Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Secretary Vilsack Appoints National Pork Producers Delegate Body
News Release

Printable version

Secretary Vilsack Appoints National Pork Producers Delegate Body

Release No.: 001-14

Sam Jones-Ellard (202) 660-2268

WASHINGTON, Jan. 9, 2014 – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced the appointment of 152 producers and four importers to the 2013 National Pork Producers Delegate Body. The appointees were selected from nominees submitted by state pork producer association and importer groups and will serve a one-year term.

Appointed members representing pork producers by state are:

Alabama: Luther L. Bishop
Alaska: Richard C. Worrell, Patricia R. Worrell
Arizona: Alfredo P. Sotomayor, Leslie J. Cain
Arkansas: Robert S. Balloun, Jenae N. Cummings
California: Kenneth L. Dyer, Steven G. Weaver
Colorado: Roc M. Rutledge, Dwain A. Weinrich
Delaware: John B. Tigner, Jr., Henry C. Johnson IV
Florida: Ricky N. Lyons, Chad N. Lyons
Georgia: Dania DeVane, Markus E. Clemmer
Hawaii: Wayne I. Shimokawa, Stacy Hatsue Kuulei Sugi
Idaho: Dustin D. Olsen, David D. Roper
Illinois: Dereke A. Dunkirk, Curtis D. Zehr, Robert C. Frase, Michael E. Haag, Phillip J. Borgic, Todd A. Dail
Indiana: C. Randall Curless, C. Brian Martin, Sam D. Moffitt, Kirk C. Thornburg, Mark R. York, Valerie M. Duttinger
Iowa: Timothy J. Schmidt, Jamie M. Schmidt, Dean Frazer, Alan F. Wulfekuhle, Bryan K. Karwal, David E. Moody, Arthur G. Halstead, Heather L. Hora, Gregory R. Lear, Bill J. Tentinger, Mark J. Meirick, Marvin J. Rietema, Leon C. Sheets, David D. Struthers, Dr. Howard T. Hill, Curtis D. Meier, Dr. Eugene D. Ver Steeg, John E. Vossberg, Joseph A. Rota, Dr. Craig J. Rowles, Rodney G. Dykstra, Scott W. Tapper, Mary J. Bierman, Steven L. Kerns, Lori D. Jorgenson, Jill Kerber-Aldous, Stephan J. Burgmeier, Gregg K. Hora, Dale G. Reicks, Gregory J. Schroeder
Kansas: Michael L. Springer, Alan J. Haverkamp, Kent F. Condray, Scott J. Pfortmiller
Kentucky: Eric M. Heard, Robert J. Robinson
Louisiana: Rebecca L. Lirette, Louis J. Lirette
Maine: Barrett A. Parks, Deena A. Parks
Maryland: Jennifer A. Debnam, Thomas C. Linthicum
Massachusetts: Lisa D. Colby
Michigan: Robert D. Dykhuis, Pat Albright, Andrew T. White
Minnesota: Ruben E. Bode, Kevin W. Estrem, Patrick L. Fitzsimmons, Margaret E. Freeking, Kelly D. Graff, Bradley L. Hennen, Brian B. Johnson, Nathan S. Potter, Sheila A. Schmid, Tim A. Steuber, Patrick E. Thome, Jacqueline S. Tlam
Mississippi: Donny W. Ray, John L. Keenan
Missouri: John N. Howerton, Scott W. Phillips, Kenneth J. Brinkner, Francis D. Forst
Montana: Joseph D. Hofer, Jacob A.Waldner
Nebraska: Troy D. McCain, Karen J. Grant, Darin J. Uhler, Scott A. Spilker, Janice S. Miller
New Hampshire: Lisa-Marie R. Gitschier, Alicia B. MacLean
New Jersey: Salvatore J. Villari
New York: Benjamin L. Wickham, Doug O. Bruning
North Carolina: George H. Pettus, James L. Lamb, Deborah M. Ballance, Kimberly S. Griffin, Jim H. Lynch, James B. Worley, David D. Herring, Channing R. Gooden, Zack McCullen
North Dakota: Kevin Tyndall, Kenneth R. Omlie
Ohio: William R. Knapke, Matthew S. Bell, David I. Shoup, Benjamin J. Zientek
Oklahoma: Karen D. Brewer, Basil S. Werner, Tina R. Falcon, Dotty D. King
Oregon: Greg A. Gonzalez, Susan E. Gonzalez
Pennsylvania: Chris R. Hoffman, David A. Reinecker, Jason D. Manbeck
South Carolina: Larry B. DeHart, Mark A. McLeod
South Dakota: Ryan C. Storm, Steven R. Rommereim, Lenny Gross
Tennessee: Jamey C. Tosh, Dennis A. Holder
Texas: Corby D. Barrett, Kenneth L. Kensing
Utah: Todd N. Ballard, James W. Webb
Virginia: Robert J. Austin, William P. Edwards
Washington: Thomas A. Cocking, Paul M. Klingeman
Wisconsin: Thomas J. Knauer, Dr. Michael A. Beisbier
Wyoming: Ana L. Shmidl, Shawn M. Shmidl

Importers appointed to the delegate body are: Ole Nielsen, Stig H. Kjaeroe, David E. Biltchik, and Magdolina A. Zamorski.

Established under the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985, the delegate body and the National Pork Board have implemented a national program designed to improve the pork industry’s position in the marketplace. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service oversees operations of the delegate body. Representation on the delegate body is based on annual net assessments collected on sales of domestic hogs within individual states, with a minimum of two producers from each state. States have the option of not submitting nominees.

Delegates meet annually to recommend the rate of assessment, determine the percentage of assessments that state associations will receive and nominate producers and importers to the 15-member National Pork Board. The delegate body will be seated during the March 7-8, 2014, National Pork Industry Forum in Kansas City, Missouri.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).
  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 01/09/2014