USDA Announces Christmas Tree Promotion Board Appointments

Friday, February 2, 2018 - 11:00am

Release No.: 006-18

WASHINGTON, Feb. 2, 2018 -- Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of five producers and one importer to serve on the Christmas Tree Promotion Board. The appointees will serve three-year terms ending on Dec. 31, 2020.

Newly appointed producer members are:

Jim Corliss, Newburgh, Maine
Roger W. Beyer, Molalla, Ore.

Reappointed producer members are:

Paul F. Battaglia, San Martin, Calif.
Della Jean Deal, Laurel Springs, N.C.
Beth Walterscheidt, Elgin, Texas

The importer member reappointed is Christopher Maciborski, Manton, Mich.

“The decisions the Christmas Tree Promotion Board makes are crucial in supporting family farmers and growers marketing their Christmas trees across the county,” said Perdue. “I truly appreciate the time and expertise these individuals have agreed to provide to keep real Christmas trees a part of the American culture.”

The 12-member board has 11 producers representing production in the eastern, central and western regions of the United States, and an importer member. Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

More information about the board is available on the Christmas Tree Promotion Board page of the AMS website and on the Christmas Tree Promotion Board website.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender