Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Latest Releases / USDA Terminates Proceeding On Proposed A
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Terminates Proceeding On Proposed A

AMS No. 234-08

 
Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
becky.unkenholz@usda.gov
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998
billy.cox@usda.gov

 
WASHINGTON, Dec. 24, 2008 – The U. S. Department of Agriculture today announced that it will terminate a proceeding on proposed amendments to modify the formulas used to determine Class I and Class II prices in all Federal milk marketing orders.

 
In response to a proposal by the National Milk Producers Federation to reconsider formulas for Class I and Class II milk, USDA held a hearing Dec. 11-15, 2006, in Pittsburgh, Pa. USDA is terminating the proceeding because the evidence presented at the hearing was neither compelling nor provided a basis to make a reasoned decision for recommending adoption or denial of the proposal.

 
The termination notice will be published in today’s Federal Register. The termination notice and hearing record is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service Dairy Programs website at http://www.ams.usda.gov/dairy. Producers and processors with questions about the termination should contact their local milk market administrator’s office listed below:

 
Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478, Boston, MA 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com

 
Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly, Jr.
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 18030, Louisville, KY 40261-0030
Tel. (502) 499-0040; email: friedly@malouisville.com

 
Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 491778, Lawrenceville, GA 30049
Tel. (770) 682-2501; email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com

 
Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Suite 210, 4570 West 77th St., Minneapolis, MN 55435-5037
Tel. (952) 831-5292; email: pkyburz@fmma30.com

 
Central: Robert E. Vander Linden
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300; email: vanderlinden@fmmacentral.com

 
Mideast: David Z. Walker
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 5102, Brunswick, OH 44212
Tel. (330) 225-4758; email: dwalker@fmmaclev.com

 
Pacific Northwest and Arizona: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1930-220th St., SE., Suite 102 Bothell, WA 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com

 
Southwest: J. Richard Fleming
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060; email: sw.order@dallasma.com

 
 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: 12/24/2008