Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Secretary Vilsack Announces American Egg Board Appointments
News Release

Printable version

Secretary Vilsack Announces American Egg Board Appointments

AMS No. 020-13

Sam Jones-Ellard (202) 660-2268

WASHINGTON, February 11, 2013 -- Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed nine members and nine alternates to the American Egg Board for the 2012-2013 term. All appointees will serve 2-year terms.

Appointed board members and alternates, by region, are:

North Atlantic states – David N. Radlo, Massachusetts, member; Christopher M. Pierce, Pennsylvania, alternate; Jesse C. Laflamme, New Hampshire, member; and Christopher G. Esbenshade, Pennsylvania, alternate.

South Atlantic states – Andrew S. Reichman, North Carolina, member; and S. Scott Horton, Georgia, alternate.

East North Central states – Thomas E. Herzfeld II, Ohio, member; Ronald L. “Tad” Gross, Ohio, alternate; William L. Glass, Ohio, member; and Lisa M. Timmerman, Ohio, alternate.

West North Central states – Patricia J. Stonger, Wisconsin, member; Lee A. Regensburger, Minnesota, alternate; Robert L. Krouse, Indiana, member; and Jerald P. Wilkins, Colorado, alternate.

South Central states – Blair J. Van Zetten, Iowa, member; and Bruce L. Dooyema, Iowa, alternate.

Western states – David W. Elbel, Texas, member; and Roy D. Patterson, Texas, alternate.

The Secretary also named Steven L. George, Iowa, as an alternate to fill a vacancy in the South Central states. This appointment will complete a vacant board member term expiring on Dec. 31, 2013.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, authorized by Congress, and date back to 1966, when Congress passed the Cotton Research and Promotion Act. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 20 research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

Composed of 18 members and 18 alternates representing six regions, the board administers an egg research and promotion program authorized by the Egg Research and Consumer Information Act of 1974. Terms on the board are staggered so that half of the membership is appointed each year in order to provide continuity in policy. The Secretary of Agriculture selects appointees from egg producers nominated by organizations representing the egg industry.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).
  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 02/12/2013