Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
National Organic Program
You are here: Home / National Organic Program / Organic Cost Share Program
National Organic Program
Organic Certification Cost Share Programs  

Apply for Reimbursement

Since the State Agencies process and distribute cost share reimbursements, organic operators should work directly with their State Agency to apply for cost share reimbursement. Application forms and specific information can be accessed through the State Agency listing.

Organic Operators should:

  • Review State Agency’s Application Requirements;

  • Complete State Agency Application (optional in some states);

  • Complete a W-9 tax form or equivalent;

  • Assemble Supporting Documentation
  • - proof of USDA organic certification and
  • - itemized invoice(s) showing certification expenses paid between October 1, 2013 and September 30, 2014; and

  • Submit applicable information to the State Agency.

2014 Organic Certification Cost Share Programs (OCCSP)

Organic operators can receive up to 75 percent of their certification costs paid during October 1, 2013 through September 30, 2014 not to exceed $750 per certification scope. Two organic certification cost share programs are offered in 2014.

National Organic Certification Cost Share Program (NOCCSP)

The NOCCSP is available to producers and handlers (e.g., all scopes of certification) in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, the American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marina Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, and the United States Virgin Islands. The program provides $11.5 million dollars of assistance per fiscal year 2014 through 2018. Unused funds may be rolled into the next fiscal year.

Agricultural Management Assistance (AMA) Organic Certification Cost Share Program

The AMA is available to producers (only crop and livestock operators) in 16 states that have a historically low participation rate in the Federal Crop Insurance Program. The 16 states designated by Congress in the AMA include: Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia and Wyoming. The program provides $1.5 million in assistance per fiscal year 2014 through 2018. All funds must be used within the fiscal year in which they are allocated.

Traditionally, AMA funds have been allocated for certification costs incurred in the following fiscal year. For example, FY 13 funds ($1,352,850) were allocated for use on certification costs incurred in FY 14 (October 1, 2013 and September 30, 2014). However, to provide reimbursements in a timely manner and streamline the reporting process, FY 14 funds ($1.5M) will be allocated for use on certifications incurred in FY 14 (October 1, 2013 and September 30, 2014). This means more funds will be available to these states for certifications occurring in FY 14.

Note: Producers in the AMA states are eligible for reimbursement under both the NOCCSP and the AMA; however, State Agencies should exhaust AMA funds prior to using NOCCSP funds. Additionally, producers receiving reimbursement for certification costs under the AMA are not eligible for reimbursement for the same certification costs under the NOCCSP and vice versa.

Still Have Questions? Contact Us.

Dana K. Stahl, OCCSP Manager Phone: 540-361-1126
Rita Meade, OCCSP Coordinator Phone: 202-260-8636



Receive NOP Updates
  Be an Organic Insider!  
General Information
  NOP Homepage  
  Consumer Information  
  Organic Standards  
  National Organic Standards Board  
  Organic Certification & Accreditation  
  Compliance & Enforcement  
Cost Share Resources
  State Agency Contacts  
  Estimated State Agency Allocation Amounts  
  FY 13 Policies and Procedures  
  FY 14 Policies and Procedures  
  USDA Grant Regulations for State and Local Governments  
  Catalog of Domestic Federal Assistance  
  Grant Forms  
  Last Modified Date: 09/10/2014