USDA Announces Paper and Packaging Board Appointments

Friday, February 2, 2018 - 1:00pm

Release No.:  004-18

WASHINGTON, Feb. 2, 2018 -- Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of four members to serve on the Paper and Packaging Board. Members newly appointed to serve three-year terms are:

Matthew Kaplan, North Brook, Ill. (South Region)
Jennifer L. Miller, Boston, Mass. (Northeast Region)
Palace V. Stepps, Hartsville, S.C. (Midwest Region)
John D. Williams, Fort Mill, S.C. (Importer)

“Research and promotion boards like the Paper and Packaging Board represent a lot of U.S. jobs. They are important for ensuring competitiveness and help strengthen the position of the American-made commodities in the world marketplace,” said Perdue. “I know the paper and packaging industry will be well served by the experience these members bring to the table.”

The Paper and Packaging Board is composed of 12 members: 10 domestic manufacturers, which represent four regions, one at-large member from any region, and one importer. Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

More information about the board is available on the Paper and Packaging Board page of the AMS website and on the Paper and Packaging Board website.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender