USDA Increases Membership on United Soybean Board

October 23, 2018

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) today announced it is increasing membership on the United Soybean Board from 73 to 78 members. The increase will result in Alabama, Kentucky, North Dakota, South Dakota and Tennessee each gaining one member on the board. The changes will be included in the Soybean Promotion and Research Order and will be effective for the 2019 board appointment process.

Membership of the board was increased to reflect changes in production levels that have occurred since 2015. Membership on the board is reviewed every three years and adjusted, if necessary, as required by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act.

The final rule was published in the Federal Register, Oct. 23, 2018, and becomes effective Nov. 23, 2018. The rule is also available at You may also request a copy from Agricultural Marketing Specialist Mike Dinkel by mail at Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS), Livestock and Poultry Program, Research and Promotion Division, STOP 0251, Room 2608-S, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington D.C. 20250-0251; by phone at (202) 720-0633 or by fax at (202) 720-1125.

More information about the board is available on the United Soybean Board page on the AMS website and on the United Soybean Board website.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity.