Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Latest Releases / USDA Announces Final Decision to Amend All
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Announces Final Decision to Amend All

Release No.176 -04

 
Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
becky.unkenholz@usda.gov
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998
billy.cox@usda.gov

 

 

 
WASHINGTON, D.C., Sept. 23, 2004 - The U. S. Department of Agriculture today announced a final decision that permanently adopts amendments to the classification of milk provisions in all 10 Federal milk marketing orders. These provisions were previously implemented on an interim basis. This decision is based on testimony and evidence from a public hearing held Oct. 21, 2003, in Alexandria, Va.

 
This decision adopts changes that reclassify milk used to produce evaporated milk or sweetened condensed milk in consumer-type packages from Class III to Class IV. A proposal to classify monthly bulk milk ending inventories to the lowest-priced class of Class III or Class IV is not adopted in this final decision.

 
The final decision will be published in the Sept. 24 Federal Register. USDA will conduct a vote within 30 days to determine whether dairy farmers approve the proposed amended orders. If approved, a final rule will follow to implement these changes.

 
Additional information about the decision may be obtained from market administrator offices as follows:

 
Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478 (FT Point Station), Boston, MA. 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com

 
Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 18030, Louisville, KY 40261-0030
Tel. (502) 499-0040;email: friedly@malouisville.com

 
Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 491778, Lawrenceville, GA 30049
Tel. (770) 682-2501;email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com

 
Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Suite 210, 4570 West 77th St., Minneapolis, MN 55435-5037
Tel. (952) 831-5292;email: pkyburz@fmma30.com

 
Central: Donald R. Nicholson
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300;email: donald.nicholson@fmmacentral.com

 
Mideast: David Z. Walker
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 30128, Cleveland, OH 44130-0128
Tel. (440) 826-3220; email: dwalker@fmmaclev.com

 
Pacific Northwest & Arizona-Las Vegas: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Building J, Suite 102; 1930-220th St., SE., Bothell, WA. 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com

 
Southwest: J. Richard Fleming
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX. 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060; email: sw.order@dallasma.com

 

 
 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: 09/23/2004