that hemp is not produced in violation of 7 CFR Part 990. 


	 
	VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN 
	1. Section 3.2-4114.2 of the Law authorizes the Commissioner to monitor and randomly sample and test industrial hemp, at the cost of the grower, for compliance with tetrahydrocannabinol limits.  This section also authorizes the Commissioner to inspect and sample industrial hemp at any production field during normal business hours without advance notice if the Commissioner has reason to believe a violation of the Law is occurring or has occurred. 
	1. Section 3.2-4114.2 of the Law authorizes the Commissioner to monitor and randomly sample and test industrial hemp, at the cost of the grower, for compliance with tetrahydrocannabinol limits.  This section also authorizes the Commissioner to inspect and sample industrial hemp at any production field during normal business hours without advance notice if the Commissioner has reason to believe a violation of the Law is occurring or has occurred. 
	1. Section 3.2-4114.2 of the Law authorizes the Commissioner to monitor and randomly sample and test industrial hemp, at the cost of the grower, for compliance with tetrahydrocannabinol limits.  This section also authorizes the Commissioner to inspect and sample industrial hemp at any production field during normal business hours without advance notice if the Commissioner has reason to believe a violation of the Law is occurring or has occurred. 

	2. VDACS will conduct random inspections of Registered Industrial Hemp Growers annually. 
	2. VDACS will conduct random inspections of Registered Industrial Hemp Growers annually. 


	 
	 
	7 CFR 990.3(a)(8) PROCEDURE FOR SUBMITTING INFORMATION TO USDA 
	⋅ Procedure for submitting the information described in 7 CFR 990.70 to the Secretary by the first of the month in a format compatible with USDA's information sharing system. ⋅ 7 CFR 990.70(a) requires a state to submit by the first of each month a report providing the contact information and status of the authorization to grow for each producer. 
	⋅ Procedure for submitting the information described in 7 CFR 990.70 to the Secretary by the first of the month in a format compatible with USDA's information sharing system. ⋅ 7 CFR 990.70(a) requires a state to submit by the first of each month a report providing the contact information and status of the authorization to grow for each producer. 
	⋅ Procedure for submitting the information described in 7 CFR 990.70 to the Secretary by the first of the month in a format compatible with USDA's information sharing system. ⋅ 7 CFR 990.70(a) requires a state to submit by the first of each month a report providing the contact information and status of the authorization to grow for each producer. 

	⋅ 7 CFR 990.70(b) requires a state to submit by the first of each month a report notifying USDA of any occurrence of non-conforming plants or plant material and providing a disposal or remediation record of those plants and materials.   
	⋅ 7 CFR 990.70(b) requires a state to submit by the first of each month a report notifying USDA of any occurrence of non-conforming plants or plant material and providing a disposal or remediation record of those plants and materials.   

	⋅ 7 CFR 990.70(c) requires a state to submit an annual report by December 15 regarding total planted, harvested, and disposed of and remediated acreage. 
	⋅ 7 CFR 990.70(c) requires a state to submit an annual report by December 15 regarding total planted, harvested, and disposed of and remediated acreage. 

	⋅ 7 CFR 990.70(d) requires producers to ensure that test results are submitted to USDA. 
	⋅ 7 CFR 990.70(d) requires producers to ensure that test results are submitted to USDA. 


	 
	VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN 
	1. VDACS will submit all required reports required by 7 CFR 990.70 by the first of each month or by December 15, as required by 7 CFR 990.70. 
	1. VDACS will submit all required reports required by 7 CFR 990.70 by the first of each month or by December 15, as required by 7 CFR 990.70. 
	1. VDACS will submit all required reports required by 7 CFR 990.70 by the first of each month or by December 15, as required by 7 CFR 990.70. 

	2. VDACS will direct producers to ensure that their testing laboratory submits their test results to USDA. 
	2. VDACS will direct producers to ensure that their testing laboratory submits their test results to USDA. 


	 
	 
	7 CFR 990.3(a)(9) CERTIFICATION REGARDING RESOURCES 
	⋅ Certification that the state has resources and personnel to carry out the practices and procedures described in 7 CFR 990.3(a)(1) through 7 CFR 990.3(a)(9). 
	⋅ Certification that the state has resources and personnel to carry out the practices and procedures described in 7 CFR 990.3(a)(1) through 7 CFR 990.3(a)(9). 
	⋅ Certification that the state has resources and personnel to carry out the practices and procedures described in 7 CFR 990.3(a)(1) through 7 CFR 990.3(a)(9). 


	 
	VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN 
	1. VDACS currently has one filled full-time equivalent (FTE) designated to support the industrial hemp registration program and two vacant FTEs designated to support the industrial hemp registration program.  In an effort to transition the industrial hemp registration program to a self-supporting program, in 2020, the Virginia General Assembly increased the industrial hemp registration application fees and decreased to $32,735 the general fund appropriation that VDACS receives to support the industrial hemp
	1. VDACS currently has one filled full-time equivalent (FTE) designated to support the industrial hemp registration program and two vacant FTEs designated to support the industrial hemp registration program.  In an effort to transition the industrial hemp registration program to a self-supporting program, in 2020, the Virginia General Assembly increased the industrial hemp registration application fees and decreased to $32,735 the general fund appropriation that VDACS receives to support the industrial hemp
	1. VDACS currently has one filled full-time equivalent (FTE) designated to support the industrial hemp registration program and two vacant FTEs designated to support the industrial hemp registration program.  In an effort to transition the industrial hemp registration program to a self-supporting program, in 2020, the Virginia General Assembly increased the industrial hemp registration application fees and decreased to $32,735 the general fund appropriation that VDACS receives to support the industrial hemp

	2. VDACS plans to utilize existing resources to administer the industrial hemp registration program, including the registration of industrial hemp growers as outlined in this Plan, and to perform the necessary enforcement activities and reporting requirements prescribed in USDA's Domestic Hemp Production Program regulation.  
	2. VDACS plans to utilize existing resources to administer the industrial hemp registration program, including the registration of industrial hemp growers as outlined in this Plan, and to perform the necessary enforcement activities and reporting requirements prescribed in USDA's Domestic Hemp Production Program regulation.  

	3. Registered Industrial Hemp Growers will be responsible for the cost of required sampling, testing, and destruction.  
	3. Registered Industrial Hemp Growers will be responsible for the cost of required sampling, testing, and destruction.  


	 
	 
	7 CFR 990.3(a)(10) PROCEDURE TO SHARE INFORMATION WITH USDA 
	⋅ State plan must include a procedure to require producers to share hemp lot acreage with USDA’s Farm Service Agency; a procedure to assign producers an authorization identifier that is in a format prescribed by USDA; and a procedure to require producers to report to the state the total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed of or remediated and by which the state will collect and report this data to USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service. 
	⋅ State plan must include a procedure to require producers to share hemp lot acreage with USDA’s Farm Service Agency; a procedure to assign producers an authorization identifier that is in a format prescribed by USDA; and a procedure to require producers to report to the state the total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed of or remediated and by which the state will collect and report this data to USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service. 
	⋅ State plan must include a procedure to require producers to share hemp lot acreage with USDA’s Farm Service Agency; a procedure to assign producers an authorization identifier that is in a format prescribed by USDA; and a procedure to require producers to report to the state the total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed of or remediated and by which the state will collect and report this data to USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service. 


	 
	VIRGINIA REGULATORY PLAN 
	1. VDACS’s Industrial Hemp Grower Registration application materials will direct growers to report their hemp lot acreage to FSA.  By initialing and signing the application for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration, the applicant agrees to submit this report. 2. VDACS will format Industrial Hemp Grower Registration numbers in accordance with the format prescribed by USDA. 
	1. VDACS’s Industrial Hemp Grower Registration application materials will direct growers to report their hemp lot acreage to FSA.  By initialing and signing the application for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration, the applicant agrees to submit this report. 2. VDACS will format Industrial Hemp Grower Registration numbers in accordance with the format prescribed by USDA. 
	1. VDACS’s Industrial Hemp Grower Registration application materials will direct growers to report their hemp lot acreage to FSA.  By initialing and signing the application for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration, the applicant agrees to submit this report. 2. VDACS will format Industrial Hemp Grower Registration numbers in accordance with the format prescribed by USDA. 

	3. VDACS will submit all required reports required by 7 CFR 990.70, including the total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed of or remediated. 
	3. VDACS will submit all required reports required by 7 CFR 990.70, including the total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed of or remediated. 


	 
	 
	 

	VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES OFFICE OF POLICY, PLANNING, AND RESEARCH 
	VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES OFFICE OF POLICY, PLANNING, AND RESEARCH 
	P.O. Box 526 ⋅ Richmond, VA 23218 
	804-786-1241 ⋅  
	www.vdacs.virginia.gov

	 
	 INDUSTRIAL HEMP GROWER REGISTRATION APPLICATION 
	--- 
	OPPR-200 (Rev. xx/2022) 
	 
	The annual Industrial Hemp Grower Registration application fee is $150.  Please make a check for $150 payable to Treasurer of Virginia and mail your check and application materials to the address above. 
	SECTION ONE – APPLICANT IDENTIFICATION 
	Do you currently have an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration?            Yes ☐         No ☐ 
	If yes, please provide your registration number and its expiration date: 
	Artifact
	Artifact
	Do not complete both Section 1-A and Section 1-B. 
	 
	Artifact
	SECTION 1-A.  Please complete Section 1-A if you are applying as an individual.  
	Artifact
	Applicant Name: 
	Artifact
	 
	Artifact
	Physical Address Where Applicant Resides: 
	Artifact
	 
	Artifact
	 
	Artifact
	Mailing Address: 
	Artifact
	 
	Artifact
	 
	Artifact
	Telephone Number: 
	Artifact
	 
	Artifact
	Email Address: 
	Artifact
	 
	SECTION 1-B.  Please complete Section 1-B if you are applying on behalf of a business.    NOTE: The business will be the registered grower and the registration will be issued in the name of the business entity.  A “key participant” is a sole proprietor, a partner in a partnership, or a person with executive managerial control in a corporation, including the chief executive officer, the chief operating officer, or the chief financial officer. Please attach an additional sheet if the business has more than fo
	SECTION TWO – CRIMINAL HISTORY 
	 A Virginia State Police criminal history record check and an FBI Identity History Summary must be completed and attached to the Industrial Hemp Grower Registration Application upon submission. If applying on behalf of a business entity, a Virginia State Police criminal history record check and an FBI Identity History Summary must be completed and attached for all key participants. The applicant is solely responsible for all associated criminal background check fees.    
	NOTE: An individual with a felony controlled substance conviction within 10 years of the application date is not eligible for an Industrial Hemp Grower Registration.  
	☐ I have attached a Virginia State Police criminal history record check and an FBI Identity History Summary for myself.  
	☐ I am applying on behalf of a business entity and have attached a Virginia State Police criminal history record check and an FBI Identity History Summary for all key participants. 
	SECTION THREE – INDUSTRIAL HEMP LOT(S) 
	“Lot” means a contiguous area in a field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure containing the same variety or strain of cannabis throughout the area. 
	Please identify the lot(s) on which you plan to grow industrial hemp.  Please attach an additional sheet if you plan to grow industrial hemp on more than two lots.   
	NOTE: Failure to submit an application with completed lot information will result in delay of processing. If you are unsure how to obtain the coordinates for your lot(s) or storage site(s), please visit our  and access the “.” 
	website
	Coordinate Location Guide

	Lot 1  Acres/Square Feet Coordinates (for center of field, in Decimal Degrees) (Ex.37.123456, -77.123456)    Physical Address/Location   
	Lot 2  Acres/Square Feet Coordinates (for center of field, in Decimal Degrees) (Ex.37.123456, -77.123456)    Physical Address/Location   
	If you plan to store raw hemp material, please identify the location of the storage site. Please attach an additional sheet if you plan to store industrial hemp at more than two storage sites.   
	Artifact
	Artifact
	Coordinates (storage site location, in Decimal Degrees) (Ex.37.123456, -77.123456) 
	Artifact
	Physical Address/Location 
	Storage Site 2  Square Feet Coordinates (storage site location, in Decimal Degrees) (Ex.37.123456, -77.123456)    Physical Address/Location   
	Please indicate your anticipated planting date(s). 
	Please indicate your anticipated harvest date(s). 
	SECTION FOUR - AGENTS 
	 
	The Virginia Industrial Hemp Law provides that it is lawful for a grower or his agent to grow industrial hemp in the Commonwealth for any lawful purpose and that no grower or his agent shall be prosecuted under Chapter 11 (§ 4.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia or §§ 18.2-247, 18.2-248, 18.2-248.01, 18.2-248.1, or 18.2-250 for the possession or growing of industrial hemp.   
	 
	Please provide the names of the individuals you expect will be your agents for the purpose of growing hemp under the Virginia Industrial Hemp Law on the lot(s) listed in this application. 
	 
	Table
	TR
	TH
	Artifact
	Full Name of Potential Agents 


	 
	 
	 


	 
	 
	 


	 
	 
	 


	 
	 
	 



	NOTE: Registered growers may wish to provide the “Agent Documentation” form available on the VDACS website to each person they intend to serve as their agent for the limited purpose of growing industrial hemp. You do not need to submit this form to VDACS. 
	SECTION FIVE - NOTICES AND AFFIRMATIONS 
	By initialing and signing below, the applicant acknowledges that the applicant has read and agrees to the following: 
	• VDACS will forward a record of each Industrial Hemp Grower Registration issued by the Commissioner to the chief law enforcement officer of the locality in which the registered grower will grow industrial hemp. 
	• VDACS will forward a record of each Industrial Hemp Grower Registration issued by the Commissioner to the chief law enforcement officer of the locality in which the registered grower will grow industrial hemp. 
	• VDACS will forward a record of each Industrial Hemp Grower Registration issued by the Commissioner to the chief law enforcement officer of the locality in which the registered grower will grow industrial hemp. 

	• VDACS will notify the Superintendent of State Police of the locations of all industrial hemp lots. 
	• VDACS will notify the Superintendent of State Police of the locations of all industrial hemp lots. 

	• All records, data, and information filed in support of a registration application shall be considered proprietary and excluded from the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act.  
	• All records, data, and information filed in support of a registration application shall be considered proprietary and excluded from the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act.  

	•  Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall submit an Industrial Hemp Planting Report (i) within 14 calendar days following the first day of each planting or (ii) by July 31 for registered lots upon which industrial hemp will not be planted.  
	•  Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall submit an Industrial Hemp Planting Report (i) within 14 calendar days following the first day of each planting or (ii) by July 31 for registered lots upon which industrial hemp will not be planted.  

	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall submit an Industrial Hemp Harvest Report within five calendar days following the harvest of an industrial hemp lot. 
	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall submit an Industrial Hemp Harvest Report within five calendar days following the harvest of an industrial hemp lot. 

	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall report the following to the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA). 
	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall report the following to the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA). 

	• Hemp crop acreage 
	• Hemp crop acreage 

	• Reporting total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed or remediated 
	• Reporting total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed or remediated 

	• Registration number 
	• Registration number 

	• Street address 
	• Street address 

	• Geospatial location(s) of each lot or greenhouse where hemp will be produced 
	• Geospatial location(s) of each lot or greenhouse where hemp will be produced 

	• Acreage of greenhouse or indoor square footage dedicated to the production of hemp 
	• Acreage of greenhouse or indoor square footage dedicated to the production of hemp 

	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall not harvest or place into the stream of commerce any industrial hemp grown that has not been tested and determined to have an acceptable industrial hemp THC level.  
	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers shall not harvest or place into the stream of commerce any industrial hemp grown that has not been tested and determined to have an acceptable industrial hemp THC level.  

	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers must obtain the services of a sampling agent who will collect a representative sample from each industrial hemp lot.  
	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers must obtain the services of a sampling agent who will collect a representative sample from each industrial hemp lot.  

	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers must allow a sampling agent to have complete and unrestricted access during business hours to all industrial hemp and other cannabis plants and to all land, buildings, and other structures used for cultivation, handling, and storage of all industrial hemp and other cannabis plants and all locations listed on the grower registration. 
	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers must allow a sampling agent to have complete and unrestricted access during business hours to all industrial hemp and other cannabis plants and to all land, buildings, and other structures used for cultivation, handling, and storage of all industrial hemp and other cannabis plants and all locations listed on the grower registration. 

	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers must obtain the services of a testing laboratory that will (i) analyze the Total THC concentration of each representative sample collected by the sampling agent and (ii) submit its test results directly to USDA. 
	• Registered Industrial Hemp Growers must obtain the services of a testing laboratory that will (i) analyze the Total THC concentration of each representative sample collected by the sampling agent and (ii) submit its test results directly to USDA. 


	 
	I hereby affirm that, to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief, I have made no misrepresentation on this application or failed to disclose any information requested on this application.   
	 
	I affirm that I am authorized to give consent to enter the above-described lots(s) and I hereby consent to the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, local law enforcement officials, or the Virginia Department of State Police entering the above-described lot(s) and storage site(s) to conduct physical inspections of the industrial hemp to ensure compliance with the requirements of the Virginia Industrial Hemp Law (Va. Code § 3.2-4112 et seq.).  
	 
	   Signature  Date    Print Name   

	2022 Guidelines for Field Sampling of Industrial Hemp 
	2022 Guidelines for Field Sampling of Industrial Hemp 
	 
	Summary  
	 
	These guidelines establish the procedure for entering an industrial hemp lot and collecting a plant sample that is representative of the industrial hemp lot. The guidelines also establish the procedure for collecting a representative sample of remediated biomass.   
	 
	The goal of this sampling protocol is to ensure at a confidence level of 95 percent that no more than one percent of the plants in each lot will exceed the acceptable industrial hemp tetrahydrocannabinol level and ensure that a sample is collected that represents a homogeneous composition of the lot. 
	 
	This practice does not purport to address all of the safety concerns, if any, associated with its use. The user of this standard shall exercise caution and follow applicable safety and health practices. 
	 
	Terminology 
	 
	“Department” means the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 
	 
	“Grower” means a person registered pursuant to subsection A of Va. Code § 3.2-4115 to grow industrial hemp. 
	 
	 “Lot” means a contiguous area in a field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure containing the same variety or strain of cannabis throughout the area. 
	 
	“Remediated biomass” means the flowers, buds, trichomes, leaves, stalks, seed, and all plant parts of noncompliant hemp plants from the same lot that have been shredded.  
	 
	“Sample” means the combined total number of specimens taken from industrial hemp plants in the lot. 
	 
	“Sample specimen” or “specimen” means the inflorescence of the industrial hemp plant. 
	 
	“Sampling agent” means a person (i) who has completed the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s sampling agent training and submitted documentation of completion of this training to the department and (ii) who is listed on the department-maintained list of sampling agents available on the department’s website. 
	 
	“Stand” means a group or growth of industrial hemp. 
	 
	“THC” means total delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol. 
	 
	Recommended equipment and supplies for sampling 
	a. Garden pruners 
	a. Garden pruners 
	a. Garden pruners 

	b. Paper sample bags   
	b. Paper sample bags   

	c. Staples or security tape to seal the bags 
	c. Staples or security tape to seal the bags 

	d. Permanent markers 
	d. Permanent markers 

	e. Sample collection forms that include a chain of custody form 
	e. Sample collection forms that include a chain of custody form 

	f. GPS unit or other tool to determine GPS location 
	f. GPS unit or other tool to determine GPS location 

	g. Disinfectant for tools 
	g. Disinfectant for tools 

	h. Disposable gloves 
	h. Disposable gloves 


	 
	Procedure to Sample an Industrial Hemp Lot 
	 
	A sampling agent will enter a lot, strategically examine it, establish an approach for navigating the lot, and collect individual specimens from plants in order to obtain a representative sample of industrial hemp in the lot.  Because test methodology requires small aliquots of material, care must be taken to provide samples that accurately reflect the entirety of the growing area. 
	 
	1. The grower or his agent shall accompany the sampling agent throughout the sampling process, if possible. 
	 
	2. The sampling agent shall verify the GPS coordinates of the lot as compared with the GPS coordinates on the grower’s registration.  Record GPS coordinates of the lot on the sample collection form. 
	 
	3. The sampling agent shall visually establish the homogeneity of the stand to establish that the lot is of like variety. 
	 
	4. The sample must be collected within the 30 days prior to the anticipated date of harvest. 
	 
	5. Each variety or cultivar must be sampled separately.   
	 
	6. To sample a grower engaged in clone production, sample the mother plants, when in flower.   
	 
	7. For lots of four acres or less, select four plants for cuttings to form a composite sample. 
	 
	8. For lots larger than 10 acres, the number of plants that will be selected to form a composite sample is based upon the Codex Alimentarius Recommended Methods of Sampling for the Determination of Pesticide Residues for Compliance with MRLS CAC/GL 33-1999. 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 Table I. Total samples to be taken per number of acres 
	 
	N - Lot, acres  
	N - Lot, acres  
	N - Lot, acres  
	N - Lot, acres  

	Total Clippings 
	Total Clippings 


	1 
	1 
	1 

	4 
	4 


	2 
	2 
	2 

	4 
	4 


	3 
	3 
	3 

	4 
	4 


	4 
	4 
	4 

	4 
	4 


	5 
	5 
	5 

	5 
	5 


	6 
	6 
	6 

	6 
	6 


	7 
	7 
	7 

	7 
	7 


	8 
	8 
	8 

	8 
	8 


	9 
	9 
	9 

	9 
	9 


	10 
	10 
	10 

	10 
	10 


	15 
	15 
	15 

	15 
	15 


	20 
	20 
	20 

	18 
	18 


	25 
	25 
	25 

	24 
	24 


	30 
	30 
	30 

	28 
	28 


	35 
	35 
	35 

	32 
	32 


	40 
	40 
	40 

	36 
	36 


	45 
	45 
	45 

	40 
	40 


	50 
	50 
	50 

	43 
	43 


	75 
	75 
	75 

	60 
	60 


	100 
	100 
	100 

	75 
	75 



	 
	9. When collecting samples from each lot, if possible, walk through the plants to randomly sample throughout the lot.  If the stand is so dense that walking through it is not possible, walk access roads, drainage ditches, or other accessible paths that allow penetration into the stand for sampling away from the edge and for detection of plant growth differences. 
	 
	10. While walking through the lot, the sampling agent shall cut inflorescences at random but convenient distances.  Avoid collecting sample specimens from the borders of the lot. When sampling floral varieties of hemp, sample from female plants only.   
	 
	                
	Figure
	Figure

	 
	11. The cut shall be made so as to collect approximately five to eight inches in length from the main stem, terminal bud, or central cola. 
	         
	Figure

	 
	12. Record the sample number. The samples shall be identified using the following system for assigning sample numbering:  
	The sample number consists of: 
	Industrial Hemp Grower Registration number (51-2022-xxx), sample number (xx) (starts with “01” and increases sequentially by one for each sample).   
	 
	Example of Sample Number:      
	  
	Grower Registration#  Sequential Sample#  
	 
	  51_2022-001       01   
	  
	 Record as: 51_2022-001-01 
	 
	 
	13. Each sample bag must state the following information: 
	Grower name and registration number 
	Sample Number 
	Date 
	Sampling agent name 
	 
	14. Seal sample bag with labels, tape, or staples or security tape. 
	 
	15. Complete Industrial Hemp Sample Collection Form provided by or approved by the department.  Obtain signatures of the grower or responsible authority or agent.   
	 
	16. Samples must be stored in an area that is locked and secure.  Freeze samples if holding them for a day or more before delivering to the testing laboratory.   
	 
	17. Clean tools between samples.  Wear disposable gloves or clean hands between samples. 
	 
	SAMPLE QUANTITY  
	 
	The volume of plant material selected should reflect the size and volume of material being grown.  
	 
	For very small plantings where individual or very limited numbers of plants of a variety are present, a minimum of two ounces (oz.) of plant material is required. The two-oz. sample may be used in cases where breeding projects are being inspected.  
	 
	Procedure to Sample Remediated Biomass 
	 
	1. The grower or his agent shall accompany the sampling agent throughout the sampling process, if possible. 
	 
	2. The sampling agent shall collect a representative sample of the remediated biomass.  The sampling agent should collect biomass material from various depths, locations, and containers in the labeled and demarcated area to collect a representative sample of the material.  
	 
	3.  The sampling agent shall collect, at a minimum, three standard measuring cups of biomass material.   A sampling agent may collect more biomass material based on the requirements of the testing laboratory.  If three standard measuring cups of biomass is not available, the sampling agent should collect enough biomass for a representative sample.  
	 
	4. Record the sample number on the Industrial Hemp Sample Collection Form. The samples shall be identified using the following system for assigning sample numbering:  
	The sample number consists of: 
	‘REMED,’ Industrial Hemp Grower Registration number (51_2022-xxx), sample number (xx) (starts with “01” and increases sequentially by one for each sample).   
	 
	Example of Sample Number:      
	Remediation Indicator Grower Registration#  Sequential Sample#  
	REMED     51_2022-001        01   
	  
	 Record as: REMED-51_2022-001-01 
	 
	 
	5. Each sample bag must state the following information: 
	Grower name and registration number 
	Sample Number 
	Date 
	Sampling agent name 
	 
	6. Seal sample bag with labels, tape, or staples or security tape. 
	 
	7. Complete Industrial Hemp Sample Collection Form provided by or approved by the department.  Obtain signatures of the grower or responsible authority or designee.   
	 
	8. Samples must be stored in an area that is locked and secure.  Freeze samples if holding them for a day or more before delivering to the testing laboratory.   
	 
	9.  Clean tools between samples.  Wear disposable gloves or clean hands between samples. 
	  
	INDUSTRIAL HEMP SAMPLE COLLECTION AND CHAIN OF CUSTODY FORM 
	One form per sample 
	 Registration Grower Number:       Name:       Mailing Sample Number:       Address:       Collection Date:              Approximate Area:  (AC or Crop Square Feet)       Address:       Sample Weight (Lab only):              Grower Name:           Grower Print Name        Phone:       Grower Signature:       Date:    
	Development Stage:   Not flowering/Flowering/ Seed head   Grown for:  Fiber or Grain or Floral Variety Sampled:        From Permit:              Sample Location From GPS Coordinates          Inspection:            Additional Comments:               
	Sample Collected By:              Sampling Agent Print Name:        Signature:                       
	SUBMITTER DESCRIPTION Include the number of containers and a physical description of each sample submitted for testing  Example: 1 paper bag with 4 tips                                            
	 
	 
	 
	 

	LABORATORY CHAIN OF CUSTODY FORM  
	LABORATORY CHAIN OF CUSTODY FORM  


	 
	 
	 

	Chain of Custody:  Persons relinquishing and receiving evidence must provide their signature, organization, and date/time to document evidence transfers. Submitter, start with box number 1.  
	Chain of Custody:  Persons relinquishing and receiving evidence must provide their signature, organization, and date/time to document evidence transfers. Submitter, start with box number 1.  


	Relinquished By (Submitter) 
	Relinquished By (Submitter) 
	Relinquished By (Submitter) 

	Organization 
	Organization 

	Date/Time 
	Date/Time 

	Received by 
	Received by 

	Organization 
	Organization 

	Date/Time 
	Date/Time 


	Signature: 
	Signature: 
	Signature: 

	 
	 

	 
	 

	Signature: 
	Signature: 

	 
	 

	 
	 


	TR
	Artifact
	 
	 

	  
	  

	  
	  


	TR
	Artifact
	 
	 

	Print Name: 
	Print Name: 

	Print Name: 
	Print Name: 


	TR
	Artifact
	 
	 

	  
	  

	Sealed:  [ ] Yes   [ ] No 
	Sealed:  [ ] Yes   [ ] No 


	Relinquished By (Submitter) 
	Relinquished By (Submitter) 
	Relinquished By (Submitter) 

	Organization 
	Organization 

	Date/Time 
	Date/Time 

	Received by 
	Received by 

	Organization 
	Organization 

	Date/Time 
	Date/Time 


	Signature: 
	Signature: 
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