Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / USDA Issues Recommended Decision on Proposed Amendments to all Federal Milk Orders
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Issues Recommended Decision on Proposed Amendments to all Federal Milk Orders

Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
becky.unkenholz@usda.gov
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998
billy.cox@usda.gov

 
WASHINGTON, D.C., Oct. 21, 2009 – The U.S. Department of Agriculture today issued a recommended decision to adopt amendments to the producer-handler definition in all Federal milk marketing orders. This decision is based on testimony and evidence given at a public hearing held May 4-19 in Cincinnati, Ohio.

 
The decision recommends that the producer-handler definitions of all Federal milk marketing orders be amended to limit exemption from pooling and pricing provisions of the orders to those producer-handlers with total route disposition of fluid milk products of 3 million pounds or less per month.

 
Interested persons have 60 days to file comments in response to the recommended decision. You may send your comments by using the Federal eRulemaking portal at http://www.regulations.gov.

 
The recommended decision is published in today’s Federal Register.

 
For additional information about the decision contact:

 
Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478, Boston, MA 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com

 
Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly, Jr.
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 91528, Louisville, KY 40291-0528
Tel. (502) 499-0040; email: friedly@malouisville.com

 
Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1550 North Brown Road, Suite 120, Lawrenceville, GA 30043
Tel. (770) 682-2501; email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com

 
-more-
Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Suite 210, 4570 West 77th St., Minneapolis, MN 55435-5037
Tel. (952) 831-5292; email: pkyburz@fmma30.com

 
Central: David C. Stukenberg
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300; email: David.Stukenberg@fmmacentral.com

 
Mideast: David Z. Walker
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 5102, Brunswick, OH 44212
Tel. (330) 225-4758; email: dwalker@fmmaclev.com

 
Pacific Northwest and Arizona: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1930-220th St., SE., Suite 102 Bothell, WA 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com

 
Southwest: Cary Hunter
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060; email: sw.order@dallasma.com
#
 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: 10/21/2009