Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Latest Releases / USDA Sets Hearing on Proposed Amendments to All Federal Milk
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Sets Hearing on Proposed Amendments to All Federal Milk

Release No. 079-05


Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
Becky.unkenholz@usda.gov
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998
Billy.cox@usda.gov






WASHINGTON, April 11, 2005 The U. S. Department of Agriculture today announced that it will hold a national public hearing to consider proposals seeking to amend the Class I fluid milk product definition in all Federal milk marketing orders. The hearing will begin at 8:00 a.m. on June 20, 2005, at the Sheraton Station Square Hotel, 300 West Station Square Drive, Pittsburgh, Pa. 15219-1122.


The hearing was requested by Dairy Farmers of America Inc. (DFA), who asked USDA to reconsider which dairy products should be classified as Class I products. DFA contends that many fluid consumable milk products are currently classified as Class II products because of the current formulation standard.


The hearing notice will be published as a proposed rule in the April 12 Federal Register. Copies of the hearing notice may be obtained from the USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs, STOP 0231 - Rm. 2971, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-0231. The hearing notice is available on AMS' Web site at: www.ams.usda.gov/dairy.


The hearing notice and additional information is available from the following market administrator offices:


Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478, Boston, MA 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com


Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly, Jr.
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 18030, Louisville, KY 40261-0030
Tel. (502) 499-0040; email: friedly@malouisville.com


Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 491778, Lawrenceville, GA 30049
Tel. (770) 682-2501; email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com


Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Suite 210, 4570 West 77th St., Minneapolis, MN 55435-5037
Tel. (952) 831-5292; email: pkyburz@fmma30.com


Central: Robert E. Vander Linden
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300; email: vanderlinden@fmmacentral.com


Mideast: David Z. Walker
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 5102, 1325 Industrial Parkway North, Brunswick, OH 44212
Tel. (330) 225-4758; email: dwalker@fmmaclev.com


Pacific Northwest and Arizona-Las Vegas: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1930-220th St., SE., Suite 102 Bothell, WA 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com


Southwest: J. Richard Fleming
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060; email: sw.order@dallasma.com


 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: