Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Latest Releases / Secretary Vilsack Announces Cotton Board Appointments
News Release

Printable version

Secretary Vilsack Announces Cotton Board Appointments

AMS 189-13

Gwen Sparks, (202) 260-8210

WASHINGTON, Jan. 14, 2014 Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed 17 members and 17 alternates to the Cotton Board. Each representative will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2016.

"I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to provide their time and expertise," said Vilsack. I am confident that cotton producers and importers will be well served by them.

Reappointed board members include Walter L. Corcoran of Eufaula, Ala.; David J. DeFelix of Campbellton, Fla.; James L. Webb of Leary, Ga.; Suzanne R. Drouhard from Danville, Kan.; and Dwight W. Menefee from Lake Arthur, N.M. Also reappointed are Arthur W. James, Jr. of Sumter, S.C.; Willie L. German, Jr. of Somerville, Tenn.; Madison Farmer of Lamesa, Texas; Lance V. Everett of Stony Creek, Va.; Gary E. Ross from Yardley, Pa.; Michael D. Wallace from Bentonville, Ark.; Flora J. Wong from Mercer Island, Wash.; Peter M. McGrath from Dallas, Texas; Arlene M. Eastwood from Neptune, N.J.; and A. Mark Neuman from Champaign, Ill.

Alternate members reappointed to the board are Timothy J. Mullek of Robertsdale, Ala.; Alan J. Edwards of Jay, Fla.; Thomas L. Lahey of Moscow, Kan.; Jackie L. Joy of Antesia, N.M.; and Clint D. Abernathy of Altus, Okla. Francis G. Darby from Chester, S.C.; Debra R. Barrett from Edroy, Texas; Marvin L. Everett from Capron, Va.; Helga L. Ying from Piedmont, Calif.; Tara E. Hoffmann from New York, N.Y.; and, Kristine T. Arabia from Hudson, Ohio have also been reappointed as alternates.

New to the board are members Kim M. Mayberry-Holifield of Kennett, Mo. and Jess M. Nichols of Altus, Okla.; and alternates Benjamin R. Grimsley of Weston, Ga.; John H. Hunter of Essex, Mo.; Catherine S. Via, Bells, Tenn.; Sarah M. Gilligan of San Francisco, Calif.; Joe D. Long of Hollywood, Fla.; and, James C. Self III, of Greenwood, S.C.

Secretary Vilsack also selected importer Stefanie M. Rotta of Elkins Park, Pa. as an alternate member whose term expires on Dec. 31, 2014.

Research and promotion programs are self-help programs funded through industry member assessments and administered by board members selected by the Secretary of Agriculture. They are authorized by Congress, and date back to 1966, when Congress passed the Cotton Research and Promotion Act. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 20 research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets and strengthen existing markets by allowing them to conduct promotion, market and production research and new product development for the benefit of their industries. AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).
  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 01/14/2014