USDA Announces National Honey Board Appointments

December 08, 2020

The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of seven individuals to serve on the National Honey Board. Six appointees will serve three-year terms from Jan. 1, 2021, through Dec. 31, 2023, and one alternate appointee will serve a one-year term beginning immediately and ending on Dec. 31, 2021.

Members appointed or reappointed are: 

  • Christopher R. Olney, Holland, Michigan – First Handler (3-year term)
  • Nancy Seaquist, Hastings, Minnesota – First Handler Alternate (3-year term)
  • Eric S. Wenger, Peabody, Kansas – First Handler Alternate (1-year term)
  • Greg Olsen, Chaska, Minnesota – Importer
  • Arlen D. Penner, Hillsboro, Kansas – Importer Alternate
  • Joan Gunter, Towner, North Dakota – Producer
  • Blake Shook, Melissa, Texas – Producer Alternate

The 20-member National Honey Board has four first handler representatives, two importer representatives, three producer representatives, one marketing cooperative representative and their alternates.

More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) National Honey Board webpage and on the board’s website at

Since 1966, Congress has authorized industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight to 21 boards. the oversight ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity and is paid for by industry assessments.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender