
Agricultural Marketing Service

How would I qualify as a producer?
�� You produce Grade A milk.

�� Your milk is received at a pool plant. 

How would my milk qualify to pool?
��At least 1-day’s milk production must be physically received at a pool plant 
during the first month you want to qualify as a producer.

�� If you lose your qualification, you can requalify by shipping 1-day’s production to 
a pool plant.

Who would decide to pool my milk?
��Handlers and cooperative handlers, not individual producers, make the 
pooling decision.

How would I get paid for my milk?
��A California FMMO would calculate a uniform blend price reflecting the 
use of all milk that handlers elect to pool for the month.  Uniform blend 
prices reflect the standard component tests (i.e., 3.5 percent butterfat) while 
your actual payments reflect the components present in your milk.  As a 
qualified producer, you would be paid a price per pound of butterfat, protein, 
and other solids you produce, as well as a producer price differential per 
hundredweight (cwt) of milk pooled.  A California FMMO would enforce 
minimum producer payments on pooled milk. Cooperatives would still have 
the ability to reblend all money received to their members.  Premium payments 
are not enforced by the FMMO. 

CALIFORNIA FEDERAL MILK MARKETING ORDER FINAL DECISION

WHAT PRODUCERS NEED TO KNOW
The USDA Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) administers the Federal Milk Marketing Order (FMMO) program as authorized by 
Congress under the Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937.  Federal orders regulate beverage milk handlers based on the 
location of their beverage milk sales.  Producers are not regulated by the federal orders, but benefit from the regulatory provisions by 
selling milk to regulated handlers. 

The 10 existing FMMOs regulate over 64 percent of milk produced in the United States.  USDA, based on the evidentiary record, has 
proposed that a California FMMO be established.  This handout outlines the recommended provisions of a California FMMO and how 
producers can qualify to have their milk pooled on the California FMMO. These recommended provisions become effective only if at 
least two-thirds of the eligible producers voting in the referendum, or the eligible producers who supplied more than two-thirds of the 
milk represented in the referendum, vote in favor of the proposed California FMMO.

If you are an Independent 
Producer:

•	 You are not a member of an 
approved Capper-Volstead 
cooperative.

•	 You must ensure 1-day’s production 
is physically received at a pool 
plant during the first month you 
want to qualify as a producer. 

•	 If you lose your qualification, you 
can requalify by shipping 1-day’s 
production to a pool plant.

If you are a Cooperative 
Member:

•	 Your Cooperative must be an 
approved Capper-Volstead 
cooperative.

•	 Your Cooperative should ensure 
that your milk qualifies to pool.

•	 Your Cooperative may act as 
a handler making the pooling 
decision.

April 2018            www.ams.usda.gov



    Agricultural Marketing  Service                                                                           What Producers Need to Know

��A producer payment includes:
�� Prices per pound of the Class III values of butterfat, �
protein, and other solids contained in your milk.

��A Producer Price Differential (PPD) 
»» A PPD is the remaining market value of your milk after 
accounting for the Class III component values. 

»»  It is paid on a per cwt basis.

»» The PPD is adjusted by location. The adjustment is the 
difference between the $2.10 announcement zone in Los 
Angeles County, California, and the location of the plant where 
your milk is delivered.

��Authorized Deductions:
»» CDFA-administered quota assessment.

»» National Dairy Promotion and Research Board assessment.

»» California FMMO Market Administrator Assessment if services 
are provided to producers (excluding cooperative members already 
receiving marketing services).  

»» Producers receiving FMMO marketing services would be 
assessed a maximum of $0.07 per cwt on their pooled milk. 
Services include verifying, weighing, and testing producer 
milk; providing market information for producers not 
receiving such services from a cooperative.

»» Other deductions authorized in writing by you, the producer.

How would AMS calculate my payment?

pounds of butterfat produced x butterfat price 

++ pounds of protein produced x protein price

++ pounds of other solids produced x other solids price

++ (cwt of milk x PPD*)
-- Authorized Deductions 

== Producer Payment

How would the California FMMO announce 
classified milk prices?

��AMS publishes prices for components as well as Class II, III, and 
IV milk in the Announcement of Class and Component Prices 
released no later than the 5th of the following month and located 
at:  www.ams.usda.gov/mnreports/dymclassprices.pdf
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Zone

PRODUCER PAYMENT ZONES 
for Oregon, California, Nevada & Arizona

*Adjusted for location

Minimum
     Producer Milk Percent Pounds Class Price
       Class I 33.4 762,059,432 $18.69
       Class II 23.7 541,627,441 14.11
       Class III 25.8 589,661,458 14.00
       Class IV 17.1 389,279,157 13.13

   Total Producer Milk 100.0 2,282,627,488

Computation of Uniform Price (per cwt @ Suffolk County, MA - Boston)

Producer Price Differential $1.70 Protein Price $1.6612 /lb
Class III Price (@ 3.5% Butterfat) $14.00 Butterfat Price 2.4531 /lb
Statistical Uniform Price (@ 3.5% Butterfat) $15.70 Other Solids Price 0.0787 /lb
Statistical Uniform Price (@ Average Pool Component Tests ) $17.15 Nonfat Solids Price 0.5235 /lb

COMPUTATION OF PRODUCER PRICE DIFFERENTIAL
Product Pounds Price per cwt./lb. Component Value Total Value

Class I— Skim 746,054,756 $10.23 76,321,401.54
Butterfat 16,004,676 2.5200 40,331,783.52

Less: Location Adjustment to Handlers (2,841,999.73) $113,811,185.44

Class II— Butterfat 30,901,319 2.4601 76,020,334.88
Nonfat Solids 47,319,865 0.6333 29,967,670.48 105,988,005.36

Class III— Butterfat 28,209,990 2.4531 69,201,926.45
Protein 18,604,017 1.6612 30,904,993.04
Other Solids 33,482,675 0.0787 2,635,086.51 102,742,006.00

Class IV— Butterfat 15,532,766 2.4531 38,103,428.28
Nonfat Solids 34,669,538 0.5235 18,149,503.16 56,252,931.44

Total Classified Value $378,794,128.24
Add: Overage—All Classes 106,074.49

Inventory Reclassification—All Classes 59,130.90
Other Source Receipts 1,188,803 Pounds 47,290.75

Total Pool Value $379,006,624.38
Less: Producer Component Valuations @ Class III Component Prices (352,640,161.49)

Total PPD Value Before Adjustments $26,366,462.89
Add: Location Adjustment to Producers 12,716,279.42

One-half Unobligated Balance—Producer Settlement Fund 686,133.80
Less: Producer Settlement Fund—Reserve (943,999.25)

Total Pool Milk & PPD Value 2,283,816,291 Producer pounds $38,824,876.86

Producer Price Differential $1.70
Statistical Uniform Price $15.70

Erik F. Rasmussen, Market Administrator

FEDERAL MILK ORDER No. 1
Northeast Marketing Area

89 South Street, Boston MA 02111-2671
Mailing Address:

website:  www.fmmone.com

JANUARY  2018

P.O. Box 51478
Boston, MA  02205-1478

Tel.:  (617) 737-7199  —  Fax:  (617) 737-8002
email:  NortheastOrder@fedmilk1.com

Class III & Producer Component Prices

(Selected pool and price statistics on reverse side)

POOL PRICE ANNOUNCEMENT 

United
States
Department
of
Agriculture

Agricultural Marketing Service
Dairy Programs

Albany:
302A Washington Avenue Ext.

Albany, NY 12203-7303
Tel.: (518) 452-4410
Fax: (518) 464-6468

Alexandria:
P.O. Box 25828

Alexandria, VA  22313-5828
Tel.: (703) 549-7000
Fax:  (703) 549-7003

EXAMPLE POOL PRICE 
ANNOUNCEMENT
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When are producer prices announced?
�� Producer Prices Announced: On or before the 14th day after the end of the month.

��While prices are announced at the standard 3.5 percent butterfat, payments would be based on what you actually produce. 

When would I get paid?
�� Partial Payment: On or before the last day of the month for milk received during the first 15 days of the month.

�� Final Payment: No later than the 19th day after the end of the month for milk received during the month.

�� Payments to Cooperatives: Moved 1 day earlier for both partial and final payments.

How would my milk be classified under a Federal Order?
��  Uniform FMMO classification provisions ensure handlers have the same minimum regulated cost of raw milk based on use.�

California State Order Class Proposed FMMO Class Product
Class 1 Class I Fluid

Classes 2 & 3 Class II Soft products

Class 4b Class III Hard cheeses

Class 4a Class IV Butter & powders

April 2018                             www.ams.usda.gov USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.

For more information, visit www.ams.usda.gov/caorder or 
contact Californiainfo@ams.udsa.gov / (202) 720-4392
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