Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Latest Releases / Vilsack
News Release

Printable version


Jimmie Turner (202) 720-8998
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998

WASHINGTON, Jan. 5, 2010 -- Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today announced the names of members of the new Fruit and Vegetable Industry Advisory Committee.

The 25 members were selected from individuals nominated by their peers. Committee members represent fresh fruit and vegetable growers/shippers, fresh fruit and vegetable wholesalers, retailers, industry trade associations, importers, fruit and vegetable processors, foodservice suppliers, fresh-cut processors, brokers and state departments of agriculture. Each member is appointed to a two-year term.

Originally chartered in 2001, the advisory committee advises the Secretary of Agriculture on issues affecting the fruit and vegetable industry. In May 2009, USDA approved a new two-year charter for this committee.

In the coming weeks, USDA will schedule the committee’s first meeting for 2010 in the Washington, D.C. area. More information about the meeting will be published in the Federal Register and at Information can also be obtained by emailing or calling (202) 720-4722.

The Federal Advisory Committee Act of 1972 provides for the establishment and operation of advisory committees within the executive branch of the federal government.

USDA’s Fruit and Vegetable Industry Advisory Committee Members, 2010-2011:

Andrea Caroe, EarthClaims, LLC , California

Lorna Christie, Produce Marketing Association, Delaware

Jeremy Gillam, Gillam Farms, Arkansas

Alan Hardison, Jacobs Farm/Del Cabo, California

Michael Hollister, Driscoll Strawberry Associates, California

Edwin Kee, DE Department of Agriculture, Delaware

Beth Ann Knorr, Countrywide Conservancy,

Vaughn Koligian, Sun-Maid Growers of California, California

Tom Lovelace, McEntire Produce , South Carolina

Lisa McNeece, Grimmway Enterprises, Inc., California

Guy Moore, Larriland Farms, Maryland

Paul Newman, First Fruits Marketing, Washington

Robert Nolan, Deer Run Farms, LLC, New York

Dianne Nury, Vie-Del Company, California

Michael O’Brien, Schnuck Markets, Missouri

Russell Poore, Poore’s Nursery and Farm, Kentucky

Howard Popoola, Topco, Inc., Illinois

Brent Roggie, National Grape Coop Association, New York

William “Gee” Roe III, W.G. Roe & Sons, Inc., Florida

William Smittcamp, Wawona Frozen Foods, California

J. Allen Swann, Swann Farms, Maryland

Maureen Torrey, Torrey Farms, New York

Oscar Vizcarra, Becker Farms, New York

Jennifer “Jin Ju” Wilder, Coast Produce,

Rebecca Wilson, Tom Lange Company, Illinois


USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Ave., S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272(voice), or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).

  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 01/05/2010