Livestock, Poultry and Seed

Livestock, Poultry and Seed Program

The AMS Livestock, Poultry and Seed Program is a team of close to 1,000 Federal and an additional 1,000 State employees who operate under Federal oversight by cooperative agreements the Program has with all 50 States. This work is carried out through seven different LPS Divisions outlined below. LPS administers a wide range of the Agency's programs related to the livestock, meat, poultry, egg, fish, grain and seed industries as well as regulatory and support functions that extend to other commodities as well. 

The programs include retail country of origin and method of production labeling programs, quality grading services, testing services, domestic and export auditing and accreditation services, mandatory and voluntary market news reporting services, economic and statistical analysis services, research and promotion program oversight, grant programs, and food product specification development and acceptance services for Federal food and nutrition assistance programs including the National School Lunch Program. 

Contact Information

Livestock Poultry and Seed Program
1400 Independence Avenue, SW STOP 0249
Washington, DC 20250-0249

Have a question for the Livestock Poultry and Seed Program?

 
Have a question about a Market News Report?
 
Office of the Deputy Administrator
Deputy Administrator – Craig Morris
Room 2092 - So. Bldg
(202) 720-5705 
 
Acting Associate Deputy Administrator - Angie Snyder
Room 2092 - So. Bldg.
(202) 720-5705
 
Associate Deputy Administrator – Larry R. Meadows
Room 2092 - So. Bldg.
(202) 720-5705
 
Acting Chief of Staff - Betsy Flores
Room 2096 - So. Bldg.
(202) 720-5705
 
Administrative Office
Resource Management Officer - Sang Lineback - Sang.Lineback@ams.usda.gov
202-720-9957 
 
Agricultural Analytics Division
Room 2607 – So. Bldg.
(202) 690-3145
 
Director – Michael Sheats - Michael.Sheats@ams.usda.gov
 
Country of Origin Labeling Division
Room 2612 – So. Bldg.
(202) 205-9356
 
Director – Julie Henderson - Julie.Henderson@ams.usda.gov
 
Food Safety and Commodity Specification Division 
Room 2608 – So. Bldg.
(202)-692-0342
 
Director - Carl Schroeder - Carl.Schroeder@ams.usda.gov
 
Livestock, Poultry and Grain Market News Division
Room 2619 - So. Bldg.
(202) 720-6231
 
Director – Michael Lynch – Michael.Lynch@ams.usda.gov
 
Quality Assessment Division 
Room 3944 - So. Bldg
(202) 720- 3271
 
Director – Jennifer Porter - Jennifer.Porter@ams.usda.gov
 
Research and Promotion Division
Room 2608 - So. Bldg.
(202) 720-5705
 
Director – Kenneth Payne - Kenneth.Payne@ams.usda.gov
 
Seed Regulatory and Testing Division
801 Summit Crossing Place, Suite C
Gastonia, North Carolina 28054-2193
(704) 810-8884
 
Acting Director - Ernest Allen - ernest.allen@ams.usda.gov