Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Secretary Vilsack Announces Cattlemens Beef Board Appointments
News Release

Printable version

Secretary Vilsack Announces Cattlemens Beef Board Appointments

AMS No. 259-12

Sam Jones-Ellard (202) 660-2268

WASHINGTON, Nov. 27, 2012 - Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced 33 appointments to the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms.

“These appointees represent a cross section of the beef industry and I am confident that beef producers and importers of cattle, beef and beef products will be well served by them," said Vilsack.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are: Barbara S. Jackson, Ariz.; Tom D. Parks, DVM, Colo.; Cynthia A. Greiman and Dean A. Black, Iowa.; Daniel P. Herrmann and Larry M. Oltjen, Kan.; Genevieve Lyons, La.; Andrew B. Salinas, Mich.; Theodor D. Reichmann, Minn.; David M. McCormick, Miss.; Kevin L. Frankenbach, Mo.; Judith M. Reece and Joan M. Ruskamp, Neb.; Tamara A. Ogilvie, N.M.; Jane E. Clifford, Northeast Unit; Ernest B. Harris, N.C.; Brett W. Morris, Okla.; Danni K. Beer and Linda J. Gilbert, S.D.; Craig J. Kesler, Southeast Unit; Darrell C. Sweet and Annalynn Settelmeyer, Southwest Unit; Larry B. Pratt, Dave R. Edmiston, Bruce D. Dopslauf, and Charles C. Risinger, M.D., Texas; Laurie L. Munns, Utah; Randall A. Geiger, Martin A. Andersen, and Lloyd R. De Ruyter, Wis.; and Spencer A. Ellis, Wyo.

Newly appointed members representing importers are John J. O’Carroll and Bradley F. Busse.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, authorized by Congress, and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 20 research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

The 103-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The Secretary selects the appointees from nominations submitted by eligible organizations representing beef, veal, and dairy producers and importers of cattle, beef, or beef products.


Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).
  Latest Releases  
  Public Affairs Staff  
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
  Last Modified Date: 11/27/2012