Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Latest Releases / USDA Ame
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Ame

Release No. 096-10


Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998


WASHINGTON, D.C., June 14, 2010 The U.S. Department of Agriculture today issued a final decision to amend the definition of Class I fluid milk products in all Federal milk marketing orders. These amendments were considered in a recommended decision published May 17, 2006.


Under the final decision, a product will meet the compositional standards for fluid milk products if it contains at least 6.5 percent nonfat milk solids or 2.25 percent true milk protein. This decision also amends the fluid milk product definition to provide exemptions for drinkable yogurt products containing at least 20 percent yogurt (by weight), kefir, and products intended to be meal replacements. The decision clarifies how milk and milk-derived ingredients should be priced under all Federal milk marketing orders when used in fluid milk products.


The final decision will be published in the June 14 Federal Register. These amendments are subject to producer approval before they can be implemented. For additional information about the decision contact:


Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478, Boston, MA 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com


Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly, Jr.
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 91528, Louisville, KY 40291-0528
Tel. (502) 499-0040; email: friedly@malouisville.com


Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1550 North Brown Road, Suite 120, Lawrenceville, GA 30043
Tel. (770) 682-2501; email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com


Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1600 West 82nd Street, Suite 200, Minneapolis, MN 55431-1420
Tel. (952) 831-5292; email: pkyburz@fmma30.com


Central: David C. Stukenberg
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300; email: David.Stukenberg@fmmacentral.com


Mideast: Paul A. Huber
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 5102, Brunswick, OH 44212
Tel. (330) 225-4758; email: phuber@fmmaclev.com


Pacific Northwest and Arizona: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1930-220th St., SE., Suite 102 Bothell, WA 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com


Southwest: Cary Hunter
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060; email: sw.order@dallasma.com
 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: 06/14/2010