Agriculture Secretary Vilsack Announces American Egg Board Appointments

Friday, January 6, 2017 - 1:00pm

Release No.: 200-16 

WASHINGTON, Jan. 6, 2017 – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed eight members and nine alternates to the American Egg Board for the 2017-2018 term.  All appointees will serve 2-year terms.

Appointed members and alternates, by areas, are:

North Atlantic States – John Puglisi, Howell, N.J., member; Elliot Gibber, New York, N.Y., alternate; and Lake Wagner, Bristol, Va., alternate.

South Atlantic States – Scott Horton, Flowery Branch, Ga., member; and Robert M. Saverance, Lamar, S.C., alternate.

East North Central States – Steve Herbruck, Grand Rapids, Mich., member; Thomas Hertzfeld II, Whitehouse, Ohio, member; Lisa Timmerman, Fort Recovery, Ohio, alternate; and Ronald L. Gross, Saint Henry, Ohio, alternate.

West North Central States – Robert L. Krouse, North Manchester, Ind., member; Ben Thompson, Pearl City, Ill., member; Mindy Creighton Truex, Warsaw, Ind., alternate; and Mike Elliott, Eden Prairie, Minn., alternate.

South Central States – Bob Johnson, Wayzata, Minn., member; and Bruce Dooyema, Sioux Center, Iowa, alternate.

Western States – Roy Patterson, Lewistown, Texas, member; and David Elbel, College Station, Texas, alternate.

The Secretary did not appoint a member to fill a seat from the North Atlantic States.  As a result, the Secretary directed USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) to obtain additional nominations from the North Atlantic States.  According to the Egg Research and Promotion Order, if the Secretary chooses not to make appointments from the slate of candidates presented, current board members and alternates continue to serve until their successor is appointed.  AMS will solicit nominations soon from nominating organizations in the North Atlantic States. 

Composed of 18 members and 18 alternates representing six areas, the board administers an egg research and promotion program authorized by the Egg Research and Consumer Information Act of 1974.  Terms on the board are staggered so that half of the membership is appointed each year in order to provide continuity in policy.  The Secretary selects appointees from egg producers nominated by organizations representing the egg industry.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards.  They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities.  AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity for participating stakeholders.

Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).