Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Latest Releases / USDA Issues Final Rule
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Issues Final Rule

Release No. 071-10

 
Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
Becky.unkenholz@ams.usda.gov
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998
Billy.cox@ams.usda.gov

 
WASHINGTON, D.C., April 23, 2010 – The U.S. Department of Agriculture today issued a final rule amending the producer-handler definition in all Federal milk marketing orders. Producers in all Federal milk marketing orders approved the amendments in referenda held in March 2010.

 
This rule amends the producer handler definition to limit exemption from pooling and pricing provisions of the orders to those producer-handlers with total route disposition and sales of packaged fluid milk products to other plants of 3 million pounds or less per month.

 
These amendments were considered in a recommended decision published Oct. 21, 2009, and adopted by a final decision published March 4, 2010. The final rule appears in today’s Federal Register. The amendments will be effective June 1, 2010.

 
For additional information about the decision contact:

 
Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478, Boston, MA 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com

 
Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly, Jr.
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 91528, Louisville, KY 40291-0528
Tel. (502) 499-0040; email: friedly@malouisville.com

 
Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1550 North Brown Road, Suite 120, Lawrenceville, GA 30043
Tel. (770) 682-2501; email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com

 
Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1600 West 82nd Street, Suite 200, Minneapolis, MN 55431-1420
Tel. (952) 831-5292; email: pkyburz@fmma30.com

 
Central: David C. Stukenberg
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300; email: David.Stukenberg@fmmacentral.com

 
Mideast: Paul A. Huber
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 5102, Brunswick, OH 44212
Tel. (330) 225-4758; email: phuber@fmmaclev.com

 
Pacific Northwest and Arizona: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1930-220th St., SE., Suite 102 Bothell, WA 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com

 
Southwest: Cary Hunter
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060; email: sw.order@dallasma.com
 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: 04/23/2010