Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Latest Releases / USDA Announces Popcorn Board Appointments
News Release

Printable version

USDA Announces Popcorn Board Appointments

AMS No. 231-12
Gwen Sparks, (202) 260-8210


WASHINGTON, Oct. 19, 2012 – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed four members to serve on the Popcorn Board. Appointees will begin their terms Jan. 1, 2013


Members Norman R. Krug of Chapman, Neb., Rocky Franklin of Dutton, Ala. and Garret K. Smith of Sioux City, Iowa will serve three-year terms of office. Troy D, Hendrickson of Hamburg, Iowa will serve a two-year term of office.


“These appointees will bring a wealth of knowledge and enthusiasm to the board,” said Vilsack. “I am confident that the industry will be well served by them.”


The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight of the Popcorn Board in accordance with the Popcorn Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act of 1995 and the Popcorn Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Oder.


Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, authorized by Congress and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 20 research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders. Visit to learn more about research and promotion programs.




Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.


USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write to USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Ave., S.W., Washington, DC 20250-9410, or call (800) 795-3272 (Voice) or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).
  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 10/19/2012