Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Newsroom / Secretary Vilsack Announces Cattlemens Beef Board Appointments
News Release

Printable version

Secretary Vilsack Announces Cattlemens Beef Board Appointments

Release No.: 197.13

Sam Jones-Ellard (202) 660-2268

WASHINGTON, Dec. 30, 2013 - Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced 41 appointments to the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are: James H. Smith, Springfield, Ark.; Joanne M. Stanko, Steamboat Springs, Colo.; Bradley E. Etheridge, Williston, Fla.; Lynn C. Keetch, Montpelier, Idaho; Jeanne L. Harland, LaFayette, Ill.; Donald E. Gurtner, Fremont, Ind.; Kent E. Pruismann, Rock Valley, Iowa; Brian L. Sampson, Nevada, Iowa.; Beth G. Patterson, Yates City, Kan.; Brittany J. Howell, LaCrosse, Kan.; Julianna G. Jepson, Franklin, Ky.; Steven H. Matthees, Goodhue, Minn.; Brenda L. Black, Deepwater, Mo.; Howard W. Hardecke, Springfield, Mo.; Leo McDonnell, Columbus, Mont.; David J. Wright, Neligh, Neb.; Albert T. Davis, Hyannis, Neb.; Patricia J. Bilkowsky, Madison, N.Y.; James M. Schmidt, Menoken, N.D.; Peter J. Guglielmino, Kettle Falls, Wash. (representing the Northwest Unit); Davis W. Denman, Cortland, Ohio; Terry L. Detrick, Ames, Okla.; Chuck R. Coffey, Springer, Okla.; Patricia A. Venable, Klamath Falls, Ore.; Jana L. Malot, Harrisonville, Pa.; Vaughn R. Meyer, Reva, S.D.; Robert Q. Fountain, Jr., Adrian, Ga.; Max Bozeman, Jr., Elba, Ala. (representing the Southeast Unit); James I. Maxey, Fresno, Calif.; Michael T. Smith, Visalia, Calif. (representing the Southwest Unit); Paul A. Moss, Cottage Grove, Tenn.; Chuck A. Kiker III, Beaumont, Texas; Steven J. Mafrige, Tilden, Texas; Anne I. Anderson, Austin, Texas; Janna D. Stubbs, Alpine, Texas; Tim R. Pennell, Westhott, Texas; Joseph W. Guthrie, Dublin, Va.; and Lloyd DeRuyter, Cedar Grove, Wis.

Newly appointed members representing importers are Lawrence I. Bryant, Burke, Va.; Fred A. Sorbello, Mullica Hill, N.J.; and Terry J. Meikle, Washington, D.C.

The 103-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The Secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importers certified organizations.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, authorized by Congress and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 20 research and promotion boards. They empower agricultural industries by establishing a framework for them to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, helping to ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).

  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 12/30/2013