Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Latest Releases / USDA Amends All Federal Milk Marketing Ord
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Amends All Federal Milk Marketing Ord

Release No. 238-04


Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
becky.unkenholz@usda.gov
Kathryn Mattingly (202) 720-8998
kathryn.mattingly@usda.gov






WASHINGTON, Nov. 24, 2004 The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced a final rule that will make permanent changes to the classification of milk provisions in all Federal milk marketing orders. The changes were previously implemented on an interim basis. Dairy farmers approved the amended orders through the polling of cooperative associations in eight of the marketing areas and by referenda in the Northeast and Mideast marketing areas.


This final rule reclassifies milk used to produce evaporated milk in consumer-type packages or sweetened condensed milk in consumer-type packages from Class III to Class IV.


The final rule will be published in the Nov. 26, Federal Register and will become effective on Dec.1, 2004.


Additional information about the rule may be obtained from market administrator offices as follows:


Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478 (FT Point Station), Boston, MA 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; e-mail: eramussen@fedmilk1.com


Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 18030 Louisville, KY 40261-0030
Tel. (502) 499-0040; e-mail: friedly@malouisville.com


Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 491778, Lawrenceville, GA 30049
Tel. (770) 682-2501; e-mail: smosley@fmmatlanta.com


Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Suite 210, 4570 West 77th St., Minneapolis, MN 55435-5037
Tel. (952) 831-5292; e-mail: pkyburz@fmma30.com


Central: Donald R. Nicholson
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300; e-mail: donald.nicholson@fmmacentral.com


Mideast: David Z. Walker
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 30128, Cleveland, OH 44130-0128
Tel. (440) 826-3220; e-mail: dwalker@fmmaclev.com


Pacific Northwest & Arizona-Las Vegas: James R. Daugherty


USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Building J, Suite 102; 1930-220th St., SE., Bothell, WA 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; e-mail: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com


Southwest: J. Richard Fleming
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (792) 245-6060; e-mail: sw.order@dallasma.com


 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: 11/24/2004