Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
 
 
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
 
You are here: Home / USDA Sets Hearing on Proposed Amendments to All Federal Milk Orders
 
Newsroom
 
News Release

Printable version

USDA Sets Hearing on Proposed Amendments to All Federal Milk Orders

Release No. 062-09


Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
Becky.unkenholz@usda.gov
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998
Billy.cox@usda.gov


Washington, D.C., April 7, 2009 The U. S. Department of Agriculture today announced that it will hold a national public hearing to consider proposals seeking to amend or remove the producer-handler provisions and revise the exempt plant provisions applicable to all Federal milk marketing orders. The hearing will begin at 1 p.m. on May 4, 2009, at The Westin - Cincinnati, 21 East Fifth Street, Cincinnati, Ohio, 45202.


USDA will also consider a proposal seeking to amend the orders to include provisions related to individual handler pools as an alternative to the producer-handler provisions.
The National Milk Producers Federation and the International Dairy Foods Association submitted initial proposals. USDA requested additional proposals from the industry that would examine all features of the producer-handler and exempt plant provisions. USDA received proposals from dairy farmers, producer-handlers, dairy farmer cooperatives, and fluid milk processors.


Anyone interested in participating in the hearing should notify a USDA official upon arrival. The hearing notice will be published in the April 9 Federal Register. Copies of the hearing notice and additional information are available from USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs, STOP 0231 - Rm. 2971, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-0231, from the AMS web site: at www.ams.usda.gov/dairy, or from the following market administrator offices:.


Northeast: Erik F. Rasmussen
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 51478, Boston, MA 02205-1478
Tel. (617) 737-7199; email: erasmussen@fedmilk1.com


Appalachian: Harold H. Friedly, Jr.
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 18030, Louisville, KY 40261-0030
Tel. (502) 499-0040; email: friedly@malouisville.com


Florida and Southeast: Sue L. Mosley
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1550 North Brown Road, Suite 120, Lawrenceville, GA 30043
Tel. (770) 682-2501; email: smosley@fmmatlanta.com


Upper Midwest: H. Paul Kyburz
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
Suite 210, 4570 West 77th St., Minneapolis, MN 55435-5037
Tel. (952) 831-5292; email: pkyburz@fmma30.com


Central: David C. Stukenberg
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 14650, Shawnee Mission, KS 66285-4650
Tel. (913) 495-9300; email: david.stukenberg@fmmacentral.com


Mideast: David Z. Walker
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 5102, Brunswick, OH 44212
Tel. (330) 225-4758; email: dwalker@fmmaclev.com


Pacific Northwest and Arizona: James R. Daugherty
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
1930-220th St., SE., Suite 102 Bothell, WA 98021-8471
Tel. (425) 487-6009; email: jdaugherty@fmmaseattle.com


Southwest: Cary Hunter
USDA/AMS/Dairy Programs
P.O. Box 110939, Carrollton, TX 75011-0939
Tel. (972) 245-6060; email: sw.order@dallasma.com
#
 
Resources
 
  Latest Releases  
 
  Public Affairs Staff  
 
  Subscribe to RSS Feed  
 
 
  Last Modified Date: 04/07/2009