Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
You are here: Home / Serve on the Soybean Board
Research and Promotion Programs
Serve on the United Soybean Board  
Members of national commodity promotion boards (sometimes called councils) are nominated by industry and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture. They serve a vital role in overseeing board operations. USDA is concerned about the number of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities on the various commodity boards. Therefore, it is USDAís policy that membership on USDA boards and committees (1) be open to all individuals without regard based on race, color, religion, national origin, age, sex, sexual orientation, disability, marital or familial status, political beliefs, parental status, receipt of public assistance, or protected genetic information, and (2) reflect the diversity of individuals served by the programs. USDA is committed to equal opportunity and seeks your organization's support in fulfilling this commitment. It is USDA's policy that board membership accurately reflects the diversity of individuals served by the programs. Each year, approximately 1/3 of the membership of each group must be reappointed. Generally, members may serve two three-year terms. Some boards also have alternate members.

United Soybean Board members are nominated by the industry and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture. Members serve a vital role in overseeing the Soybean Research and Promotion Programís operations.

MEMBERSHIP: The Board is currently composed of 69 soybean producers (and 7 alternate board members) from 28 states and two regions (representing multiple states that are close in proximity). The Soybean Promotion and Research Order does not state a maximum number of members that can serve on the United Soybean Board. Rather, the programís statute uses the following formula based on average soybean production over a five-year period.

The number of Board members is established according to the number of bushels of soybeans produced in the state or region. States which do not have annual production equal to or greater than 3,000,000 bushels are grouped geographically as a region. Each State/unit that has an annual average production between 3,000,000 and 15,000,000 is entitled to one representative. Those States/units which have an annual average production of 15,000,000 to 70,000,000 will be entitled to 2 members on the Board. Those States/units which have 70,000,000 to 200,000,000 bushels of annual production will have 3 representatives, and any State/unit which has an annual production of greater than 200,000,000 bushels will be entitled to four representatives.

NEXT TERM OF OFFICE: All board members and alternate board members serve three-year terms. No board member can serve more than three consecutive three-year terms. Approximately one-third of the Board is appointed each year.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS: In accordance with the statute a nominee to the United Soybean Board must be a soybean producer.

NOMINATION PROCESS: Nominations for appointments to the Board are made by USDA approved Qualified State Soybean Boards or eligible organizations deemed qualified to nominate producers. Such eligibility is based on criteria established pursuant to the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act. If no such entity exists in a state, any organization meeting the eligibility requirements in accordance with the Act may request eligibility to submit nominations. All nominees are subject to USDA background review.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: If you would like additional information on the Soybean Checkoff Program, please contact:

Kenneth Payne
Division Director
Marketing Programs Division, Livestock and Seed, AMS, USDA
1400 Independence Avenue, SW
Stop 0248
Washington, DC 20250-0224
PH. 202-720-1115

  Last Modified Date: 06/18/2012