Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Help / USDA Announces Appointments to Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards
News Release

Printable version

USDA Announces Appointments to Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards

AMS No. 007-13

Sam Jones-Ellard (202) 660-2268

WASHINGTON, Jan. 17, 2013 – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced the appointment of 24 members and 11 alternate members to the Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards.

The Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards was re-established by a charter issued on August 23, 2012. Members of the committee represent merchants, manufacturers, ginners and producers. The members and alternates will serve for the 2-year period of the committee charter.

The committee will review the American Upland Cotton Standards and make recommendations to USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service concerning establishment and revision of the standards. The marketing of U.S. cotton is supported and enhanced through the committee's participation in the development of the standards. Foreign participation in the Universal Cotton Standards development program is a longstanding tradition, and the committee provides for parallel participation by domestic and international cotton interests.

The appointed merchant members are: Bobby Walton, Memphis, Tenn.; Manfred Schiefer, Lubbock, Texas; Edward Pell, Fresno, Calif.; Thomas Lea, Greenville, S.C.; Frederick Barrier, Indianola, Miss.; and Carlos Garcia, Slaton, Texas.

The appointed manufacturer members are: William Bowen, Greenville, S.C.; John Cleveland, Easley, S.C.; Eugene Frye, Gastonia, N.C.; Billy Henderson, Williamston, S.C.; Davis Koon, Midland, Ga.; and Gary Vessels, Miami, Ariz.

The appointed ginner members are: Dwayne Alford, Yuma, Ariz.; Allen Tiller, Corpus Christi, Texas; William Taylor, III, Como, Miss.; and Levin Lynch, Florence, S.C.

The appointed producer members are: Jaclyn Ford, Alapaha, Ga.; Clarence Riddick, Suffolk, Va.; Donna Winters, Lake Providence, La.; Nathan Reed, Marianna, Ark.; Craig Shook, Corpus Christi, Texas; Richard Gaona, Roby, Texas; Don Cameron, Helm, Calif.; and Adam Hatley, Mesa, Ariz.

The appointed merchant alternate members are: Samuel Clay, Cordova, Tenn.; Claud Acker, Bakersfield, Calif.; and Philip Bogel, Dallas, Texas.

The appointed manufacturer alternate members are: George Beeker, Sanford, N.C.; and Michael Plonk, Rock Hill, S.C.

The appointed ginner alternate members are: Thomas Brough, Odem, Texas; and John Williams, Covington, Tenn.

The appointed producer alternate members are: Randolph Rogers, Hartsville, S.C.; William Guthrie, St. Joseph, La.; Robert Miller, Wellington, Kan.; and Nathan Jurva, Carlsbad, N.M.

The Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards is scheduled to meet in Raleigh, N.C. on June 19-21, 2013.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).

  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 01/17/2013