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Industrial Hemp Production Plan 

I. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

A. Authority and Purpose 

Pursuant to 7 C.F.R. 990.2, states which seek to have primary authority over the 
regulation and production of hemp in their jurisdiction must complete a state plan for 
review and approval by the United States Department of Agriculture (hereinafter 
"USDA"). This document serves as the Utah Department of Agriculture's (hereinafter 
"Department" or "UDAF") submission of its state industrial hemp production plan in 
compliance with 7 C.F.R. 990.2. The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food adopts 
this plan under the authority of the Utah Hemp and Cannabinoid Act (4-41) effective 14 
May 2019 and establishes Administrative Rule 68-24 for the purpose of regulation, 
licensure, and enforcement of the cultivation and production of industrial hemp. 

B. Definitions 

The following words and terms shall have the following meanings: 

Acceptable Industrial Hemp THC Level- a total composite tetrahydrocannabinol 
concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis if laboratory testing 
confirms a result within a measurement of uncertainty that includes the total composite 
tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of 0.3 percent. 

Cannabis-all parts of the cannabis plant, whether growing or not, including its seeds, 
resin, compounds, salts, derivatives, and extracts. 

CBD-cannabidiol. 

Certificate of Analysis ("COA")-an official document issued by a laboratory approved 
by UDAF which includes, along with other sample information, the unique sample 
number and THC level test results of the submitted sample. 

Community Location-a public or private elementary or secondary school, a church, a 
public library, a public playground, or a public park. 



Controlled Substances Act ("CSA")-The Controlled Substances Act as codified in 21 
U.S.C. 801 et seq. 

DEA-United States Drug Enforcement Administration. 

Delta-9-THC ("THC")---delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol concentration. 

Delta-9-THC A ("THC-A")---delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinolic acid. 

Department-Utah Department of Agriculture and Food 

Destruction Report-an official document issued by UDAF that must be completed by a 
licensed grower of industrial hemp and submitted to UDAF prior to destruction of any 
industrial hemp field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure. 

FSA-Farm Service Agency 

GPS-Global Positioning System. 

Growing Area-a contiguous area on which hemp is grown whether inside or outside 

Handle/Handling-the action of cultivating or storing hemp plants or hemp plant parts 
prior to the delivery of the plants or plant parts for processing. 

Harvesting-removing industrial hemp plants from final growing condition and physically 
or mechanically preparing plant material for storage or wholesale. 

Harvest Report-an official document issued by UDAF that must be completed by 
a licensed grower of industrial hemp and submitted to UDAF prior to harvest of 
any industrial hemp field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure. 

Industrial Hemp-the plant Cannabis sativa L. and any part of that plant, including the 
seeds thereof and all derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, salts, and salts of 
isomers, whether growing or not, with a THC concentration of not more than 0.3 percent 
on a dry weight basis. 

Industrial Hemp Plant Parts-any floral buds, leaves, roots, seeds, stalks, or stems of the 
plant Cannabis sativa L. with a THC concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry 
weight basis. 

Industrial Hemp Products-products derived from, or made by, processing industrial hemp 
plants or plant parts. 

Key Participants-any person who has a financial interest in the business entity including 
but not limited to, members of a limited liability company, a sole proprietor, partners in a 
partnership, and incorporators or directors of a corporation. A key participant also 



includes persons at executive levels including but not limited to chief executive officer, 
chief operating officer, chief financial officer. Key participants are also operation 
managers and site managers, or any employee who may present risk of diversion. 

Law Enforcement Agency-the Utah State Police, DEA, or other federal, state, or local 
law enforcement agency or drug suppression unit. 

License Application-a document executed by a person and UDAF authorizing the person 
to grow, handle, store, or transport industrial hemp at one or more specified locations in 
Utah under the terms set forth in this plan or Administrative Rule 68-24 

Licensed Grower-a person possessing a license issued by UDAF under the authority of 
Administrative Rule 68-24 and this plan to grow, cultivate, or handle industrial hemp. 

Licensee-any person possessing a grower or processor license issued by UDAF under the 
authority of this Plan and Administrative Rule 68-24. 

Lot-is a contiguous area in a field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure containing 
the same variety or strain of cannabis throughout and is defined by a maximum of25,000 
plants or 10 acres and planted within a two-week timeframe. 

Marijuana-all parts of the plant Cannabis sativa L., whether growing or not; the seeds 
thereof; the resin extracted from any part of such plant; and every compound 
manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of such plant, its seeds of resin. It 
does not include hemp, as defined in section 297 A of the Agriculture Marketing Act of 
1946, but means all cannabis that tests as having a concentration level of THC on a dry 
weight basis greater than 0.3 percent. 

Manufacturing-storing, preparing, packaging, or labeling of industrial hemp or hemp 
products. 

Measurement of Uncertainty-the parameter, associated with the result of a measurement, 
that characterizes the dispersion of the values that could reasonable be attributed to the 
particular quantity subject to measurement 

Negligence-failure to exercise the level of care that a reasonably prudent person would 
exercise in complying with the requirements set forth in this plan and Administrative 
Rule 68-24. 

Person-any individual, partnership, corporation, company, association, or other legal 
entity. 

Planting report-an official document issued by UDAF that must be completed by an 
industrial hemp licensee and submitted to UDAF after each planting of industrial hemp in 
any field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure. 



Processing-any or all parts of harvesting, extraction, refining, altering, manufacturing, or 
making industrial hemp into a finished industrial hemp product ready for market. 

Processer-a person licensed by the department to engage in processing industrial hemp, 
extracting, and manufacturing industrial hemp and hemp products. 

Residential Purposes-a location where someone sleeps more than one time per week. 

Third-party laboratory-a laboratory which has no direct interest in a grower or processor 
of industrial hemp or industrial hemp products that is capable of performing mandated 
testing utilizing validated methods. 

UDAF-Utah Department of Agriculture and Food 

USDA-United Stated Department of Agriculture 

II. LICENSING 

A. Each industrial hemp producer shall obtain a license from UDAF prior to engaging in the 
regulated activity. 

B. Each licensee shall be assigned a license number in the form prescribed by USDA. 

C. The effective dates of all industrial hemp licenses shall be January 1 through December 31 
of any given year and renewed annually. Applications for industrial hemp 
licenses may be submitted to UDAF at any time during the year, and are effective upon 
approval by UDAF through the end of that calendar year. 

D. Applications shall be processed by the department and reviewed for approval 
or denial. Upon completion of the review process, the applicant will be notified of the 
application status. 

E. The licensee shall be responsible for the cost of all licenses, inspection fees, and sample 
testing fees. 

F. No unlicensed person who is not employed by a licensee shall grow, cultivate, handle, store, 
process, or commence transporting industrial hemp at any location within Utah. No licensee 
shall allow any unlicensed person who is not an employee of that licensee to grow, cultivate, 
handle, store, process, or transport industrial hemp under his or her license. 

G. No person under the age of 18 years of age shall be granted a license under this plan. 

H. No person shall be eligible to obtain a license if the applicant: 
1. was convicted of a felony within the ten years immediately preceding the 
application date; 
2. fails to provide all application requirements and documentation; or 



3. materially falsifies any information contained in the application. 

I. Provides for a controlled substance felony conviction exception for participants in state 
hemp pilot program authorized under the 2014 Agricultural Act after December 2018. 

J. A person applying for multiple licenses must complete a license application and submit the 
associated fee for each application. 

K. The department may deny a renewal for an incomplete application. 

L. The department may deny renewal for any licensee who has violated any portion of this 
plan, Federal law, regulations, state law, administrative rules or the plan of any other state or 
tribe. 

M. The licensee shall submit to UDAF in writing any requests for license modification ifthere 
is any change to the information submitted in the application including but not limited to: sale 
of a business, a change in the key participants producing under a license, or any modifications 
to any information concerning the licensee's approved fields, greenhouses, indoor growing 
structures, or any other sites where that licensee stores, processes, or handles industrial hemp 
plants or plant parts. Depending on the license modification, this information may need to be 
reported to the Farm Service Agency (FSA). Requests for license modifications shall be 
submitted to UDAF within 15 days of any change of the information submitted in the 
application and will be responsible for all applicable processing fees. 

III. PRODUCER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

A. No person shall grow industrial hemp without first applying for and receiving an industrial 
hemp grower license from UDAF. 

B. A grower license issued by UDAF shall authorize the licensee to obtain industrial hemp 
seed, possess industrial hemp seed for planting, cultivate an industrial hemp crop, harvest 
industrial hemp plant parts, as well as possess, store, handle, transport, and market plant parts 
pursuant to this plan and Administrative Rule 68-24. 

C. The application shall include, at a minimum, the following information for consideration: 
1. a completed application form provided by the department 
2. applicant's full name, Utah mailing and physical address, telephone number and email 
address; 
3. full name of business, address of the principal business location, full name and title of 
the key participants, an email address if available, and EIN number of the business entity 
4. physical address, legal description, and GPS coordinates for each field, greenhouse, 
indoor growing structure, or site where industrial hemp will be cultivated, handled, or 
stored; 
5. detailed maps of the growing area in acres or square feet, and the location of different 
varieties within the growing area; 



6. a statement of the intended end use or disposal for all parts of the hemp plant grown; 
and; 
7. a plan for the storage of seed or clone and harvested industrial hemp material as 
specified in Administrative Rule 68-24-7. 
8. a nationwide criminal history from the FBI completed within three (3) months of their 
application for all key participants, as defined in this plan; 
9. a fee as approved by the legislature in the fee schedule 

D. The department shall deny any applicant who does not submit all required information, or 
materially falsifies any information in their application . 

E. UDAF shall maintain all information obtained pursuant to this plan for a period of not 
less than three years and all information received in accordance with this plan shall be 
transmitted to the United States Secretary of Agriculture not more than 30 days after the date 
on which the information received. 

IV. GROWING AREA REQUIREMENTS 

A. A licensee shall not plant or grow industrial hemp on any site not listed on the grower 
license application and shall take immediate steps to prevent the inadvertent growth of 
industrial hemp outside of the authorized grow area. 

B. A licensee shall not grow hemp in any structure used for residential purposes. 

C. A licensee shall not handle or store leaf, viable seed, or floral material from hemp in a 
structure used for residential purposes. 

D. A licensee shall not grow industrial hemp outdoors within 1,000 feet of a community 
location. 

E. The licensee shall post signage at the plot location's entrance and where the plot is visible to 
a public roadway in a manner that would reasonably be expected to be seen by a person in the 
area. 

F. The signage shall include the following information: 
1. the statement, "Utah Department of Agriculture and Food Industrial Hemp Program"; 
2. the name of the licensee; 
3. the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food licensee number; and 
4. the department's telephone number. 

V. GROWER REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

A. Within ten days of planting the licensee shall submit a Planting Report, on a form 
provided by the department, which includes: 

1. a list of all industrial hemp varieties and other plants in the growing area which were 
planted; 



2. the actual acres planted or the seeding rate or number of clones planted in the growing 
area; 
3. adjusted maps and global position coordinates for the area planted; and 
4. the amount of seed that was not used. 

B. 15 days prior to harvest the licensee shall submit a Harvest Report, on a form provided by 
the department, which includes: 

1. any intended storage areas for industrial hemp or industrial hemp material; and 
2. the harvest dates and location of each variety cultivated in the growing areas; 
3. the licensee shall immediately inform the department of any changes in the reported 
harvest date which exceeds five days (Regardless, licensee shall ensure harvest occurs 
within 15 days of the harvest sample). 

C. 30-days after completion of harvest, the licensee shall submit a Production Report, 
on a form provided by the department, which includes: 

1. yield from the growing area; 
2. THC testing reports, if any, conducted at the licensee's request; 
3. a statement on the final disposition of the all-industrial hemp product in the growing 
area. 

D. Licensed producers shall report their license or authorization identifier, and hemp crop 
acreage to FSA. At minimum, the following information shall be reported: street address and, 
to the extent practicable, geospatial location for each lot or greenhouse where hemp will be 
produced. If a licensed producer operates in more than one location, that information shall be 
provided for all production sites. 

E. Failure to submit the required reports may result in the revocation of the producer license. 

VI. INSPECTIONS 

A. The growing area shall be subject to random sampling to verify the THC concentration does 
not exceed the acceptable hemp THC levels by department officials. 

B. The department shall have complete and unrestricted access to all industrial hemp plants and 
seeds whether growing or harvested, all land, buildings and other structures used for the 
cultivation of storage of industrial hemp. 

C. Samples of each variety of industrial hemp shall be representative and randomly sampled 
from the growing area by department officials utilizing sampling protocol outlined in section 
VII of this plan. 

D. The department shall conduct the laboratory testing on the sample to determine the THC 
concentration on a dry weight basis by liquid chromatography and shall contain a measurement 
of uncertainty. 

E. The sample taken by the department shall be the official sample. 



F. The department shall sample the growing area within 15 days prior to harvest. Licensed 
producers shall not harvest any plants prior to the official sample taken by UDAF inspectors. 

G. The department shall notify the licensee of the test results from the official sample within a 
reasonable amount of time. 

H. Any laboratory test that exceeds the acceptable hemp THC level may be considered a 
violation of the terms of the license and may result in license revocation and issuance of a 
citation. 

I. Upon a test result with greater than the acceptable hemp THC level, the department shall 
notify the grower. 

J. When there is reason to believe that a violation of any provision of Administrative Rule 68-
24 or this plan has occurred, department inspectors shall have access, during normal working 
hours, to any premises where there is reason to believe that industrial hemp plants or plant 
parts are transported, produced, cultivated, and/or stored for the purpose of inspection, 
investigation, and/or collection of samples for testing. The department may inspect any 
industrial hemp seed, plant, or plant parts located on the premises. UDAF shall not charge a 
testing fee for samples collected pursuant to an investigation initiated by UDAF. 

K. UDAF shall conduct inspections, at least annually, of a random sample of licensees to 
verify that industrial hemp is not being produced in violation of Administrative rule 68-24, or 
this plan. 

VII. SAMPLING METHODS 

A. All industrial hemp plants shall be subject to sampling by UDAF to determine 
whether the specimens are hemp or marijuana. The measurements are intended to be 
representative of the THC content in a lot of hemp as identified by the producer. 

B. The licensee shall be responsible for the cost of all sample testing fees. 

C. Standard sampling guidelines are specified for field and greenhouse sampling of hemp. 
Samples collected under this procedure are acceptable for submission to the UDAF laboratory 
for determination ofTHC in hemp. 

D. Samples must be collected by a UDAF approved sampling agent authorized by UDAF to 
collect samples. It is the responsibility of the licensed producer to pay any fees associated with 
sampling. 

E. Sampling procedures include entering a growing area and collecting the minimum number 
of plant specimens necessary to represent a homogeneous composition of the lot that is to be 
sampled. An authorized representative enters a growing area, strategically examines the 
growing area, establishes an approach for navigating the growing area, and collects individual 



specimens of plants in order to obtain a representative sample of hemp in the designated lot. 

F. Cuttings from each lot of hemp shall be organized as composite samples. 

G. The licensee or a designated employee shall accompany the sampling agent throughout the 
sampling process. 

H. The sampling agent shall verify the GPS coordinates or address of the growing area as 
compared with the GPS coordinates or address submitted by the licensee to UDAF. 

I. The sampling agent shall estimate the average height, appearance, approximate density, 
condition of the plants, and degree of maturity of the flowering material, meaning 
inflorescences (flowers/buds). 

1. The sampling agent shall visually establish the homogeneity of the lot to establish 
that the growing area is of like variety. 

2. For purposes of determining the number of individual plants to select for sampling, 
the size of the growing area shall be considered. 

3. Samples from separate lots must be kept separate and not be comingled. 
4. For lots ofless than one acre, including greenhouses, select a minimum of 10' 

cuttings, each from a different plant to form a composite sample. 
For lots of 2 to 10 acres, including greenhouses, select a minimum of one plant per 
acre, then take cuttings of each plant, then combine to form a composite sample. 

5. The sampling agent shall take cuttings at a random interval throughout the growing 
area, taking care to avoid collecting too many specimens from the borders of the 
field/greenhouse. 

6. The cut shall be made underneath the flowering material, meaning inflorescence (the 
flower or bud of a plant), located at the top one-third (1/3) of the plant. The sample 
size must be of adequate volume to accommodate laboratory tests. 

7. Utilize a sample bag for collecting sample cuttings. Ensure that each bag has 10 
cuttings per lot. (UDAF maximum lot size is 10 acres.) Seal each bag and record the 
sample number. 

8. The sampling agent shall seal each bag and record the sample identification number. 
The sample shall also be identified with the following information: sample 
ID, sampling agent contact information; name and contact information 
of the producer; producer hemp license; date of sample; applicable strain; and lot 
number 

VIII. STORAGE OF INDUSTRIAL HEMP AND HEMP MATERIAL 

A. A licensee may store hemp and hemp material provided: 
1. the licensee notifies the department, in writing, of the location of the storage facility; 
2. the licensee informs the department of the type and amount of product being stored in 



the storage facility; 
3. the storage facility is outside of the public view. 
4. the storage facility is secured with physical containment and reasonable security 

measures; and 
5. the storage facility is not within 1000 feet of a community location. 

B. The storage area is subject to random inspection by department officials. 

X. TRANSPORTATION OF INDUSTRIAL HEMP MATERIALS 

A. A licensee shall not transport any industrial hemp materials, except to a storage facility 
owned by the licensee, until the department has notified the licensee of the test results from the 
growmg area. 

B. An industrial hemp transportation permit is required for each day and each vehicle used to 
move industrial hemp or industrial hemp products. 

C. The licensee shall submit an industrial hemp transportation permit request form provided by 
the department. 

D. Requests for an industrial hemp transportation permit shall be submitted to the department 
at least five (5) business days prior to movement. 

E. An industrial hemp transportation permit authorizes the transportation of industrial hemp 
materials only within the borders of the state. 

F. The department may deny any application for a transportation permit that is not completed 
in accordance with this rule. 

G. A licensee shall not sell or transfer living plants, viable plants, viable seeds, leaf material, or 
floral material to any person not licensed by the department or to any person outside the state 
who is not authorized by the laws of that state. 

XI. LABO RA TORY TESTING 

A. Laboratory Testing Protocol 
1. Quantitative determination of delta-9-THC levels measured using liquid 
chromatography with ultraviolet detection (LC-UV) or mass spectral detection ifrequired 
by matrix interference (LC-MS/MS) shall be the accepted analytical technique to avoid 
the risk of incomplete decarboxylation, therefore, removing the need for any post­
decarboxy lation. 
2. The testing methodology shall consider the potential conversion of delta-9-THCA in 
industrial hemp into delta-9-THC and the test result shall measure the total available 
delta-9-THC derived from the sum of the delta-9-THC and delta-9-THCA content. 
Appropriately, the delta-9-THCA result will be modified by the molecular weight 



conversion factor 0.877 prior to summation with delta-9-THC. The total delta-9-THC 
concentration level shall be reported on a dry weight basis. 
3. Analytical testing for the purpose of determining the concentration of delta-9-THC 
shall meet the following standards: 

a. laboratory quality assurance must ensure the validity and reliability of test 
results; 
b. analytical method selection, validation, and verification must ensure that the 
testing method used is appropriate (fit for purpose), and that the laboratory can 
successfully perform the testing; 
c. method performance specifications must ensure analytical tests are sufficiently 
sensitive for the purposes of detecting the relevant analytes; 
d. an effective disposal procedure for samples of industrial hemp plants and 
industrial hemp plant parts that do not meet industrial hemp requirements; 
e. the reports shall include the measurement of uncertainty. 

4. All testing of industrial hemp samples shall be conducted by the UDAF laboratory 
which shall be DEA registered by October 31, 2021 or once the USDA Final Rule is 
published. 
5. The results of the delta-9-THC analysis shall be reported to the licensee by UDAF. 
6. Samples with a delta-9-THC concentration that do not exceed the acceptable industrial 
hemp delta-9-THC level shall be issued a certificate of analysis and require no further 
action. The hemp lot from which the sample was taken shall be released for sale or 
processmg. 
7. Samples that exceed the acceptable industrial hemp delta-9-THC concentration are 
automatically retested and the average of the two tests is used to determine the final 
value. 

XII. DESTRUCTION OF INDUSTRIAL HEMP MATERIAL 

A. All industrial hemp plant parts resulting from a lot or harvested plant material represented 
by a sample with a THC concentration greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level 
shall be prohibited from being further handled, processed, or entered into the stream of 
commerce. 

B. The department shall be responsible for the destruction of any plant material which tests 
greater than the acceptable industrial hemp THC level. 

C. The licensee shall work with the department on an approved plan for the destruction of the 
plant material. The plan shall include one or more of the disposal means approved by 
USDA. 

D. The licensee shall submit Destruction Report to UDAF prior to destruction. 

E. The department may destroy the plant material at cost to the licensee 

F. The department may inspect the growing area to verify the destruction of all plant material 
and/or require additional evidence to validate full destruction of applicable plants. 



XIII. VIOLATIONS and PENALTIES 

A. The Department shall require a hemp producer to comply with a Corrective Action Plan for 
any negligent violation of this plan. A Corrective Action Plan established by the Department to 
correct the negligent violation may include, but is not limited to: 

1. A date by which the hemp producer shall correct the negligent violation; 
2. The steps necessary to come into compliance; and 
3. A requirement that the hemp producer shall report its compliance measures to the 
Department for a period of not less than the next two (2) calendar years from the date of 
the negligent violation. The Department shall perform inspections to determine if 
the corrective action plan was implemented. 

B. Negligent violations may include, but are not limited to: 
1. Failing to provide an accurate legal description of land on which the producer produces 
hemp; 
2. Failing to obtain a license or other required authorization from the Department to 
produce hemp; 
3. Producing Cannabis sativa L. with a delta-9 THC concentration of more than .5 
percent on a dry weight basis, or failing to make reasonable efforts to grow compliant 
hemp; and/or 
4. Failing to comply with any reporting required in this chapter. 

C. Every day upon which a violation occurs at the same location or by the same person shall be 
considered a separate violation for the purpose of calculating civil administrative penalties. 
Nothing in this section shall limit the applicability of any other penalties prescribed in this 
plan, including the implementation of a Corrective Action Plan, or of license suspension or 
revocation. 

D. The Department may issue civil administrative penalties based upon the seriousness of the 
misconduct and after consultation with program manager. 

E. For a violation of this plan or administrative rules, the Department may adjust the civil 
administrative penalty after weighing the following non-exclusive factors: 

1. The violator's compliance history; 
2. The nature, timing, and effectiveness of measures the violator takes to mitigate the 
effects of the violation; 

3. The nature, timing, and effectiveness of measures the violator takes to prevent future 
similar violations; 
4. Any unusual or extraordinary costs or impacts directly or indirectly imposed on the 
public or the environment as a result of the violation; 
5. Whether or not the violator is growing, processing, or handling hemp while 
deliberately neglecting to obtain a license from the Department; and 
6. Other relevant circumstances. 

F. UDAF may suspend or revoke any license issued under the provisions of Administrative 



Rule 68-24 and this plan. UDAF may also assess a civil penalty for violation of any provision 
of this plan, Administrative Rule 68-24 or any violation of any regulation enacted 
under the authority of said statutes. 

G. Whenever UDAF has reason to believe that a licensee has violated any provision of 
Administrative Rule 68-24 or this plan, the department shall notify the licensee of the alleged 
violation as well as an opportunity to respond thereto, by certified mail, prior to any scheduled 
hearing date. 

H. Each separate day on which any violation occurs shall be considered a separate violation. 

I. A person who is found by UDAF to have negligently violated Administrative Rule 68-24 or 
this plan three times in a five-year period shall be ineligible to hold an industrial hemp license 
for a period of five years beginning on the date of the third violation. 

J. A person that has negligently violated Administrative Rule 68-24 or this plan shall not be 
reported to local, state, or federal government authorities for criminal enforcement action. 

K. IfUDAF determines that a person has violated any portion of this plan or 
Administrative Rule 68-24 with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, the 
Department shall order the person to suspend all hemp growing and/or handling 
operations immediately. 

L. If UDAF determines a licensee committed a violation with a culpable mental state greater 
than negligence they will notify the U.S. Attorney General, USDA, and the 
appropriate law enforcement agency as applicable. 

XIV. NOTICE and APPEALS 

A. The Department shall provide a reasonable opportunity to amend an application that is 
insufficient, or to resolve any minor violations of these rules. 

B. The Department shall comply with Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act 
and provide written notice via electronic mail, certified mail, or personal service, to a hemp 
producer upon a finding of a violation. Such notice shall include: 

1. The facts pertaining to the violation; 
2. A reference to the administrative rule(s) and/or statute(s) that have been violated; 
3. A finding that the conduct constitutes a negligent violation or a violation with a 
culpable mental state greater than negligence; 
4. A statement explaining whether or not the Department has informed law enforcement 
of the violation; 
5. The basis for the civil administrative penalty issued, if any; and 
6. A statement explaining the person's right to a hearing, and that they must file an appeal 
within 15 days of receiving notice. 



C. Any contest to the Department for a violation must file a written appeal no later than 15 days 
after receipt of the determination. A written letter of contest must be filed with the Commissioner 
of Agriculture and Food and shall be sent to: 

Utah Department of Agriculture and Food 
ATTN: Commissioner 
350 North Redwood Road 
P.O. Box 146500 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6500 

D. If no hearing is requested after 15 days have elapsed, the notice shall become a 
final order. 

E. Contested cases shall be treated in accordance with Utah Code 63G, Chapter 4 Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act, and Utah Administrative Rule 51-2. 

XV. USDA REPORTING 

A. Hemp Producer Report - UDAF shall submit to USDA a report providing the contact 
information and the status of the license issued for each producer. The report 
shall be submitted by the first of each month. If the first of the month falls on a weekend or 
holiday, the report is due by the first business day following the due date. The report shall be 
submitted using a digital format compatible with USDA's information sharing systems, 
whenever possible. The report shall contain the following information: 

1. hemp crop acreage 
2. total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed 
3. geospatial locations(s) of each lot or greenhouse where hemp will be produced 
4. acreage of greenhouse or indoor square footage dedicated to the production of hemp 
5. For each new producer that is an individual, the report shall include: 

a. the full name of the individual; 
b. the license number and status; 
c. the business address; 
d. telephone number and email address (if applicable); and 
e. a legal description and GPS coordinates for each field, greenhouse, indoor 
growing structure, or site where industrial hemp will be cultivated, handled, or 
stored. 

6. For each new licensee that is a business entity, the report shall include: 
a. the full name of the business entity; 
b. the principal business location address; 
c. license number and status; 
d. the full name, title, and email address (if applicable) of each person for whom 
the entity is required to submit a criminal background check; and 
e. a legal description and GPS coordinates for each field, greenhouse, indoor 
growing structure, or site where industrial hemp will be cultivated, handled, or 
stored. 



7. For each producer that was included in a previous report and whose reported 
information has changed, the report shall include the previously reported information and 
the new information, including the following: 

a. The status of each producer's license; 
b. The period covered by the report; 
c. Indication that there were no changes during the current reporting cycle, if 
applicable. 

B. Hemp Disposal Report - UDAF shall submit to USDA a report notifying USDA of any 
occurrence industrial hemp plants or plant parts that exceed the acceptable industrial hemp 
THC level by the first of each month. If the first of the month falls on a weekend or holiday, 
the report is due by the first business day following the due date. The report shall be submitted 
using a digital format compatible with USDA's information sharing systems, whenever 
possible. The report shall contain the following information: 

1. The name and address of the Producer; 
2. Producer license number; 
3. Location information, such as lot number, location type, and GPS or other location 
descriptor for the production area subject disposal; 
4. UDAF compliance specialist managing the disposal; 
5. Disposal completion date; 
6. Total acreage; and 
7. Laboratory test results. 

I 

C. Test Results Report - UDAF shall report to USDA, using a digital format compatible with 
USDA's information sharing systems, whenever possible, the following information for 
each sample of industrial hemp tested: 

1. Producer's license number; 
2. name of producer; 
3. business address of producer; 
4. lot identification number for the sample; 
5. name oflaboratory; 
6. date of test and report; 
7. identification of retest; and 
8. test result. 

D. Hemp Producer Annual Report- UDAF shall submit an annual report to USDA, using a 
digital format compatible with USDA's information sharing systems, whenever possible, by 
December 31 of each year and the report shall contain the following information: 

1. total planted acreage; 
2. total harvested acreage; and 
3. total acreage destroyed. 



XVI. CERTIFICATION OF RESOURCES and PERSONNEL 

The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food certifies that it has the resources and personnel to 
carry out the requirements, practices, and procedures as outlined in 7 CFR 990. 

STATE OF UTAH 

Utah Department of Agriculture and Food ("UDAF") 

By: Date:Zu!Jd/:flwilde 

-~+-::J.~~:::::,.L 
s 

By: ~ Date: ~6 
Cody Ja1 7 
Indu · I I- "mp and Medical Cannabis Program Manager 

350 North Redwood Road, PO Box 146500, Salt Lake City, UT 84116-
6500 




