Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Latest Releases / USDA Announces Interim Order to Amend All
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Announces Interim Order to Amend All

Release No. 071 -04


Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
becky.unkenholz@usda.gov
Billy Cox (202)720-8998
billy.cox@usda.gov






WASHINGTON, DC April 23, 2004 - The U. S. Department of Agriculture today issued an interim order amending the current classification of milk provisions of all Federal milk marketing orders. USDA determined dairy farmersí approval by polling cooperative associations in eight of the marketing areas and by conducting referenda in the Northeast and Mideast marketing areas.


This interim order reclassifies milk used to produce evaporated milk in consumer-type packages or sweetened condensed milk in consumer-type packages from Class III to Class IV.


These interim amendments to the orders will become effective on May 1, 2004. Public comments on the Tentative Final Decision published in the Federal Register February 27, 2004, are due May 3, 2004.


The interim order rule and additional background information can be accessed on the web at http://www.ams.usda.gov/dairy. Copies of this interim order and additional information also may be obtained by contacting any of the following market administrator offices:


Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478 (FT Point Station), Boston, MA. 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com


Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 18030, Louisville, KY. 40261-0030
Tel. (502) 499-0040; email: friedly@malouisville.com


Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 491778, Lawrenceville, GA. 30049
Tel. (770) 682-2501; email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com


Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Suite 210, 4570 West 77th St., Minneapolis, MN. 55435-5037
Tel. (952) 831-5292; email: pkyburz@fmma30.com


Central: Donald R. Nicholson
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS. 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300; email: donald.nicholson@fmmacentral.com


Mideast: David Z. Walker
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 30128, Cleveland, OH. 44130-0128
Tel. (440) 826-3220; email: dwalker@fmmaclev.com


Pacific Northwest & Arizona-Las Vegas: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Building J, Suite 102; 1930-220th St., SE., Bothell, WA. 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com


Southwest: J. Richard Fleming
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060;




 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: 04/23/2004