Agricultural Marketing Service
About AMS Newsroom Opportunity Online Forms Help Contact Us
Search AMS
   Browse by Subject
Grading, Certification and Verification
You are here: Home / Grading, Certification and Verification / Other U.S. Grade Standards
Grading, Certification and Verification
USDA Quality Standards  
USDA quality standards are based on measurable attributes that describe the value and utility of the product. For example, Beef quality standards are based on attributes such as marbling (the amount of fat interspersed with lean meat), color, firmness, texture, and age of the animal, for each grade. Standards for each product describe the entire range of quality for a product, and the number of grades varies by commodity. There are eight grades for beef, and three each for chickens, eggs, and turkeys. On the other hand, there are 38 grades for cotton, and more than 312 fruit, vegetable, and specialty product standards.

Quality Standards by Commodity  








See also
  Grading Services  
  Last Modified Date: 12/04/2013