Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Agriculture Secretary Vilsack Names National Potato Promotion Board Members
News Release

Printable version

Agriculture Secretary Vilsack Names National Potato Promotion Board Members

AMS No. 195-13

Gwen Sparks, (202) 260-8210

WASHINGTON, Jan. 7, 2014 U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed 38 members to the National Potato Promotion Board. Each representative will serve a three-year term of office beginning March 1, 2014.

Producers newly appointed to the board include: Brandon Berce of St. Agatha, Maine; Brandon Boorman of Quincy, Wash.; Adam Bula of Antigo, Wis.; Robert Conger of St. Anthony, Idaho; Brett Dixon of Bakersfield, Calif.; Mark Finnessy of Amherst, Wis.; Gerald Greenwalt of Quincy, Wash.; Myron Hawley of Ferndale, Wash.; Kerry Heilig of Moses Lake, Wash.; Casey Hoverson of Manuel, N.D.; Kael Koompin and Thomas Kress, both from American Falls, Idaho; Jay LaJoie from Van Buren, Maine; Dwight Little, II from Newdale, Idaho; Michael Madsen from Hermiston, Ore.; Tim May from Imperial, Neb.; Katie Neumiller-Floming from Thomas, Ill.; Prim Parker from Elkton, Fla.; Brandon Schaapman from Quincy, Wash.; Eric Schroeder from Deerbrook, Wis.; William Sheldon from Ray, N.D.; Tyler Sorenson from Kennewick, Wash.; and Jerry Tominaga from Rupert, Idaho.

Reappointed to the board are producers: John Barrett from Springlake, Texas; Kenneth Burback from Center, Colo.; Rex Calloway from Quincy, Wash.; Daniel Chin from Klamath Falls, Ore.; Justin Dagen from Karlstad, Minn.; Jody Easterday of Pasco, Wash.; Steve Elfering of Idaho Falls, Idaho; Karlene Hardy of Oakley, Idaho; Carl Hoverson of Larimore, N.D.; Richard Kantner of Freeland, Wis.; Raymond Matsuura of Blackfoot, Idaho; Michael Pink of Mesa, Wash.; and Craig Searle of Burley, Idaho.

Importer Sanjiv Kakkar of Lawrenceville, N.J, was also named to the board along with public member appointee Jennifer Phillips of Arlington Heights, Ill.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, authorized by Congress and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 20 research and promotion boards. They empower agricultural industries by establishing a framework for them to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, helping to ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders. Visit to learn more about research and promotion programs.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).
  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 01/07/2014