Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Latest Releases / USDA Announces Tentative Final Decision to
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Announces Tentative Final Decision to

AMS-021-04


Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
becky.unkenholz@usda.gov
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998
billy.cox@usda.gov






WASHINGTON, D.C., March 1, 2004 - The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced a tentative final decision that adopts proposals to amend the classification provisions of all 10 Federal milk marketing orders. This decision is based on testimony and evidence of a public hearing held Oct. 21, 2003, in Alexandria, Va.


This decision will change the classification of milk used to produce evaporated milk or sweetened condensed milk in consumer-type packages from Class III to Class IV. A proposal to classify monthly bulk milk ending inventories to the lowest-priced class of Class III or Class IV is not adopted in this decision.


USDA will conduct a vote within 30 days to determine whether dairy producers approve the amended orders on an interim basis. Comments should be sent to the Hearing Clerk, United States Department of Agriculture, STOP 9200 Room 1083, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9200. The tentative final decision will be published in the March 2 Federal Register. Comments must be received by May 3, and will be used to formulate the final decision.


Additional information about the decision may be obtained from the market administrator offices as follows:


Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478 (FT Point Station), Boston, MA. 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com


Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 18030, Louisville, KY. 40261-0030
Tel. (502) 499-0040; email: friedly@malouisville.com


Florida and Southeast: Sue. L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 491778, Lawrenceville, GA. 30049
Tel. (770) 682-2501; email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com


Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Suite 210, 4570 West 77th St., Minneapolis, MN. 55435-5037
Tel. (952) 831-5292; email: pkyburz@fmma30.com


Central: Donald R. Nicholson
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS. 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300; email: donald.nicholson@fmmacentral.com


Mideast: David Z. Walker
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 30128, Cleveland, OH. 44130-0128
Tel. (440) 826-3220; email: dwalker@fmmaclev.com


Pacific Northwest and Arizona-Las Vegas,: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Building J, Suite 102; 1930-220th St., SE., Bothell, WA. 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com


Southwest: J. Richard Fleming
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060; email: Richard.Fleming@usda.gov


 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: 03/01/2004