USDA Announces Popcorn Board Appointments

Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 11:00am

Release No.: 010-18

WASHINGTON, Jan. 16, 2018--Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of two members to serve three-year terms on the Popcorn Board.

Newly appointed are:

  • Dan J. Sleaford, Manito, Ill.
  • Rachel C. Foley, Delphi, Ind.

“These appointees have a deep understanding of an industry that provides about 13 billion quarts of popcorn to consumers each year,” said Perdue. “I truly appreciate their time and the expertise they have agreed to provide to keep their industry robust.”

The Popcorn Board is composed of five popcorn processors. The Popcorn Promotion, Research and Consumer Information program, operating as the Popcorn Board, helps maintain and expand existing markets and develop new markets for popcorn and popcorn products.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

A roster of members is available on the Popcorn Board page on the AMS website. More information is also available on the Popcorn Board’s webpage.

Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender