2014 Update: Cost Share for all States coming soon!
AMS is working hard to implement the reauthorized Organic Cost Share Programs! To initiate the program, AMS has published a Notice in the Federal Register estimating the reporting burden for these cost share programs and opening a sixty day comment period. This notice is an important step in implementing the organic certification cost share programs for Fiscal Years 2014 through 2018.
Comments are due by May 16, 2014. You can submit comments through regulations.gov
or send them to the National Organic Program at the address in the notice.
For Existing AMA State Producers
Organic producers in the following States are eligible to receive cost share reimbursement now: Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
Amount of Reimbursement
Organic crop and livestock producers in these states can be reimbursed as much as 75 percent of their certification costs from October 1, 2013, through September 30, 2014, up to a maximum of $750. This program is not competitive; $1,352,850 has already been provided to states for farmers and ranchers.
How to Get Reimbursed
- Assemble the following supporting documentation: proof of USDA organic certification, itemized invoice showing expenses paid for certification, W-9 tax form, and anything else required by your State.
If you have questions, review our frequently asked questions
, email Rita Meade
, or call (202) 720-3252.