Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Latest Releases / Secretary Vilsack Names Peanut Standards Board Members
News Release

Printable version

Secretary Vilsack Names Peanut Standards Board Members

AMS No. 064-13

Pam Stanziani (202) 720-8998

WASHINGTON, April 18, 2013 Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack appointed five representatives to serve on the Peanut Standards Board. Each member will serve through June 2015. A sixth nominee has been appointed to fill a vacancy on the Board through June 2014.

The Peanut Standards Board is made up of 18 members representing the Southeast Region, which covers the states of Alabama, Georgia and Florida; the Southwest Region, covering Texas, Oklahoma and New Mexico; and the Virginia-Carolina Region, which includes Virginia and North Carolina. One third of the board is appointed each year.

Secretary Vilsack selected Alabama producer Carl Sanders and industry representative Ann D. King of Georgia to represent the Southeast Region; Oklahoma producer Leslie D. Crall to represent the Southwest Region; and North Carolina producer George H. McGee and industry representative Jane Campbell of Virginia to represent the Virginia-Carolina Region. Carl Gray of North Carolina was also selected to fill an industry representative vacancy, which ends June 30, 2014, for the Virginia-Carolina Region. An additional vacancy remains in the Southwest.

The Peanut Standards Board is authorized under the Farm Security and Rural Investment Act of 2002. USDA consults with the board to establish or change quality and handling standards for domestically produced and imported peanuts.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).
  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 04/18/2013